We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach for two nights on a recent vacation to Southern California. I booked the room (and got a great rate) through Hotwire, based on a 100% satisfaction rating. At first, I was a little nervous, because on TripAdvisor, the hotel was only about 78% recommended. It turned out to be a very good value, in spite of a few drawbacks.

I'll start with the negatives (and probably the reasons it has a lower TripAdvisor rating). The hotel is definitely an older building and lacks many of the modern amenities of newer properties. There is a sign right in the lobby indicating that the building may contain chemicals known to cause cancer (a little frightening, although you do see these signs around California). The top floor (3rd floor) has an exterior hallway (like a motel), but the 3rd floor also has it's advantages (see below). The door to our room didn't close automatically and had to be pulled shut each time. The air conditioner was an older model (not controlled by a wall thermostat) and it was VERY noisy. Upon startup, it gurgled (the carpet was soaked underneath it), then sounded like a plane taking off. Our room also overlooked Aviation Blvd., which is a busy highway, so it was a little noisy as well. The towels were very thin, but the shower water pressure was great. The room also lacked electrical outlets (which seem to be plentiful in newer hotel rooms, considering the number of electronic devices that require charging). There are vending machines on only one floor and ice on two.

Now for the positives. As mentioned, this hotel is quite reasonable for it's location close to the coast in Los Angeles County. Even without the Hotwire rate, rates are lower than most other properties in the area. The staff was courteous and accommodating. We ended up bringing back leftovers from a fantastic local restaurant (see my review of La Playita). Although our room had a refrigerator, it didn't have a microwave, but the front desk clerk heated up in the office microwave, which was very nice. :) The hotel was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was adequate, although the breakfast area is a bit cramped, and we didn't have any trouble with the free wi-fi. The best part about the hotel is it's location. From our room on the third floor, we had a balcony from which we could see the ocean. I could also watch the sunset from the exterior hallway, and it was gorgeous. It was also a 10-15 minute walk to the beach as well. Downtown Hermosa Beach and the beach area is lovely. There is a business center with wi-fi and a printer too, so I was able to print our boarding passes on the last day of our visit.

Although I probably would have chosen a different hotel if I hadn't booked through Hotwire, I still feel that I got an awesome deal for what I paid. If you are looking for a hotel with modern conveniences, you may want to consider another hotel, but honestly, for a clean place to crash close to the beach, you can't beat the value.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Knani,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    166
    45
    13
    10
See reviews for
96
101
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from two stays at this hotel. We have stayed in Hermosa on several previous occasions but not at this hotel. We had a great room, actually the honeymoon suite (104), separate bedroom with king size bed and corner jacuzzi plus lounge with sofa bed. We also had a 'rolly bed' brought in so we could accommodate all our party in the one 'suite'. So although the room price ($169) seemed quite high that provided accommodation for 4. They provide a breakfast which is quite good: cereal, fruit juice, bread, muffins, toast, freshly cooked waffles and bacon, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, bananas and apples. At times the breakfast area got very busy and various items ran out but very helpful staff soon replenished them. Tea and coffee is available in reception all day (including green tea, lemon tea etc). Although on a main road we found it quite quiet and had the windows open at night. There is air conditioning but we prefer fresh air if possible. It is about 10-15 minutes walk down hill to the beach. Just around the corner there is a Ralph's supermarket providing all you may need, including snacks if you want to eat in. Also on hand is Starbucks and an ATM. There is a beauty salon around the corner who do mani and pedi combined for $28 - definitely recommend, I went twice (once on each visit). We requested the same room for our second visit and that was organised very efficiently, the reception staff were very helpful and responded to most requests- one was unable to give us any extra towels one evening as housekeeping had gone home without leaving us with enough. There is a safe in the room, key operated, no deposit or charge but you sign to say you will pay if you lose the key. We did not use the outside spa/pool - it is very small. Downside - the Internet (foc) is very slow so may not suite business travellers. Across the street (on the way to the beach) is a Jamba Juice - do try it, we love them. Loads of restaurants in the town so no shortage of places to eat within walking distance

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KasSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear KasSussex,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while I was in the L.A. area. The Guest Service is very friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. You have the option to watch video (extra cost) in your room, also they offer quite a lot TV Stations (if needed). The area around the Hotel is not too interesting, but you have by car a good connection to LAX Airport and to Fisherman´s Wharf. It s also possible to walk to the beach. There are some restaurants around here. Also guided tours can be booked at the front desk (pick up at the Hotel).
The breakfast is continental (served in a quite small breakfast room). All in all it is a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steffen,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great Value basic hotel is clean close walk to restaurants,beach, supermarkets Hotel is older style but for the price is such good value will stay again with our family of 6
breakfast is ordinary but has cereals, toast,bacon,waffles fresh fruit and juices.... Coffee YUK but I think that's everywhere

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management H, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Debra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the survey regarding your recent visit to the Quality Inn & Suites. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a nice week, and we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is an older property that is now a Quality Inn and what it lacks in beauty it makes up for with great location and really good service. We were in town for a celebration and didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel, but noticed a nice pool and workout area. We appreciated the staff's help on getting us around the city and directing us to sites within walking distance. I thought it was great and will stay there again the next time we are down in Southern California.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I wouldn't recommend Hermosa Beach particularly, but this hotel works especially if you get a deal.
All Quality Inn & Suites offer a free night if you can beat their internet price, shop around the cheaper sites on the web for a couple of weeks and it is possible.
It's got free parking, rooms are big and the place is clean.
It's a 10-15 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location is great for walking to/from shopping,dining,coffee shops,etc also close to LAX, 3rd fl rm did have view of the ocean which was nice. Staff was friendly, room was clean. Downside was hotel right on a busy road, traffic noise was too loud to leave patio door open to Oceanside and the Hot tub was not maintained, it was not hot was dirty and the location (directly next to parking lot) was very disappointing, especially after looking forward to a hot soak after a long day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hermosa Beach
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 901 Aviation Blvd, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-4019 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites is centrally located in Hermosa Beach, just six miles south of LAX Airport. Our hotel offers spacious, newly renovated guest rooms with an array of amenities from complimentary breakfast to free guest parking. Our friendly staff is knowledgeable of the area and takes pride in offering exceptional customer service. Whether you're taking a family vacation or traveling for business, we offer a variety of room types that are sure to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach Hotel Hermosa Beach
Quality Inn And Suites Hermosa Beach
Quality Inn Hermosa Beach
Hermosa Beach Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing