We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location need a top floor room.”
Review of Grandview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandview Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hermosa Beach
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a family run Nice hotel, good location but you need a top floor room overlooking the beach to make it extra special. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfortable. There is a decent bathroom with good shower. However why 4 out of 5 is the hot water tap (faucet) is soooooo slow to give hot water in the morning and evening. The rooms have good if a little loud air con. And they have a safe! The location is good with everything close. For breakfast we used Starbucks about 2 minutes away.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location is awesome. Steps from the beach and there is a place next door that serves great breakfasts.
but the harsh lights in the rooms are enough to ruin your stay. They should replace them with some modern lamps that give a warm glow. Seriously don't turn them on in the middle of the night or you won't get back to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgb1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Price was right, The rooms were nicely appointed and the staff were very helpful! After long flight from Australia we were pleasantly surprised when the staff bent over backwards to get our room ready early. The rooms are spacious and have some modern touches. Top floor has sea views but the first floor at the end has a lovely balcony that can see the ocean as well.

Room Tip: End room on first floor has sea views from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhatCampKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here. The first two times were for business but this time I wanted to take my wife. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the 2nd floor with an ocean view. The rooms are always clean and fresh and even though not the fanciest place I have stayed. The rooms are quite functional and spacious. The staff has always been helpful and courteous when I have stayed there. Best thing is the location at Hermosa Beach being on The Strand and about one block from Pier Ave. where there are numerous restaurants and shopping. Cant wait to go back !!

Room Tip: Second floor with ocean view. There really are only three that have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye7821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Superb Location - literally about 100 yards from beach!

Hermosa is a great place with 1 strip full of shops/bars/restaurants/clubs etc. Much preferred this place rather than going into central LA

Hotel looks brand new - very minimalist and modern

Spacious Rooms, nice ocean view. Free Wi-Fi and parking if you have a car. Not the cheapest place but would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the Los Angeles area and several of our family members decided to spend a couple of days at the beach prior to the festivities. We enjoyed four ocean view rooms that were clean and spacious and we were grateful for all the little extras (frig, coffee maker, iron, bar sink, ice maker, microwave, in-room safe, luxury toiletry items and additional beach towels!) that really make for a comfortable stay. We also appreciated free parking and internet... I hate those pesky additional charges that usually come with a room. And even though we had a wonderful cool ocean breeze when our balcony door was open, it was also nice to have air conditioning when we needed it. We were only steps away from the beach and the strand and great restaurants and shopping, but the room was very quiet. In addition, one of our family members became ill and the front desk was great to offer up medical care info as well as give our group an extended check-out time and luggage hold while we were dealing with it. I have been vacationing in Hermosa Beach for over 30 years... usually staying at the Sea Sprite or the Beach House... but I have found my new favorite spot!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Goofball13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We wanted to spend one day at the beach before heading back East after a business trip and we could not have chosen a nicer place.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is even a small secondary sink next to the microwave so you can rinse off sandy clothes or shoes without messing up the tub. The bed was very comfortable.

Took us 20 minutes to drive to LAX on local roads on Sunday morning, which is a real plus. The beach is one-half block away and the main business district nearly at the doorstep. Many nice eateries, etc.

The front desk staff helpful and friendly. This is a nice place. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silasroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermosa Beach
0.0 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hermosa Beach
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Inn

Address: 55 14th St, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254-3508
Location: United States > California > Hermosa Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermosa Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Hermosa Beach
Price Range: $177 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grandview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandview Inn is superbly located 70 feet from the beach in the classic Californian beach town of Hermosa Beach in Los Angeles. Miles of sandy beach, safe, friendly community is the perfect place to stay when you visit the Los Angeles area. And The Grandview Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Hermosa Beach. all rooms are non smoking We're in a cozy neighborhood where a quiet street walk meets a charming avenue of shops and restaurants. Almost anything you could need is literally just around the corner: nightclubs, restaurants, dry cleaners, laundry, beauty salon, grocery store and fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grandview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Hermosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing