We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cream of the Crop”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived at 6:45am and sat in the car until about 7am, our balloon trip had been blown out for the second time that week. I walked into the quiet house only to be greeted by Inn Keeper and handy man 'Oliver'. After 3 minutes I knew we were in great hands. Oliver turned on the coffee as I explained our misfortunes, then he explained that if we would like to get to 'work' on the farm, they would be making wine today. Say no more, out to the car to grab my half sleeping wife, made her a cup of joe and off to 'work' we went!
We meet up with Dane and Rita soon thereafter, the BIG bosses as well as the proprietors. The best way to describe them ~ 'Top Shelf'!
A short lesson on how to 'greet', 'cut', and 'thank' the vines and we were off and working, hours later we were still hard at it 'pressing' grapes from a previous pick.
I could continue, but the bottom line, our consolation prize of 'Making Wine' was a great climax to our trip. Our short time at the Inn was complimented with great food and good time with new friends.
If you are looking for a beautiful location, this is one to keep in mind as you tour around wine country. Thank you and we shall return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinner4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 484 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely time in this historic home in a rural setting in Sonoma wine country. Dane and Rita were warm and welcoming hosts with lots of great information on the local wineries and restaurants. Our room was on the ground level with adequate size, comfortable bed, and large bathroom. Breakfast was served in a well-lit dining area, well prepared with excellent quality. There is also a wine and cheese reception on the front porch in the late afternoon. The grounds have lovely gardens and are surrounded by acres and acres of grape vines. We will plan to return here on our future trips to Sonoma county.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Found this place from an out of town friend who was visiting the area and drove up to have lunch with her. The moment I walked up to the front door and turned to see that view, I knew I had to come back with my husband for a weekend getaway. I could have sat there for hours lost in the view of the vineyard and watching the hummingbirds. We both thought the B&B experience was greatly enhanced because Rita and Dane make you feel like family. The little touches such as wine on the patio every evening which just allows everyone to get to know each other and share what they did during the day, to the pre-breakfast coffee chats and then the wonderful breakfast before your day begins. We have stayed at a few B&B's and this one is really going into the favorite list. We met a great group of people and had an excellent experience...we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From the moment you walk up the steps to the porch and are greeted by Dane and Rita you feel right at home. They have found their calling as B&B hosts. The inn is charming and well taken care of and has the most spetacular views.
Weather you want to explore in town or just relax this place is perfect. The breakfasts were wonderful. My wife and I even had a nice dinner we bought at Oakville grocery right on the porch while watching the sunset.
The other guests were all very nice and it was a great mix from NY, NJ, and California. By the end of weekend we had 8 new friends. The wine and cheese tasting on the porch every night at 5:30 - 7:00 was a nice way to just meet everybody and see what was on the docket for the evening and the next day.
Not only do I reccomend this B&B I look forward to returning to the Sage room for another peaceful weekend at the Raford Inn!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33mikemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We love this Inn. This trip we took our daughter to celebrate her 21st birthday. Raford was our first place to stop/stay and for the 2nd time we loved it. The Inn is removed from town and is quiet and we felt quite at home. This is the place to go for total relaxation and a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here in mid-July and had a wonderful experience! The Inn is charming, beautifully cared for with fabulous views. The highlight without a doubt was the gracious hospitality of Dane and Rita. They could not make you feel more at home!! The breakfasts that Rita made were incredible and every detail to make your stay feel as if you were part of their family was attended to. Dane's enthusiasm and passion for his vineyard and winemaking is contagious. Our stay here was the highlight of our trip and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STH713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Raford Inn this August and would highly recommend it! Rita and Dane are very warm people who made us feel right at home. They prepare a wonderful hot breakfast and happy hour on the gorgeous patio is not to be missed! The view from the front porch is just wonderful with the vineyards and hummingbirds everywhere. The location is also great. You feel like you are away from the world, but really there are restaurants and wineries a very short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreaf139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
499 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
7.4 mi away
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Grape Leaf Inn
Grape Leaf Inn
#7 of 16 in Healdsburg
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $170 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing