We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Reviewed October 22, 2005

What you would expect. Fine place with no problems. The complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillycmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2005

This little towns in Sonoma are expensive, with the most basic of motel rooms over $100. The Dry Creek is a perfectly fine if basic motor lodge property. Our room was clean and quiet and everything worked well. We had a sofa, mini fridge and other pieces of furniture that made it feel more like a suite. Beyond the room though, most was so basic that it was kind of funny. The pool was miniature in size, as was the fitness room and breakfast room. My compliments to the bagel buyer though - those were some genuine Jewish NY style bagels above the supermarket variety you usually get. The free bottle of wine in the room didn't measure up to the fine wines we'd been sipping all day. If the pool, 'gym' or breakfast room were a little larger I'd give the property a higher rating.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TriumphTR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Everything during my stay was very pleasant from the front desk to the room cleaning and to the breakfast in the morning. I would recommend your hotel to anyone visiting the area and would return myself next time in the area.

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank TomMOssining_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2005

I rated this hotel a little lower than I probably should, considering the price. I got the internet special, and a great room that was clean. But the main thing I was promised in the rate was the free bottle of wine and a refrigerator. I could stand being without the wine they offered, but wanted the refrig to keep my stuff cold, and to chill some other wine I had bought, and to refreeze my blue ice for the next day's trip home. I had only figured on staying here overnight, so I didn't want to spend a fortune at a really nice bed and breakfast, cuz the affordable ones were all booked up.

We called it in after I got back from dinner cuz I didn't really miss the frig til then, and the night shift couldn't do anything about it. So he told me to get a credit the next day and let them know that we didn't take it, so that we wouldn't be charged. They were going to apply the charges to the last person in the room. Apparently they had taken the frig along with the wine? Well, I'm surprised the room attendant didn't notice. And the next day, the front desk asked the manager what to do, and he removed even more from a low rate for the inconvenience. At first they weren't going to give me anything, and I refused to sign the final bill, noting that we had to haul ice around to keep things cooled down, and that I was without a blue ice, and had to fill up my ice chest with their ice, and it weighed us down.

But the room was spotless. And I took 201, which was right over the ice machines in 101, and it was next to the stairs. A little noisy in the morning, but otherwise quiet being on the end room.

It was great having a room so conveniently centrally located to the wineries far north. Clos du Bois was just north of us, with Trentadue, and Ferrari Carano was a little further north - a don't miss. And all the wineries south of it were our starters before we got to the hotel. They helped me get a table at a place called the Madrona Manor, which is a hotel/restaurant that's absolutely exquisite. The food was great, the prices weren't bad for a wine pairing dinner ($55 without, $85 with wine) and if I had the money to stay there next time, we'll go there for a special treat. But if you can afford to go, it's really beautiful.

Oh, and don't miss the J winery either. ooh, that's a new favorite. I love their champagne, but now I found some great wines like their chardonnay and viognier and their zin (I usually hate zin), and I joined their club to get these wines they don't sell to the distributors. Anyhow, that's the wineries.

If you don't like something about the hotel that's tangible, nicely complain to the management. They made good. They gave the bottle to me, warm, but I took it home, and they gave me the discount. They were fair about it, so I can't complain.

The breakfast isn't much, but it gave us something in our stomach for the road til we got to lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nancyhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
428
Reviewed July 27, 2005

This is a perfectly serviceable motel for those visiting the northern part of Sonoma wine country. It has the feel of a good budget motel, but its rates do not reflect that: after wrangling with reservations I was able to obtain a rate of $105 a night. Though I realize that wine country is an expensive destination, especially in late July, upon viewing the roadside-motel ambiance and the cheap decor of the rooms (outdated particle-board furniture and tied-down items such as irons and coffee makers--does wine country really attract the kind of riffraff that would steal small appliances?!) I felt the place was overpriced. With some updating of the decor of the rooms the place would be worth the rate, given the location.

That said, I found it clean and safe, and it does have amenities. The guest laundry was free--though the dryers took forever--and the room came with a mini-fridge and coffee maker. The free bottle of wine was mediocre, but free wine is free wine. I got up too late to evaluate the free continental breakfast. The staff was professional and check-in/check-out were efficient. I'd recommend it to budget travellers who don't care about ambiance and who are able to negotiate a better rate than I got.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Playa Del Rey, CA
12
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at your hotel a great deal! The rooms were very nice and the pool was a relaxing stop at the end of a day of wine tasting. The location of your hotel is perfect with its proximity to both Healdsburg, with its small town feel and great restaurants, and also to the Alexander, Dry Creek and Russian River Valleys where we spent most of our days. We really enjoyed the great wines and the distinctive tastes and varietals associated with each different growing area. Don't be surprised if we stay with you again the next time we visit the area.

Thanks again.

Stayed: July 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a three-day weekend at the Best Western Dry Creek Inn in Healdsburg, Calif.
Healdsburg is a charming little city whose inkeepers and restaurateurs are becoming increasingly pretentious, much spoiled by success. The Dry Creek Inn is a conspicuous exception.
For $134 a night on an in-season summer weekend, we got a very large and modern, well-lit room with two queen beds and an acceptable continental breakfast with fresh apples and bananas. The hotel is conveniently located, a few minutes away from such excellent wineries as Ridge and Dry Creek (still no charge for basic tastings) and just a few blocks away from Zin, Ravenous and the city's other swank and pricey eateries.
Yes, it's part of a chain, but no two Best Westerns are exactly alike. I consider this a true and rare California Wine Country find. And they even give you a welcoming bottle of wine, a decent Chardonnay.

8  Thank barryzwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
13.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
6.5 mi away
Geyserville Inn
Geyserville Inn
#1 of 1 in Geyserville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dry Creek Inn

Address: 198 Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: $139 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dry Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dry Creek Inn is the heart of California's famous Wine Country in the beautiful town of Healdsburg CA, just 15 minutes from Santa Rosa. Five minutes from our hotel is the popular Healdsburg’s Town Square, home to many award-winning fine dining and family restaurants and boutique and antique shopping. Over 150 of the renowned Dry Creek, Russian River, and Alexander Valley wineries and River Rock Casino are within 20 minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Dry Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dry Creek Hotel Healdsburg
Best Western Healdsburg
Healdsburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing