We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hydeaway Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

One of those really good energy places to visit. We only had time for a drink & a bite to eat, but it was one of the highlights of our holiday. Very peaceful, stunning location, friendly staff, great service!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank schilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 125 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had works Christmas lunch at the resort (we did not stay at the resort) The staff are happy, friendly and verry helpful.
The food was nice and the view from every table would be awesome. Your basically on the beach, looking at the Whitsunday islands on the coral sea, what's not to love? There is a pool for guests and a pool table for everyone.
This is a really nice place to go for the day, put your towel on the beach, have breakfast or lunch and have a few cold drinks. You can walk down the beach to Monte s, another bar/restaurant and take some lovely pictures. They have a courtesy bus which picked us up and droped us back at our camp site near by.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 2011sue2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Spent 2 Awesome nights here as our first holiday without the kids in 5 years. We loved it the cabins are private and well cooled, the staff especially the manager is the perfect host, Thank you so much for showing everyone else how it should be done! We will be back.

Room Tip: Beachfront cabins are worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked here after struggling to find any other accommodation in the area. Very pricey for a basic room. We stayed in a motel styled room, the rooms are clean and with basic furnishings Each room has a bbq and kitchenette. But lets face it, in a location like this one you wouldn't want to spend much time in your room. Turn the aircon on to help with the noise from the room next door. It sounded like they where in the room with us. Love love the pool area and bar. The restaurant does a great meal too. The views are stunning and the bar is a great place to have a cocktail or two.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 2 & 3 are on the beach and are either 2 bedroom or a 1 room cabin. They are more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent the night in the Couples Retreat cabin after one of the best meals ever. This resort is absolutely fantastic. From its magnificent views, it's wonderful beachside pool, the tropical open air restaurant. My wife and I have traveled all over the world and I cannot ever remember a more relaxing and comfortable resort. We will return.

Stayed: August 2012
3  Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for a few days in a pretty good self contained cabinclose to the beach - just a two minute walk away.
The cabin was well, albeit, sparsely furnished, well set out, clean and private. The resort itself is small and beautiful with a great áway from it all' feel. The views are fantastic.
There is a central bar and restaurant area - the bar was good with reasonable prices and good selection, the restaurant had a nice setting with so so food and unfortunately on the night we were there a very noisy over-indulged child. Whatever happened to teaching children manners and having consideration for others?
This place made much of oits 25 metre pool but when we were there it was out of action with much work being carried out. No explanation was given nor allowance made for the lack of this facility.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were disappointed with the standard of accommodation for the price paid at this resort. The bed was uncomfortable and there were minimal kitchen utensils. Everything was old and shabby and at $AUS240 per night for our cabins ,this was poor value for money. It's a shame that such a great location doesn't have a better standard of rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely need a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Gloucester Eco-Resort

Address: 128 Gloucester Ave, Hydeaway Bay, Queensland 4800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Hydeaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hydeaway Bay
Price Range: $92 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing