We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raford Excellent; Central for Sonoma Wine Country & Russian River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Raford Inn for 4 nights in July, 2013. It is a very good property physically, very well maintained, and an excellent property from the standpoint of centrality to area attractions -- nearly everything of interest, from the Pacific to the Russian River to Sonoma wine country is within a 30 minutes drive -- and the grounds are beautiful with breathtaking quiet and gorgeous vistas across vineyards. The dozens and dozens of hummingbirds are captivating. Hosts Dane and Rita and their staff could not be more accommodating. Daily wine and cheese is a wonderful opportunity to meet other guests and the daily hot-cooked breakfasts are superb. We shall return - with great pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Dane, Rita and their staff are wonderful people and make you feel at home. They were very accommodating to different dietary needs and never made a fuss about our "quirks."

The location is very near to many vineyards, the Russian River, Armstrong Woods and the town of Healdsburg. You can't walk to any location from The Raford, except for The Farmhouse, so you will definitely need a car.

We paid an extra $75 to have Melia put together an itinerary for our visit, and she did a great job. We had reservations, turn by turn directions, tasting passes to the vineyards - basically, everything we could have possibly wanted. We met some wonderful people and made new friends. We met one couple from Australia that we may end up visiting if we ever get "down under."

Overall, this is a great place that I would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 4cortinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Raford Inn over the July 4th weekend. It was truly a treat. We loved the breakfasts and the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon was very relaxing. We loved meeting and talking with Rita and Dane and also the other guests at the Inn. They gave us some great restaurant recommendations and made sure that everything about our visit was perfect. The location is great for visiting all the Sonoma wineries and Russian River areas. We especially enjoyed Dane's wine tour and tasting. Make sure you stay until at least 11:30 on your last day there so that you can join the tour!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sage Room and it was very nice. I think all the rooms looked charming and we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WendySolon_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I went to the Raford Inn for our Honeymoon over the 4th of July weekend. It was a first time Bed and Breakfast experience and we could not have asked for a better one. The owners Dane and Rita are so welcoming and make you feel like family. The entire staff was so friendly and personable. We loved the country breakfasts and wine and cheese hour every evening. Not to mention the view is breathtaking and truly gives you the "wine country" experience. Sitting on the porch and sharing stories with guests during the wine and cheese hour was one of our favorite things. They coordinated an entire itinerary for us so it was worry free. We made friends while visiting and definitely plan on going back for an anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Raford Inn for three days in June, 2013. We have stayed at a few B&B's that were very nice, but this one topped them all. The hosts were friendly, gracious, fun, and very well informed about the local attractions. The staff were all professional and friendly. The house and grounds were beautiful, comfortable, interesting, and scrupulously maintained. Our room was extremely clean as was the rest of the facility. The breakfasts were fabulous and prepared with fresh ingredients. I will confirm all the positive comments others have made about the daily wine reception and Dane's wine making tour. Don't miss the Armstrong Redwoods State Reserve just up the road. Both my wife and I wanted to stay longer as we enjoyed this inn so much and there are lots of things to do in the area. Next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Anjelica room, which has a beautiful large private deck and a view of the vineyards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocalTraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast like this. It has a real community feel to it that we didn't expect. What makes it great really is the people. The ones that run the place, and the ones that visit. Drinking wine with them on the front porch was very enjoyable. The cheese was delicious and was paired with fresh picked blueberries. Breakfast is everyday at 9am and lasts an hour. If you are staying here you should plan to visit wineries nearby so that you can always end the day with wine and cheese. The place is affordable and a big upgrade from a similarly priced room at a standard hotel. The location makes for a great home base in northern Sonoma County. We loved our visit to the Raford Inn and will be recommending it to everyone looking to visit Sonoma.

Most importantly. . .Do not pass on your chance to partake in quality control for the winemaking tour. It was a real treat and made us very happy with our stay. This means make sure you don't have to be leave before 11:30am on your final day.

Room Tip: Angelica is a large room with its own private doorway to the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoki_Sokquart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife, son, his girlfriend and I spent two nights here in mid June. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and private. The grounds and gardens are beautiful, the view of the vineyards from the porch of the house is enchanting. Rita's breakfasts are delicious, including the vegetarian and gluten-free alternatives that two of us had. There are many very nice wineries and tasting rooms in the area for unhurried visits. In the evening you can mingle with other guests and Dane and Rita on the porch for complimentary wine, cheese and crackers. As the sun sets you can watch the changing colors and shadows on the vineyards below, and then go to any of the very nice restaurants in the area for dinner. At night you can sit in the adirondack chairs on the yard or on the porch with a cup of tea and cookies and biscotti that Rita provides and chat as the moon rises over the valley below. And if you want to learn about winemaking be sure to ask Dane for the tour of his vineyard and winery. This was our first stay here but it will now be our first choice on our trips to Sonoma.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
500 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
7.4 mi away
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Grape Leaf Inn
Grape Leaf Inn
#7 of 16 in Healdsburg
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $170 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing