We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
H2 Hotel(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grape Leaf Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calderwood Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duchamp Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$346
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$529
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$473
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dry Creek Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$184
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camellia Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$299
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$350
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
457
28
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
457
28
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdane and ritablueberry roomfront porchwine and cheeserussian riverother guestswine countrywine toursmall vineyardwonderful hostseach eveningsonoma countybreakfasts were excellentfellow travelerspinot noirsipping winehappy hour
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 490 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our stay at the Rafford was wonderful... Seriously: we were welcome with a glass of wine and cheese and had a chance to get acquainted with our hosts that were so friendly. They helped us find a dinner reservation and even gave us a map to get there. After a delicious breakfast, Dane gave us a tour of his personal vineyard with a winemaking class. Our stay ended too soon with a winetasting from Dane's personal barrel. He's so funny and Rita's so kind. Nothing to say about the room: it was perfect so we couldn't give Dane a thing to fix! Nice hosts, nice place... Wish to have stay longer in this paradise....

Room Tip: Rosemary bedroom has a private entrance... :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Raford House is 130 years old and in very nice condition. It overlooks vineyards including owners Rita and Dane's small plot. They have 6 rooms. Our large room was Angelica with King size bed and period furniture plus a very nice private porch. They have a number of staff plus spend a lot of time with guests including a very good breakfast plus an informal wine and cheese event from 5:30 to 7 PM on the huge porch if the weather is good. Dane is excited to give a very informative lecture demonstration on grape growing all the way through to tasting his wines produced for the past 3 years. They assisted us in selecting sites to see, places to eat and wineries to visit all with complimentary tastings specifically for the Raford Inn. It was a fun and informative stay since they could not do enough to please you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Hubby and I stayed at the Raford Inn for two nights during a 10 day trip in California. We are frequent guests at Bed and Breakfast Inns in five different states and this one ranks up at the very top of all we have stayed. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfasts are heavenly and a social wine and cheese hour in the early evening is the perfect end to the day.
Dane and Rita, the Innkeepers, are so welcoming. Rita keeps the inside running smoothly and Dane keeps the vineyard around the house healthy and happy. He amazed me with his love of his grapes and I so wish I could be there for the harvest.
The Raford Inn was a perfect spot to stay while we saw and tasted as much as we could of the Sonoma Valley and was the highlight of our trip.
Big thank you to Melia, who welcomed us when we arrived, Evonne (sp?) who cooked up the delicious breakfasts and Kyle who kept the grounds beautifully tended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently returned home to the Philadelphia area after staying at the Raford Inn for four nights. Rita and Dane were wonderful hosts. We were up early and loved sitting out on the porch to watch the sun rise and the birds. (For you birders, there are two types of hummingbirds, Bullocks Orioles, Hooded Orioles and Acorn Woodpeckers. We walked up to the bridge and saw many birds there as well.) We enjoyed coffee with biscotti before a sit-down breakfast.
The breakfast was absolutely wonderful: homemade granola and yogurt, frittatas, fresh fruit, muffins, local chicken sausage, all of it perfectly prepared. Melia was a added bonus with so many recommendations of things to do and places to go. She pointed us to a shop to try honey tasting, a local chocolatier, ice cream as well as lunch and dinner ideas. We enjoyed a "happy hour" every afternoon with wine and cheese. Some local wineries offered tastings. Rita also set up a massage for me in the spa room. Make sure you ask Dane for a walk through the vineyard before you leave.
We stayed in the Rosemary Room, which we really enjoyed. It was quiet and, because there were door screens, we could open the french doors and enjoy the air.
You will not regret staying here. We could not have asked for a friendlier, more comfortable place to stay. We are already trying to figure out when we can visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It's with some sadness that I write this review on our way home to Australia, after saying farewell to Dane and Rita's wonderful hospitality and such a beautiful part of the world.

I can't imagine a better base from which to explore the scenery, wineries and restaurants of Sonoma County. The B&B concept, executed so well at the Raford Inn, lends itself perfectly to wine country. Our conversations with fellow travellers at breakfast extended to common experiences from the day before and plans for the day ahead. It was wonderful to share a house with a group of like-minded travellers.

Most impressively, the property is home to 300 or so grape vines, from which Dane makes his own wines. I say 300 or so, but got the impression from Dane's guided walk through the vineyard that he knows each vine by name. The wonder of seeing vines in various stages of development, hearing Dane explain the use of small-scale "hobbyist" wine making equipment and spending some time with a few barrels of previous vintages added so much value to my quest to learn more about wine. I hope one day to return during harvest to see everything in full swing.

Dane and Rita are wonderful hosts with a genuine sensitivity for the experience they offer their guests. The Raford Inn is a great place to call home during a visit to this vibrant but peaceful region.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaneBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews