We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience in Patagonia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia Bustamante Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were looking for something unique, and found it at Bahai Bustamante. The setting is magical, both remote (2 hours from nearest airport) and full of adventure. Not for everyone (3 hours of electricity each day, no phone service, no TV of course, etc). The combination of sheep farm, seaweed harvesting operation, and some of the most unique birds we have ever seen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director Comercial at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope you can come and visit us some other time!

Kind regards,
Bahia Bustamante Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Given that it takes about three hours to reach this estancia from either the Trelew or Comodoro Rividavia airports, you really have to want to be here, even if you don't quite know what to expect. We stayed for four nights over New Year's in one of the seaside cottages and loved the quiet, the night sky (spectacular), the sunrise (also spectacular), and the entire experience. The staff is lovely. The food is delicious, healthy, and well-prepared although I doubt picky eaters would be satisfied. The beds are very comfortable; the cottages are basic. My major reason for choosing Bahia Bustamante was to see penguins and I saw plenty as well as ferocious sea lions. But all the excursions were interesting and the guides were informative and good fun. Best of all, we met some really wonderful travelers there, which added to an all-around delightful trip. It would be a joy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cholmley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director Comercial at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! . It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and it is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay: the wildlife, the food, the accommodation, the staff, and everything you mention. This is our goal and we are glad to know we are on the right track! You also mention the other travelers, and we could not agree more. The experience in Bahia Bustamante is completed by our visitors, who share a passion for nature and seek to visit places where preserving our planet is a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After travelling through Brazil and part of Argentina we stayed there for 4 days and loved it. The first impression is a bit surprising, as the village itself is not nice at first view, but you got to love the place, and the people working there, already after a few hours. We rented a house there, with see view, and full pension and were very happy to do so (if you don’t want to take “full pension” you will have difficulties to buy anything as there are no shops around). We went every day to at least 2 tours, including fantastic boat trip and some great walks, enjoying the landscape and the animals (including penguins and sea lions), and the friendly and very competent guides.
Food is great. No menu to read and choices to be done as you get one menu for all the guest… and we loved all what we got to eat (most of the dishes are prepared with local products)! Wine card is large enough.
Electricity available from 7pm to midnight only (enough to load your battery). No phone coverage. Limited and unreliable Wi-Fi (but good enough to check quickly your email). No shops around…
We will definitely come back there, even longer as this place and the friendliness of the staff allowed us to relax and made us feel very special there

Room Tip: take a house with see view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director Comercial at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our property in Bahia Bustamante. What you mention regarding your first impression is important, since our guests should know that the village itself was founded in the 1950s as a seaweed village, where more than 400 people used to live. This is a unique story we want to preserve, and this is why we only renovated the main houses to receive guests. Part of the experience is to be able to travel back in time for some days, to the lives of those first settlers who built Patagonia.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Bahia Bustamante Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

No electricity except from 7-12? No TV? Spotty WiFi? No problem. It was just what my technology saturated teens needed to reconnect with their parents. The trip did not disappoint. Walking with penguinos; boating to sea lion island; taking a dip in the South Atlantic; hiking through a petrified forest; enjoying a typical Argentine Asado on New Year's Eve and more stars than you can count. the accommodations are simple but elegant and very comfortable. The food was delicious and the hospitality gracious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KKBayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director Comercial at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to receiving you some other time.

Kind regards,
Bahia Bustamante Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

we spend my birthday und new years evening in Bahia Bustamante in one of the beach houses.
Atmosphere is superb, beds and matresses are really good. The rest is s bit pittoresque which includes outdated bathrooms, heavy to lock doors and wind coming through the windows. But the place is so special, the staff so friendly and caring, the trips so breathtaking that these are only minor points. we were so lucky to spend new years evening together with singing, assado and a really nice community of international travellers. It will stay in our mind as a wonderfull experience. We loved the food although not all of the seaweed variation will become my favorite dish. We really enjoyed eating in the community with other guest sitting on te same table. If there is one thing to complain about then it ist the bad wifi connection. Limited power supply, no telephone signal is no problem at all, but stable internet acces at least for a couple of hours a day has become a must have. Thanks to Matias, Santiago, Adrian, Paula and Cocke

Room Tip: Choose the beach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director of Sales at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our property in TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to welcome you in Bahia Bustamante and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mention, in Bahia Bustamante luxury is the chance to enjoy the vastness of nature which surrounds us and the aim of the experience is to connect with nature and with the authenticity of the village and its inhabitants. Accommodation is simple but confortable. The old houses which used to belong to the first inhabitants were renovated to receive guests, always taking into account the austerity and simplicity which characterized lifestyle here from the beginning; thus keeping alive the spirit of those who arrived to these lands over 50 years ago.

Regarding wi fi, it is true that it does not work properly all the time, it is subject to weather conditions and wewill look into this.

Kind regards,
Bahia Bustamante Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Wonderful place! I first went with a friend and liked it so much that then returned with my husband . The scenery is wonderful ,nature unbelievable, patagonia with sea. We did several activities horse ridings, took excellent sea baths and sailed to see pinguins and all kind of birds. All staff is very kind , food is wonderful . The place is peaceful , ideal to rest! Highly recommend this place but dont book it all as I want to return! :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank seaclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director Comercial at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property! It was a pleasure to read such beautiful review, and we are delighted to know you enjoyed so much the experience in Bahia Bustamante. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Bahia Bustamante Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband Joe and I began our 3 week trip in Argentina by staying 3 nights at Bahia Bustamante. This is no easy place to get to, nor is it budget friendly. We spent $300 per person per night there. Never spent anything like that before on any hotel or resort. The facilities were not high end or fancy, but it just didn't matter at all because it was an amazing place.

We rented a car in Trelew and drove about 4 hours to get there. When we arrived they were still serving lunch so we got to enjoy that. They provide 2 tours a day, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. They decide what they're going to do the night before due to weather, and you can choose to attend or not. The day we arrived the afternoon tour was the Petrified forest. I really wanted to enjoy our little cottage that was in front of the ocean and just chill, so my husband did the tour and loved it.

Our little cottage was a Sea Front house that had 2 bedrooms, living room, bathroom, and kitchen. Bustamante only provides electricity from 7pm - 12 midnight by generator. We made sure that's when we recharged all of our stuff. There is no cell service AT ALL, and the wifi is spotty to the point of non-existence, so we were truly disconnected from the world. At first, this was annoying, but after a day, it was heaven!

The guests change daily, but there were never more than 11 of us at any time. One day Joe and I were the only ones with Andre, the tour guide, to go see the penguins nesting - it was incredible! Other tours we did was a hike through a canyon that ended at a beautiful sea cove, and a boat ride to different islands to see different birds, as well as penguins, then the sea lions. I could have watched the sea lions for hours, they were so entertaining!

But the magic of BB was the combination of the amazing staff, the area itself, and the quality of the guests that attend. Not everyone would enjoy this place, so the people who do want to make the trek are very interesting and fun to hang out with. The area is just downright beautiful, and the "town" is kept very clean. They are trying to be more self-sustainable and environmentally friendly.

The real icing is the staff. They closely interact with their guests all the time, and I could only imagine how different it would have been (not nearly as wonderful) if the staff had been cold, or distant, or just "professional". These people are really loving what they are doing, are extremely helpful and knowledgeable, and made the stay truly amazing. The tour guides Santiago and Andre really know their stuff, and are honest with their opinions. We stayed up one night with Santiago discussing politics and many other things, disagreeing, agreeing and laughing, over drinks until the generator shut down. The manager (I cannot remember how to spell her name but it sounds like Kokay) was wonderful. When Joe went to the petrified forest, I asked her about the organic garden. I fully expected her to say "oh, it's just over there, go ahead take a look". Instead, she dropped everything, got a snack from the chef, and took me on a tour of the gardens! The owner Mateis is there as well, and often eats dinner with his guests in the dining room, checking with everyone to see how their day is going. Very friendly and hands-on.

To top everything off, Joe's birthday was on our last full day there. I honestly can't remember if I had told someone before we got there, or they saw on his passport. But throughout the day, each individual staff member at one time wished him a happy birthday. And after dinner, they made him a special birthday tart! He felt like a star!

This place is a gem, we had such a wonderful experience! If you enjoy simple relaxation, nature, the ocean, and being in small groups, getting to know about wildlife, this is really the place for you!

Room Tip: Suck it up with the money and go for full room and board. You'll get a great view from your cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jojoyohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia B, Director of Sales at Bahia Bustamante Patagonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure to receive you and thank you for such nice comments regarding our staff! Everybody tries to do their best so that you can enjoy an amazing experience with us, and we are extremely happy to know that this was your case!

We belive this words sum up our philosophy: But the magic of BB was the combination of the amazing staff, the area itself, and the quality of the guests that attend. Not everyone would enjoy this place, so the people who do want to make the trek are very interesting and fun to hang out with. The area is just downright beautiful, and the "town" is kept very clean. They are trying to be more self-sustainable and environmentally friendly.

We hope you can come and visit us some other time!
Kind regards,

Matías, Astrid, Coke, Adrian, Paula, Santiago, Bruno, Magdalena, Rosario & the rest of Bahia Bustamante Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Bustamante Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Bustamante Patagonia

Address: Patagonia Austral National Park- Chubut, Bahia Bustamante 9111, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Bahia Bustamante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bahia Bustamante
Price Range: $161 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Bustamante Patagonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Bustamante is a seaside village entirely surrounded by nature. It is located between Trelew and Comodoro Rivadavia, in the province of Chubut, Patagonia Argentina, an area characterized by its relevant biological biodiversity. There are few places in the world that house such an amount and diversity of seabirds and marine mammals, which is why it has been included in the new National Park "Patagonia Austral". Ideal for nature lovers, this place offers different activities such as bird and sea lion watching, visit to the petrified forest, to the seaweed industry, and to a typical Patagonian ranch, panoramic trekking, horseback riding, and mountain bike. Also, you can just relax and enjoy the most exclusive sandy beaches and crystal-clear water, surrounded by huge red rocks, in an atmosphere of incredibly different textures and colors. This remote and exclusive village on the Patagonian seaside offers you a completely different kind of place, full of peace and safety. It is important for you to know that in Bahia Bustamante we want to preserve the essence of the place and maintain a balance with nature. The old houses which used to belong to the first inhabitants were renovated to receive guests, always taking into account the austerity and simplicity which characterized lifestyle here from the beginning; thus keeping alive the spirit of those who arrived to these lands over 50 years ago.In Bahia Bustamante luxury is the chance to enjoy the vastness of nature which surrounds us. The aim of the experience is to connect with nature and with the authenticity of the village and its inhabitants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bahia Bustamante Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Bustamante Hosteria Hotel Bahia Bustamante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing