We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the location! 2 blocks to the Hermosa pier, and located on the beach block along the Strand walkway. There's parking if you have a car, but limited spots. Who needs to drive when you're in the middle of it all though?!?! No lobby area; just a check-in desk.

The place was recently renovated and is well-kept. Very clean. The rooms are bachelor-pad-esque in design, and minimally furnished. There's a desk and chair, a bed, a bench at the foot of the bed, a closet area, a wet bar area with sink, fridge, microwave, and a full bathroom (rain shower!), and a lounge chair. The room was actually quite large; could have used more furniture, like a dresser. No paintings or art on the walls. There was also a balcony with chairs; ours faced the street with partial beach view.

Overall, great location and great value for a nice, clean room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KP_SpeakerFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    123
    19
    11
    18
See reviews for
77
149
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here a couple nights in January 2014 and found the Inn to be clean quiet and almost right on the beach. Parking is free, limited to one car per room, in a covered carport underneath the rooms.

The rooms are spacious. My bed was good, internet good, nice and quiet, clean and comfortable. The decor is modern, simple, and adequate.

The proprietor was helpful and friendly.

In short, a nice place with all the comforts you expect from a good motel. And you can't beat the value. For being almost right on the beach it is a great value.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms are more expensive but have a beach view if you feel this is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I chose Grandview because it is near LAX but out of the city and on the beach. We returned from a 3 week trip to New Zealand and Australia early in the morning, exhausted and the management provided us with a place to rest until our room was available, much earlier than check-in. Really considerate! The rooms are very large and comfortable. We had an ocean view and two large beds for my daughter and I so we had our own space. A great place to stay just steps from a lovely little park and the beach front and a nice little cafe where I ate a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with the basics down. Quality in value and location. Close to the beach in downtown Hermosa. Free parking an added benefit, although everything is within walking distance. Overall, a nice hotel at a great price for the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kleedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for ten nights over Thanksgiving. The room was large, modern and clean with a balcony. It is very close to the beach- almost directly across the street from the Beach Hotel and a lot cheaper. Parking is free. About four rooms on the top floor have a beach view but we choose the cheaper room on the floor below. The balcony got nice sun in the afternoon but the view is blocked by other buildings. Some people might be bothered by the fact that there is normally no one right at the front desk- however if you press the buzzer the attendant will come out immediately. You can easily walk anywhere in Hermosa Beach from here and there are many restaurants within a five minute walk. Other places to stay with comparable prices are either on or across the Pacific Coast Highway- probably a ten minute walk to the beach/pier area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Highly recommend for couples wanting to stay on Hermosa Beach. Room was very spacious, clean and modern. Very comfortable king bed. Our room even had a great view of the beach. Free car parking which is great if you decide to hire a car from LAX airport (only 15-20 mins away). Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's right at the beach, the location was fantastic. We had a sea-view room and your balcony looks right out to the sea which is literally 3 minutes away. The room was spacious and comfortable with everything you would need. Hermosa is nice and relaxed with a few shops, restaurants and bars. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea-view room higher up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.3 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Property: Grandview Inn
Address: 55 14th Street, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing