We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Oregon
213
Reviewed August 3, 2005

We haven't been on vacation in a while and decided to try Sonoma County this time around rather than Napa and are really happy we did. Wow. So relaxing, more friendly, less traffic, less expensive. We stayed at Madrona Manor for four nights during the week and had the best time. Very friendly and accommodating, good sized room, nice furnishings and the most comfortable beds we ever slept in. Quiet and relaxing with lots of different places to hang out, front porch comfy chairs, pool, comfy chairs, garden, comfy hammock. Great martinis! We had dinner there too and were very impressed with the quality of the cuisine. We've both travelled alot all over the world and know a thing or two about great food and wine. Definitely one of the best meals we ever had. No TV's was a problem at first but we got over it and actually enjoyed catching up on reading and playing some chess in the parlor.

We highly recommend a midnight swim as the pool is heated, private, and romantic..

Overall, one of our best vacations ever.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 311 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
213
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We had our small, intimate wedding at Madrona Manor and it was perfect! We live in Chicago, so we relied heavily on the assistance of the wedding coordinator at Madrona. Marissa was an angel--the recommendations she made were wonderful and our wedding was flawless. We stayed in Suite 400 in the Carriage House for the weekend and absolutely loved it! The room has a spacious jacuzzi tub with curtains that can be drawn back so you can see the fireplace from the tub. It was so romantic. The food prepared by the chef for our wedding was delicious. We had impeccable service both during the reception and each morning at breakfast. Our guests are still thanking us for inviting them! We had such a great time that we've all agreed to visit Madrona for a long weekend next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

love the setting, but would not go back. The staff is not particularly helpful or friendly. The room decor was terrible. Old grandma kitch from a garage sale. Not a cool Victorian look that I had imagined. Cheaply done in the puble rooms. The carpet kind of stunk. Pool was okay. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daphbrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brighton, MI
315
Reviewed July 26, 2004

Recently my husband and I spent 2 days of our 25th anniversary vacation to California at the Madrona Manor. The grounds reminded me of a storybook setting, with all of the beautiful flowers and manicured yards. We stayed in the school house suites, and found the room to be everything one could hope for, and more.
Beautiful but..... as the title states, was in reference to the hospitality. The staff at check-in, as well as at breakfast, were not what one would expect at an inn of this stature. Upon check-in there was no info. given as to what is located where, and we felt very rushed. This was also true at breakfast, where one morn. we were not even offered a cup of coffee. For the price of the room one should expect far greater hospitality.
We would probably look at other establishments before returning to the Madrona Manor. We have been told there are many others where the personnel are far more "naturally" friendly.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
13
Reviewed July 14, 2004

We loved the Madrona Manor. The manor is gorgeous with well tended gardens. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The common areas in the main house were elegantly decorated with dark antiques. We stayed in the separate Carriage House and loved our room with 2 queen sized beds and fireplace. Other rooms were a little smaller. There is one suite in the Carriage House with separate sitting room and step in jacuzzi tub. There's also a separate cottage for more privacy. The food was delicious, for the most part, although one member of our party was disappointed with the dry halibut. The grounds are stunning and it was great fun to explore the extensive herb, vegetable, flower and fruit tree garden. With no air conditioning, it could be uncomfortable in the heat, but we had great weather and it really cooled down at night. You could always take a dip in the pool to get refreshed. Set in the hills away from town, Madrona Manor is a great place to relax.

The breakfast was nice with wonderful fresh baked pastries, including popovers and homemade granola. Ham and hard boiled eggs provided the protein. But each day had a different hot meal which could be purchased separately. The quiche we got one morning was delicious.

Madrona Manor is definitely worth a visit.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2004

The exterior of the mansion is beautiful. The grounds are lovely although not as expansive as I imagined they would be. We had a room on the top floor. It was nicely decorated but got extremely hot during the day, making sleeping uncomfortable at night- you definitely will not be able to use the fireplace unless you go in the dead of winter. The only method of cooling was opening the window- the staff seemed neither surprised nor concerned when I complained. I thought the breakfast was definitely below average for a property that charges over $300/night- we felt rushed to finish and the side plates of sausage were subpar and overpriced ($7 extra per person).
Overall, this is not a bad place to stay if you get a deep discount, but at regular rates I have been far happier at other properties in Wine Country.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank skinwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 12, 2006

This review suggests that the guest rooms are not air-conditioned, which is not accurate. All guest rooms at Madrona Manor are air-conditioned by a central system with individual controls in each guest room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Roseville, CA
28
Reviewed July 29, 2003

My husband and I recently spent the night at Madrona Manor for our 10th anniversary and absolutely loved it! The staff was very friendly, our room was luxurious and comfortable, and the view from our private balcony was spectacular. We ate dinner in the restaurant downstairs...can't say enough good things about it! We dined outside, which I highly recommend, because the view of the wonderful gardens provides an excellent ambiance. Our server was fantastic, and every bite of food we had was incredible! We will definitely visit Madrona Manor again and again!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.9 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
1.0 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1001 Westside Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $273 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class destination for guests seeking gracious service and luxurious accommodations in the heart of wine country. Nestled in the hills above the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County, Madrona Manor is an exceptionally lovely Victorian estate surrounded by eight acres of wooded and landscaped grounds. The Mansion, built in 1881, has been a destination for discerning guests seeking a holiday in the gracious wine country of northern California since 1981. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing