We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location & value for the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super location & value for the area.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were just down for a 2 night stay to take in the USC vs Oregon football game and this was the perfect launching spot for our activities.

It's just a mile walk down to the Hermosa Beach core and there is good freeway access and it's very close to LAX, so really all you need and want is close by.

Inside the hotel it's standard Holiday Inn Express meaning it's clean and functional and you'll feel at home.

Great stay!

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for something that's on the West side of the hotel to be away from the Paci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurbineSeaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    112
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
68
81
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Perfect location for a vacation or Beach Getaway.
I have stayed here several times in order to attend a concert at the Saint Rocke - directly across the street. Parking and general area feels very secure and safe.
Beautiful location at a very reasonable price! Rooms are large and comfortable. My king room had a fridge, microwave, in room coffee maker and nicely appointed full bathroom with deep bathtub. Very quiet. Free Wi-Fi was fast ! Free USA Today. Snacks & beverages for sale 24/7.
Free breakfast is generous & delicious served in a spacious & comfortable dining room - with hot offerings such as eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy and waffles. Cold options like yogurt, fruit, cereal and bakery items - including yummy cinnamon rolls.
Hallways & elevator could have used more careful vacuuming & cleaning, but otherwise very clean.

Room Tip: Street side is quiet at night, but try to get an upper floor room toward the back & you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OH2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for a very short stay before heading back home to Australia after a 3 week holiday in the U.S
We had originally spent our first 5 days of our holiday in West Hollywood and had decided to break the long flight home with a stop in Hermosa Beach.
The staff at HI were helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, as said by a previous review the rooms are dated but for us as long as they are clean and you can get a good nights sleep all is good.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast, my highlight was the pancake machine! I don't eat pancakes but had fun making them for my brother in law! Toast, cereals, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices are all available. The eating area is clean with a tv to catch up on the daily news.
We were 5 minutes from Redondo Beach Pier and had a lovely lunch there, we took a taxi that cost about $10. A trip to Venice beach was a bit more costly by taxi at just over $50, split between 4 of us wasn't so bad though and we were on holiday.
The airport was about 30 minutes away and cost about $30 from memory.
We found the Holiday Inn Express a good little stop for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jozzperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here at the start of a 3 week tour around california(1st week of August).
Have a soft spot for the hermosa/redondo area so the location was perfect.
Service on checkin and throughout our stay was fine, generally friendly and courteous.
The rooms were great, maybe a little dated but clean large and comfortable for a family of 4.
very good breakfast, simple but very satisfying.

On a positive side note, after a week or so I had realized i had forgotten some items of clothing in the cupboard.We called the hotel up and dealt with someone I think called jesus but whoever it was helped me in locating the items and forwarding them to a hotel we were going to.Super brilliant, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express was very nice! Clean with a terrific hot breakfast. The employees were exceptionally helpful. Loved the retro decor. Only con is the distance to the beach. I had a rental car, but found a cab for $5 to the beach was much easier than finding parking.
The address is Hermosa, but it is located next to the entrance to the Redondo Beach Pier. Great central location, right on PCH 1. The drive North to Malibu is very easy and well worth the time. Beautiful area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjf1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express was a joy to stay at. It was very clean, spacious, appeared to have been updated in the last year or two, had a good breakfast with eggs, sausage, and awesome fresh baked cinnamon rolls, and had lots of parking (our group had two 15-passenger vans). It is close to restaurants, shopping, Redondo Beach, Manhattan Beach, and LAX. It was centrally located from all the places we visited; Universal Studios, Disneyland, Hollywood, Huntington Beach, Santa Moncia, and Long Beach. It is also reasonably priced. The manager, Raven, was helpful in working with our group to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A very enjoyable and relaxing weekend stay in Hermossa Beach was made all the better by our stay at this Holiday Inn. Conveniently located to the beach area....less than a half mile walk. We were in town for our annual college gang reunion (we're all retired) at our friends cottage in HB. It was a busy weekend with the International Surf Festival going on, and although we arrived from Atlanta at 9:30 in the morning before check-in time....Hotel staff was very accomodating by holding a different room for us with a balcony on the third floor near one of our friends' room. Parking was limited, but staff was very helpful in directing us to unusual options - we actually parked on the hotel sidewalk at the entrance Saturday night. If the lot is full...just ask the front desk for advice. Breakfast was standard self serve fare...we had fun using a most unusual automatic pancake machine - more out of curiosity than the desire for pancakes.(It looked like a computer printer.) Room was clean and comfortable, bed mattress was firm the way we like ours, and the hotel service staff were prompt and polite. Although the view from the balcony was of the power plant at Redondo Beach, we used it and enjoyed our morning coffee, fruit and yogurt with the morning paper and the excellent balmy South Beach weather. Price was very reasonable and we were able to take advantage of an updated discounted price that arrived in the morning's email from Holiday Inn...once again...the staff immediately accomodated our request to honor the price. We will definitely stay their again next time we visit our South Beach friend.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor rooms with a balcony. The rooms are a little bigger than those without balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.9 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
Address: 125 Pacific Coast Hwy, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-5356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hermosa Beach has been chosen one of top ten beaches in the US. Whether you re coming to the South Bay Area for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Hotel is only 1/2 mile from beach and 7 miles from LAX. We are walking distance to Hermosa Beach and Redondo Beach Pier, King Harbor, exciting bars and restaurants. The hotel features include free parking, local phone calls, wireless/wired Internet, business center and a complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, omelet and gravy. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Hermosa Beach, CA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Holiday Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing