We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We had such a hard time finding a place to stay in the Healdsburg/Sonoma area that would give us a one night stay. We got lucky that the Raford Inn had a night free. This place is really nice--we stayed in the Sage Room which is just beautiful. The room is big, and the bed is really comfortable and the bathroom is amazing--the shower has dual heads (and one is a rain showerhead). The inn keepers are very nice and talkative, and they provide a full, sit-down, served breakfast at a big table at 9:00am every morning to everyone staying at the inn. The inn isn't right in downtown Healdsburg, but it was no problem to drive in. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelsofsprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 481 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2007

My sister and I stayed one night at the Raford Inn. It is in a lovely location for wine tasting, but despite its address, it is a bit off the beaten path from Healdsburg proper (a 10-15 minute drive away).

The inn itself is beautiful and is surrounded by vineyards and gardens. It is an old Victorian-style B&B, decorated with a variety of antiques, so it has a decidedly "grandma's house" feel to it. Our room, the Rosemary Room, had a very comfortable bed but the small bathroom definitely could have used an update. I think the owners are gradually updating things at the inn, so perhaps that will come in time.

The owners are very hands-on at this inn. They socialized with the guests at both the appetizer hour and breakfast, which is a plus to some but we found it a tad bit overbearing. To be fair, the other guests seemed to enjoy it. The breakfast was very average for a B&B, nothing special.

Overall, at $160/night, we felt like Raford Inn was a very good value and we would return if price was the main consideration.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank SanFranciscoSfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

The Raford Inn is in a turn of the 20th Century farmhouse, on a hill near the Russian River. The valley below is all newly planted vineyards, while the nearby hills are forested. The Inn is very nice, with simple, antique furnishings. We stayed five nights in the Strawberry Room, downstairs and close to the the carport. We had our own private patio. The room was large, and the bathroom adequate. Our room had no view, but some of the others did. The room was clean, but not spotless. It was more like staying at a friend's house in the country than at a hotel. Every morning, I would go to the kitchen, and ask for ice from the refrigerator (for our ice chest), much like I was at a friend's house. Note, the hotel is several miles out of Healdsburg, and the road to town is quite beautiful but narrow and windy.

The inn owners, Rita and particularly Dane, were so friendly and fun that this made it one of our all-time favorite inns. Every morning all the guests gathered together for a tasty breakfast, then again in the evening for wine and appetizers, and to share our days’ adventures (mostly wine tasting, of course). Dane told us his life adventures, and he's had quite an interesting life! One evening, representatives from Limmerick Lane Winery came to the inn to let us taste their wines. One morning, a young couple we’d talked with a few times announced they had become engaged the evening before! We all gave them our hearty congratulations. It was the kind of place where you felt you were among friends, rather than just all strangers staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sea_Brze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We spent 2 nights at the Raford Inn outside of Healdsburg. It was a bit farther from the town than I initially expected, but it really didn’t matter. Being out of town, it is very peaceful and quiet. The Inn is located at the south end of the Westside road, which is where all the Russian River wineries start. Just start driving and they are everywhere! Ended up being a perfect location.

The Raford Inn is a very classic Victorian style Bed & Breakfast with a great wrap-around porch up on a hill overlooking tall palm trees and acres of vineyards (newly planted in 2007, should be beautiful in a year or two). Talking to the owners Dane & Rita, it sounds like they have done a lot of work in the past couple of years to resurrect the Inn from neglect. I think they have done a great job. The gardens all around the house are lovely. We loved sitting on the porch and enjoying the view, both in the morning before breakfast with a cup of tea and in the evening with a glass of wine.

Pictures of all the rooms are on their website to select from. We were in the Lavender Room downstairs which was nicely appointed with a good bathroom.

Breakfast was very fancy, served to all guests together at the dining table, which is a great way to find out what others are seeing and doing and to get recommendations on which wineries to try. Fresh baked cookies are available all day. They have wine and cheese set out each evening which is a nice appetizer before going out to dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoveTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

It was such a good experience to stay at this B&B, I only wish I could spend more time there. A great location, quiet with nice view. Cute rooms with a lot of charactors. Cozy dinning room with a fire place. The best of all are the inn keepers Dane and Rita. They went out of their ways to make sure we are comfortable, helped us to make restaurant reservations, be our local info guide. And the full breakfast was gourmet and served different each day. Great service, value and fun people. A true home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jane411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights including over New Year's. Extremely friendly and warm hosts with a superb, isolated, quiet and beautiful location among the vineyards. convenient to all of the Russian River wineries as well as a short drive to the coast. Hosts were very good at making recommendations and reservations for dinner, the breakfasts were great, and the room large and comfortable. We booked long enough in advance to get a special rate in the room of our choice and it was a superb deal. VERY highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

My husband and I had never been to the Sonoma area before, and had no idea where to even begin to look for hotels. I knew we wanted a B&B, so the search began. I combed through all the B&B websites, read all the reviews, and loved what I read about the Raford. The price was certainly reasonable, and the location looked very central. We looked forward to our trip.

When we first drove up and saw the Raford sitting on the hill, with sweeping views overlooking the vineyards, it looked like a postcard, or something out of a movie. It looked exquisite. We were hoping our stay would match our already high expectations, and we were not to be disappointed.

We were greeted by Rita and Dane, and the smell of fresh baked brownies (already a good trip!). Our room was one of the smallest, but it was huge for 2 people, with a full bathroom, and the comfiest bed I've slept in in a long time. The radio was set to smooth jazz, and we felt right at home. Rita gave us tips for dinner, and off we went. Upon returning from dinner, the complimentary wine, cheese, and brownies were set up, and we relaxed by the fire, and chatted with the other guests. It was very cozy, and very comfortable.

Breakfast and coffee bar the next morning were first rate. Everything was fresh and filling, and we sat around the huge dining room table, talking to the other guests and getting tips on where to go and what to do. The Raford also has a huge veranda which is perfect to sit on with a cup of coffee, and watch the new pinot cuttings being planted in the vineyard across the street.

We stayed at the Raford Inn for 3 nights, and loved every minute of it. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a very reasonably priced B&B, that is romantic, off the beaten path (yet only 6 miles from the town of Healdsburg), and is looking for something that feels like "home".

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carolyn641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
7.7 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
8.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
7.4 mi away
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raford Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10630 Wohler Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9418
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $170 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic Victorian Plantation landmark manor house, built in 1880, once presided over a huge empire of hops. Converted to an intimate country bed and breakfast in 1980 it sits upon a knoll above an unspoiled Russian River vineyard valley ringed by redwood forested mountains. Lovingly preserved it is a place of quiet beauty in the hills of Healdsburg Wine Country. Return now to a time and place that has not quite yet gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raford Inn b&b
The Raford Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing