We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, spacious room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
maastricht
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, spacious room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel was the first accomodation during our 3-week road trip of the Westcoast. The reception area is much smaller than the pictures on their website would suggest and it is definitely an older building.
That said, our stay was fine! We are a family of five so we booked one of their larger rooms and it was really spacious! More than ample closet space, bathroom with a large double sink outside (very handy) and even a balcony which provided an ocean view (bit far away, but still :-) Largest room we had during our whole trip (and we stayed in a lot of places!).

Employees were all very friendly, any requests were addressed quickly and always with a smile.

For (our) European standards, the breakfast was very poor. We marvelled at the carton plates and plastic cutlery, that is just unheard of in Europe (and what as waste!) Only bagels and sweet not very nice pastries, after three weeks we really longed for some old-fashioned multigrain bread! Alas, we soon learned during the rest of our trip that this is the American standard, so nothing negative as far as the Quality Inn is concerned (and they did have some damn good bacon). Also, their breakfastladies did a terrific job in keeping everything replenished, the coffee was okay and we could enjoy it in their outside breakfast area, good enough for us.

The location is fab, Hermosa beach turned out to be the best beach(area) during the whole trip, in fact we wanted to end our holiday at the Quality Inn but unfortunately, the larger rooms were booked for that last weekend.

Free parking, good location, safe area, comfy beds. Trust me, you can stay there without any doubt.

Room Tip: I would always ask for a room on the topfloor, less noisy and better views. Also, stay at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so pleased that our team and location made such a great impression during your trip! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    160
    45
    13
    10
See reviews for
89
100
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I love coming here as we have moved away from the beach cities and it just brings us right back to the good times we have always had growing up down here. We went to dinner and the Comedy and Magic Club and we walked to the Beach and back without driving or a cab!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mike2016,
Thank you so much for your review. It’s so great to see that you and your wife had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you’re in town.

Kindest Regards,
Amanda Fulton/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently spent the weekend at the Quality Inn in Hermosa Beach and would greatly recommend it to anyone heading to the South Bay. The location is great and the rate for the room was more than reasonable . It's not far from the highway and they have free parking. The staff was attentive, the rooms and the pool were clean, they had a gym and free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Rob J, thank you so much for your feedback in regards to your recent visit! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

All my best,
Amanda Fulton/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've stayed at Quality Inn in Hermosa Beach for going on over six years and i'm always happy with my choice in hotel. The location is perfect. It's in the heart of the south bay and a 10 minute walk to the Hermosa Pier. Free breakfast in the morning with the essentials plus fresh fruits, etc. Right next door to a supermarket and plenty of dinning options (I recommend El Pollo Inka or Ocean Dinner). Marie and the rest of the staff at the front desk are very nice and very helpful when it comes to directions and suggestions on places to go. Free wi-fi and two computers to use by front desk area. Really, if you want a nice room at a good price and perfect central location to Hermosa, Redondo and Manhattan beach, then you can't go wrong here! Me and my buddies always stay here on vacations and my sister always stays with her kids here on their trips to LA. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone on business or pleasure :)

Room Tip: On the Aviation side you can get nice views of Redondo & Hermosa beach :) The opposite side i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Alex E,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at our hotel! We are delighted that you and your friends and family have made the Quality your hotel of choice when visiting Hermosa Beach and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Amanda Fulton/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach for two nights on a recent vacation to Southern California. I booked the room (and got a great rate) through Hotwire, based on a 100% satisfaction rating. At first, I was a little nervous, because on TripAdvisor, the hotel was only about 78% recommended. It turned out to be a very good value, in spite of a few drawbacks.

I'll start with the negatives (and probably the reasons it has a lower TripAdvisor rating). The hotel is definitely an older building and lacks many of the modern amenities of newer properties. There is a sign right in the lobby indicating that the building may contain chemicals known to cause cancer (a little frightening, although you do see these signs around California). The top floor (3rd floor) has an exterior hallway (like a motel), but the 3rd floor also has it's advantages (see below). The door to our room didn't close automatically and had to be pulled shut each time. The air conditioner was an older model (not controlled by a wall thermostat) and it was VERY noisy. Upon startup, it gurgled (the carpet was soaked underneath it), then sounded like a plane taking off. Our room also overlooked Aviation Blvd., which is a busy highway, so it was a little noisy as well. The towels were very thin, but the shower water pressure was great. The room also lacked electrical outlets (which seem to be plentiful in newer hotel rooms, considering the number of electronic devices that require charging). There are vending machines on only one floor and ice on two.

Now for the positives. As mentioned, this hotel is quite reasonable for it's location close to the coast in Los Angeles County. Even without the Hotwire rate, rates are lower than most other properties in the area. The staff was courteous and accommodating. We ended up bringing back leftovers from a fantastic local restaurant (see my review of La Playita). Although our room had a refrigerator, it didn't have a microwave, but the front desk clerk heated up in the office microwave, which was very nice. :) The hotel was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was adequate, although the breakfast area is a bit cramped, and we didn't have any trouble with the free wi-fi. The best part about the hotel is it's location. From our room on the third floor, we had a balcony from which we could see the ocean. I could also watch the sunset from the exterior hallway, and it was gorgeous. It was also a 10-15 minute walk to the beach as well. Downtown Hermosa Beach and the beach area is lovely. There is a business center with wi-fi and a printer too, so I was able to print our boarding passes on the last day of our visit.

Although I probably would have chosen a different hotel if I hadn't booked through Hotwire, I still feel that I got an awesome deal for what I paid. If you are looking for a hotel with modern conveniences, you may want to consider another hotel, but honestly, for a clean place to crash close to the beach, you can't beat the value.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Knani,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from two stays at this hotel. We have stayed in Hermosa on several previous occasions but not at this hotel. We had a great room, actually the honeymoon suite (104), separate bedroom with king size bed and corner jacuzzi plus lounge with sofa bed. We also had a 'rolly bed' brought in so we could accommodate all our party in the one 'suite'. So although the room price ($169) seemed quite high that provided accommodation for 4. They provide a breakfast which is quite good: cereal, fruit juice, bread, muffins, toast, freshly cooked waffles and bacon, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, bananas and apples. At times the breakfast area got very busy and various items ran out but very helpful staff soon replenished them. Tea and coffee is available in reception all day (including green tea, lemon tea etc). Although on a main road we found it quite quiet and had the windows open at night. There is air conditioning but we prefer fresh air if possible. It is about 10-15 minutes walk down hill to the beach. Just around the corner there is a Ralph's supermarket providing all you may need, including snacks if you want to eat in. Also on hand is Starbucks and an ATM. There is a beauty salon around the corner who do mani and pedi combined for $28 - definitely recommend, I went twice (once on each visit). We requested the same room for our second visit and that was organised very efficiently, the reception staff were very helpful and responded to most requests- one was unable to give us any extra towels one evening as housekeeping had gone home without leaving us with enough. There is a safe in the room, key operated, no deposit or charge but you sign to say you will pay if you lose the key. We did not use the outside spa/pool - it is very small. Downside - the Internet (foc) is very slow so may not suite business travellers. Across the street (on the way to the beach) is a Jamba Juice - do try it, we love them. Loads of restaurants in the town so no shortage of places to eat within walking distance

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KasSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear KasSussex,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while I was in the L.A. area. The Guest Service is very friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. You have the option to watch video (extra cost) in your room, also they offer quite a lot TV Stations (if needed). The area around the Hotel is not too interesting, but you have by car a good connection to LAX Airport and to Fisherman´s Wharf. It s also possible to walk to the beach. There are some restaurants around here. Also guided tours can be booked at the front desk (pick up at the Hotel).
The breakfast is continental (served in a quite small breakfast room). All in all it is a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steffen,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grandview Inn
Grandview Inn
#6 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 901 Aviation Blvd, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-4019 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites is centrally located in Hermosa Beach, just six miles south of LAX Airport. Our hotel offers spacious, newly renovated guest rooms with an array of amenities from complimentary breakfast to free guest parking. Our friendly staff is knowledgeable of the area and takes pride in offering exceptional customer service. Whether you're taking a family vacation or traveling for business, we offer a variety of room types that are sure to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Choice Hotels and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Hermosa Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Quality Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing