We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh new Menu at Melba's”

Chef Melba's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Chef Melba's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 134 Restaurants in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th street
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh new Menu at Melba's”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Chef Melba is always welcoming her guests with a smile. The food is fresh, expertly done, and always inventive! A great place for couples and groups alike. One of our South Bay favorites!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayHermosaBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Find Close to the Beach”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This bistro is a real gem, a block off the beach (no view) and close to the heart of Hermosa Beach so it's convenient to walk around before or after dinner.

Melba's strikes a nice balance between being a casual restaurant and also being a sophisticated restaurant. It feels retro with the original design of the restaurant being maintained, and the large windows provide a nice open feeling to the space.

The entrees were excellent and the dessert (chocolate bag with passion fruit mousse and fresh berries) was one of the best I have ever tried. I had a hard time prying it away from my wife (in theory we were sharing it).

Will definitely go back the next time we visit LA.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Took my wife & parents there to celebrate my mother's birthday. First time there & it turned out to be a lovely place to celebrate a special occasion.

It took an hour for our entrees to reach the table after they were ordered. That is the only beef & reason why I can't give 5-stars.

Otherwise, it was all smiles all around. The angel hair pasta dish was outstanding, & my father loved the spicy seafood stew/soup. We all really enjoyed our meals.

Strong recommendation.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank grescity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food but a little bit loud”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great little restaurant. Looks like a pancake house transformed into a bistro. Food was excellent, we went on a Saturday night and it was very loud inside. Next time I think we might try on a Sunday night. The only negative is there isn't any parking so bring plenty of quarters for the parking meters.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food...”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Melba prepares her dishes with a great deal of care. This place is absolutely under appreciated. She should be packed every night with people wanting to eat fresh and flavorful creations.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Melba's Bistro also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Chef Melba's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing