We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wow!!! I am still feeling the warm glow from staying at the Raford Inn. We truly had an incredible experience. Dane and Rita and staff were so welcoming. We felt like family from the moment they said hello. When we arrived, Dane gave us the name of a great place to start our wine tasting and so we did!!! He was right, it was a great spot. From then on we realized that all their recommendations about wineries, vineyards, towns, hiking spots, restaurants were all top notch. You honestly could just book a room and let them help you plan the rest!!!! In addition, each evening we got to spend time on the front porch with Dane, Rita and guests and taste wine and share our stories. I will never forgot that beautiful experience, sitting on the porch overlooking the vineyards with the light breeze and the great conversations. Thank you for the breathtaking inn, unforgettable rooms, the tasty breakfasts and the friendship!!!! Best place ever to stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
350
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at The Raford Inn for four nights in July. This was the best bed and breakfast experience that we have ever had. The room (Strawberry) was nice and cozy, but it was the hosts, Dane and Rita, who made our stay so memorable. The care that both of them put into making sure we had a great stay was evident from the quality of the breakfasts, the daily wine and cheese receptions, and from Dane's tremendous tour of his little vineyard. The place is gorgeous and close to many vineyards in the Russian River and Dry Creek areas. We will definitely be back the next time we are in wine country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sktutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay in Wine Country. Dane, Rita, Melia and the whole staff were very welcoming and made sure that we were comfortable and had what we needed. For this reason alone, we will return to the Raford Inn. But, there's much more to recommend this B&B: a great breakfast, beautiful grounds, a quiet atmosphere, and charming rooms with all the amenities. The front porch is spectacular with wine tastings, cheese, and other goodies served each evening. This was an opportunity to meet other guests, get great tips on places and restaurants to seek out. All-in-all, a charming and inviting get-away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank XZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our short stay couldn't have been nicer. Dane and Rita were tremendous hosts and their staff goes out of their way to make it seem you are staying with them in their house. The wine & cheese before dinner gave us a chance to meet more of the staff for some impromptu music and chatter. Our room (Strawberry) was very nice and the plentiful breakfast was excellent. Perhaps the highlight for us was the wine tour with Dane after we had checked out. We learned lots about the 1/3 acre of vines in front of the house and had the opportunity to taste 3 different (and very good) wines with Dane. Clearly Dane & Rita care a lot about the Raford Inn and their guests and it clearly shows. We will be back, hopefully during the grape picking and bottling in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbertell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This historic inn is in a beautiful setting, including its own vineyard, and in a perfect location to visit the surrounding countryside, towns, and wineries. The owners, Dane and Rita, are exceptional hosts, and the staff are friendly and attentive.
We look forward to returning.
N & K, Lafayette, CA

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Raford Inn for 4 nights in July, 2013. It is a very good property physically, very well maintained, and an excellent property from the standpoint of centrality to area attractions -- nearly everything of interest, from the Pacific to the Russian River to Sonoma wine country is within a 30 minutes drive -- and the grounds are beautiful with breathtaking quiet and gorgeous vistas across vineyards. The dozens and dozens of hummingbirds are captivating. Hosts Dane and Rita and their staff could not be more accommodating. Daily wine and cheese is a wonderful opportunity to meet other guests and the daily hot-cooked breakfasts are superb. We shall return - with great pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Dane, Rita and their staff are wonderful people and make you feel at home. They were very accommodating to different dietary needs and never made a fuss about our "quirks."

The location is very near to many vineyards, the Russian River, Armstrong Woods and the town of Healdsburg. You can't walk to any location from The Raford, except for The Farmhouse, so you will definitely need a car.

We paid an extra $75 to have Melia put together an itinerary for our visit, and she did a great job. We had reservations, turn by turn directions, tasting passes to the vineyards - basically, everything we could have possibly wanted. We met some wonderful people and made new friends. We met one couple from Australia that we may end up visiting if we ever get "down under."

Overall, this is a great place that I would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4cortinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing