We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Baran's 2239

Baran's 2239
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #13 of 156 Restaurants in Hermosa Beach
Price range: $8 - $22
Description: Baran's 2239 is committed to serve exceptional food in a casual atmosphere. The idea formed when brothers Jason and Jonathan Baran linked up with long time friend and chef Tyler Gugliotta. Hours of prep and creativity go into every single dish, using only fresh and homemade ingredients. Baran's 2239 has over 40 craft beers and extensive wine list.
Restaurant details
Description: Baran's 2239 is committed to serve exceptional food in a casual atmosphere. The idea formed when brothers Jason and Jonathan Baran linked up with long time friend and chef Tyler Gugliotta. Hours of prep and creativity go into every single dish, using only fresh and homemade ingredients. Baran's 2239 has over 40 craft beers and extensive wine list.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was incredible, the wine list showcased a great range of US and international wines and the hospitality was awesome. I can’t fault a single thing- these guys know what they’re doing and they’re doing all the right things. The flavour combos were super interesting and fresh, and everything was really well put together.

Well done guys, keep doing what you’re doing

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 485katet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 64 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2019

Baran’s 2239 is deceptively luxurious. The owners grew up in restaurants in one way or another-the Baran brothers at the family’s Brotherton’s Farmhouse in Pasadena and Chef Gugliotta alongside his father, Chef Greg Gugliotta. The restaurant is in a nondescript strip mall in Hermosa, but as soon as we entered, the festive pub vibe and smells from the top notch kitchen made it clear that we were in for a treat .
We walked in without a reservation and they told us they only had space at the bar. Bingo-the BF loves sitting at a bar. We ordered a bottle of pinot noir. Jonathan told us they sold the last of the bottles we ordered and replaced it with a Les Violettes which was peppery and smooth.
We started with the endive, strawberry salad. I saw a brussel sprout salad pass us by while we waited and had temporary plate envy. But only until I tasted the chopped almonds and blue cheese vinaigrette that made the endive sweet and creamy.
Next we had a corn tamale that tasted like a corn souffle. It was light and cheesy.
Finally we had the Pastrami Wrapped Pork Chop with pickled red cabbage. Let me repeat that-Pastrami Wrapped Pork Chop. What’s not to like? The pork chop was boneless and probably 3-4 inches thick. It was cooked medium but the pastrami on the outside was crispy and chewy. AMAZING.
To finish, we had one of the cheese selections and the honeycomb with crackers. I could eat an entire dinner from the charcuterie menu alone.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tracyp981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

The location is a bit funny in a small strip mall, but don’t let that discourage you. The food and service is great. Interesting menu. Tapas type so great for sharing.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Swisschalet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

This is an upscale "family style" restaurant (family style in that menu items are meant to be shared). We had Spanish octopus and crab gnocchi. These were fantastic, although the portions were on the small side. "Coffee toffee pudding" for dessert was great. I will definitely come back.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Wow! I was in the area for business and saw the positive reviews so stopped by. From the street it doesn’t impress but I’m so glad I ventured in. The decor was nice...the service, wine list and food were world class. The Baran brothers are on the floor and have a real desire to ensure everyone is happy. The wine list is extensive, diverse, reasonably priced and they even allow corkage (which is generous)!

The rigatoni with fennel sausage and spring peas was so well balanced! The pasta was al dente and the chicken broth was subtle so you could taste all the components. The Indian egg (play on Scotch egg) was tasty. The onion garnish was incredible. I mentioned to one of the Baran brother owners that I found the cucumber raita a bit bland and he quickly brought a lemon which helped.

The brothers are carrying on the legend of their parents. A great story and a great restaurant. Highly recommend!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank DavidinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baran's 2239 also viewed

Redondo Beach, CA
Hermosa Beach, CA
 

Been to Baran's 2239? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing