We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Dry Creek Inn. Our rooms in the Tuscan building were nicely appointed and very clean. The office staff was very welcoming and helpful in providing directions. The hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 101 and within minutes of the Healdsburg city center. The rate can't be beat! Overall, an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Parking is located outside rooms so it is advisable to book an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stay at this hotel on every visit to Healdsburg, There are two parts of the hotel, the newer 'Tuscan' building and the older part of the hotel. We stayed in the older part once, three years ago, and that part has smaller rooms, fewer amenities in the rooms, and had at that time a very dated and worn look (the staff told us this time that part was renovated 'about 4 years ago', but since it was dated and worn 3 years back either they are wrong on the dates or it has not been renovated). If you stay here, it is highly recommended that you stay in the 'Tuscan' building. The rooms are larger, have a DVD player, a jacuzzi tub, a gas fireplace, and a private balcony. All worth the upcharge in my opinion.

The room in the 'Tuscan' building was very clean and the amenities in good condition. We could not use the balcony/patio much as it was pouring rain incessantly most of the time with temperatures in the 40's; not all that amenable to sitting outside. The staff was pleasant on check-in, but not overly informative probably due to being rather busy at the moment. For example, they neglected to mention the included breakfast and location of the breakfast room, but we were able to find that on our own.

The breakfast was fine, more or less standard for hotels in the price range. The only interesting part is the addition of the waffle makers. We see these at a few hotels, but not many. An interesting note on the breakfast; three years ago they had closed the breakfast room and gave a voucher for the restaurant next door (Adels). Apparently they have re-thought that ill-conceived idea and re-opened their own breakfast room.

Most everything worked well and provided what we needed. The new 'clean remote' for the TV was a bit finicky, but we got it to work. The climate control worked well and relatively quietly, which is great as my wife tends to have a narrow range in which she is comfortable. The one thing that did not work well is the WiFi. We connected to several access points, got good strong signals from many of them, but the throughput was lousy, 100Kbps or so at best. There is a strong showing of Silicon Valley geeks and business folks stopping here, so the less than usable nature of the WiFi means you are effectively cut-off; not bad if that is what you want but if you need to keep in touch then forget it. Cellular data connections are weak to non-existent in the area and the hotel seems to sit in a dead spot with very weak cellular coverage. The owners of this establishment should work with the carriers to improve this, and get a better broadband connection to make it more alluring to those who need/want to stay connected.

Room Tip: The 'Tuscan' building, only, is where you will want to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclistRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaron9556, Owner at Best Western Dry Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer:

Thank you for being our guest and writing such a nice review.

Over the last week we had several of the same complaints relating to our Wi-Fi service.

Today, our service provider was able to come to our hotel and fix our problems. It turns out half our access points were down. Thus, making our system slow or non functioning due to overloading what access points were available.

All access points have now been fixed and thoroughly tested. They are now functioning properly along with our Wi-Fi service system.

We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate that you let us know there was a problem.

With respect to poor cell service, I am not aware of this problem and have never had another guest complain about this issue. I have tested my phone and several of my employee's phones and we all were able to stream data with no problem using AT&T, Sprint and Verizon. I will certainty keep an eye on that issue and call the respected carrier if the problem is brought to my attention again.

Once again, thank you for taking the time write and post your review. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Aaron Krug
President and General Manager
Best Western Plus Dry Creek Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel was great, conveniently located right off Hwy101. They even had free wine tasting when we arrived. Breakfast was average, what one would expect from BW. The Internet was horrible, 1 mbps. This is 2012, come on, people. I couldn't even open my e-mail.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnieosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaron9556, Owner at Best Western Dry Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer:

Thank you for being our guest and writing such a nice review.

Over the last week we had several of the same complaints relating to our Wi-Fi service.

Today, our service provider was able to come to our hotel and fix our problems. It turns out half our access points were down. Thus, making our system slow or non functioning due to overloading what access points were available.

All access points have now been fixed and thoroughly tested. They are now functioning properly along with our Wi-Fi service system.

We apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate that you let us know there was a problem.

Once again, thank you for taking the time write and post your review. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Aaron Krug
President and General Manager
Best Western Plus Dry Creek Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great location near Healdsburg, CA, close to many wineries in Sonoma, and right off Hwy 101. Hotel is not walking distance to Healdsburg (a short 5-min drive north of town), and tucked away behind a gas station and a diner/restaurant. However, hotel has an appealing Tuscan-style architecture.

We typically stay in their upgraded room with gas fireplace, jetted tub, double sinks, and separate shower. Room had a flat screen with basic cable channels, dvd player, mini-fridge, and room safe (included with the $2/day resort charge, which also covers wifi access). Also in the closet are 2 warm bathrobes which were welcome because...

With this recent stay, outside temps were in the 40s, and the room's complicated ceiling mounted HVAC unit was blowing unheated air. Even after calling maintenance, it did not warm/heat up to my satisfaction. Thus, the low sleep qualify rating. But, the bed, bedding, and pillows were good quality. In spite of the HVAC issue, we will return to this hotel, due to its location, appealing appearance, and good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ger3sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We set out for a weeklong trip
staying at four different hotels. Healdsburg was the cutest most quaint town
and the Dry Creek Inn was the most friendly nicest hotel we stayed in at a great
price. Next time we visit, which will be soon, we will stay at Dry Creek INN
the entire time.

Gena from Kansas City MO

Room Tip: Stay in the newest addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edith V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My family stayed at the BW here just before Thanksgiving 2012. The room was adequate, nothing extra ordinarily fancy. This was not on the contemporary side but the classic or something like that. They have two sides. One new and the other older.
We went to the breakfast room the next day and saw there were an infestation of fruit flies in the bread/bagel plastic container. My family wouldn't touch it, but we saw some elderly people eat it the bread/bagel kept in that container and knew flies had buzzed around it.
I mentioned it to the person who worked at the breakfast room and she said she knew about it.
I was thinking, if she knew, then why wasn't anything done about it?
Therefore, i went to the front desk and told them the issue and they said they would talk to the person working there. I said to the desk person, she already knew but seem unable or unwilling to do anything about it.
She then said she would alert the manager to look into this issue.
I'm not sure if they had this issue corrected, but this has to be the weak link in an otherwise pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
13.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dry Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dry Creek Inn

Address: 198 Dry Creek Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: $140 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Dry Creek Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Dry Creek Inn is the heart of California's famous Wine Country in the beautiful town of Healdsburg CA, just 15 minutes from Santa Rosa. Five minutes from our hotel is the popular Healdsburg’s Town Square, home to many award-winning fine dining and family restaurants and boutique and antique shopping. Over 150 of the renowned Dry Creek, Russian River, and Alexander Valley wineries and River Rock Casino are within 20 minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Dry Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dry Creek Hotel Healdsburg
Best Western Healdsburg
Healdsburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing