We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected from Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected from Best Western”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights to be near Healdsburgh and was most disappointed with our room in this hotel. It could best be described as a basic motel room. The first thing noticable entering the room was the musty smell as if the room had not been occupied for a long time. It was suprising to see the mini refrigerator standing on the floor so that you had to kneel on the floor to use it. We were unable to open the curtains fully as the rather grubby net curtains only covered half the width of the windows. The wi-fi did not operate in the room. The hotel was full and as we were moving on after 2 nights it was not worth the effort of packing up and moving rooms had one been available.

This is the first time we have stayed in a Best Western in US and it has put us off using the chain again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurtskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    719
    339
    150
    94
See reviews for
299
1,031
61
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised about how nice Dry Creek Inn was for the price. I know how expensive this area can be. The staff was courteous, the rooms large and clean, and the amenities (pool and exercise room) good. And the continental breakfast offered a lot of variety. I'll stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexington_KYSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Got the $99 Internet Special. Rooms allocated at this price are in the worst locations in the old building, blocked from the sun by a stairwell shaft. Still the room was clean, though somewhat dated. The new wrinkle is the $2 Resort Fee. Whether you use the pool or not, whether you eat the "free" breakfast or not, you pay the fee to cover those items. Good friendly staff, though in all my visits I've gotten the impression a manager keeps a tight rein on them regarding upgrades and other services.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consumerchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

This Best Western is a sizeable hotel/resort about a 3 min drive from the Healdsburg square. We snagged a $110/nt deal here from Costco's hotel relationship with Best Western, so this presented a pretty nice deal for a Thurs/Fri night stay in this area.

The bed was upscale, almost the type of linens and setup that you'd find at a Westin. The rest of the room was a pretty standard 3 star affair. We stayed in the "vintage" side of the hotel (the older section), not in the "Tuscany" section. Check in/out was convenient, but there is only one elevator so we needed to drag our bags a long way to our room on the other side of the complex (we just took the stairs to our 3rd floor room in subsequent trips to the room).

Management could upgrade/fix the following misses that marred our visit:
* The A/C unit was an under-window unit that didn't have a thermostat. Meaning, it doesn't turn on/off based on your temp setting. So we were forced to either leave it on and freeze halfway through night, or turn it off and roast--either of which required a mid-sleep adjustment. Upgrade these units!
* Shower head pressure was very low, to the point of being laughable. I understand water conservation, but the chosen head pressure (if indeed ours wasn't faulty) was not enjoyable at all.

There were 2 pools in the parking lot area, seemed nice enough...though not much shade that I could see (we didn't use the pools during our stay). I think one of the pools may be a kids pool.

Despite these two issues, we really weren't in the room that much and the room savings allowed us to spend more $$ on restaurants (Scopa was fantastic), a spa day at Hotel Healdsburg and tastings. So I recommend this "get what you pay for" deal in Healdsburg for those looking for a close-by location and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skeefy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Our stay at the Dry Creek Inn was EXCEPTIONAL! The tuscany rooms were very roomy and comfortable but best of all, VERY CLEAN! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel was perfect for visiting/touring Sonoma Wine Country.

Thanks to you and your staff for making our vacation unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc123d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

What a fabulous town. Many places to stay but as we were only sleeping chose this place based only on low price. Was more than adequate. Friendly., helpful staff. Not great work out room but ok. Well located.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the Dry Creek Inn. The new Tuscan room was very nice, clean, good bed and extremely quiet. We also liked that it was centrally located for all the places we wanted to visit. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funandsunjra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
6.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Address: 198 Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dry Creek Inn is the heart of California's famous Wine Country in the beautiful town of Healdsburg CA, just 15 minutes from Santa Rosa. Five minutes from our hotel is the popular Healdsburg’s Town Square, home to many award-winning fine dining and family restaurants and boutique and antique shopping. Over 150 of the renowned Dry Creek, Russian River, and Alexander Valley wineries and River Rock Casino are within 20 minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dry Creek Hotel Healdsburg
Best Western Healdsburg
Healdsburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing