We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel and services at Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant. Very quiet and good views. I was able to enjoy good time at the heated pool and surrounded by all beautiful gardens all around. Including oranges all around. The restaurant was very, very good. Breakfast buffet style. Dinner was also impressive as tasty and for presentation. Small portions but very fulfilling. Even if you do the tasting menu, paired with the selected wines.
We even had a chance to meet with the chef and congratulate him for our delicious meal and great presentation.

Room Tip: The rooms at the carriage house located on the right side of the building have a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis-Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    57
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
25
188
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lincoln,NE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and well cared for, but the decor is lacking. It looks like you are staying in your grandma's house that hadn't been updated ever. Lack of outlets in rooms, and small sink that made getting ready a chore since there was no place to store anything. The breakfast was really well done. I did not think this property was worth what we spent on the room. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house may be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, General Manager at Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please feel free to contact me direct at kevin@madronamanor.com if you would like to further discuss your comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The property is lovely, the staff very accommodating, the dining room dinner was very tasty, and the atmosphere was romantic. Loved it completely. We can still smell the roses. Next time we will bring a bathing suit since the pool is heated and we would have enjoyed a swim. We didn't use the fitness center so cannot comment on that. Don't miss seeing the Redwood Forest which is not far by car.

Room Tip: We stayed in the schoolhouse and it was very private and we loved the private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was my second time that I have stayed at the Madrona and, like the first, the experience was wonderful. The beautiful scenery both on the grounds and in the surrounding countryside, make the stay as pleasant as can be imagined. The rooms are quiet and large enough to be very comfortable. I am coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked this trip for our 35th anniversary-2 nights on their La Victoriana package and adding an extra day. We did it far enough in advance so we could pick our room and room #204 in the main house did not disappoint. I learned later that some of the furnishing are original and it was a lovely big room with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The deck was incredible very relaxing and we even had our massages there. The breakfast was buffet style, but plenty of food for all manor occupants, and they kept refilling the offerings. The dinner with wine pairings are incredible. The service indicative of a first class restaurant. The wine pairings were wonderful, although they didn't seem to realize that we were on the package that included this. I had to mention it to the staff. After this small misunderstanding everything went perfectly. Do order the sundae its a very special experience. They even gave us a copy of the menu with all the wine pairings to take home and the menu said Happy Anniversary on it. This little details made a trip special and memorable.The other small negative comments was that one of the cushions on the deck had a rust stain and we had eaten a snack on the small table in the room and when our room was cleaned the table still had the crumbs of our snack. The fireplace is great, but we had to look for the turn on switch, some instructions posted or in the hotel information would be helpful. We would definately come back to the Manor, I think its the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbjmsol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second visit to this unique and lovely country inn. Both visits were to celebrate special occasions (as many of the guests seemed to be doing as well), and it lived up to our fond memories from our first stay several years ago. The main Victorian house has a majestic appearance and a commanding view over the Dry Creek Valley vineyards from its position atop a knoll that is surrounded by mature trees and greenery, making this a very private place. The eight-acre site also includes the Carriage House, Schoolhouse Suites, and several other small buildings distributed around the orange grove and extensive vegetable and flower gardens. The main house and Carriage House date from the late 19th century, and while the accommodations have been nicely updated with the usual amenities, they retain much of the charm (and a few of the infirmities, e.g. creaky floors) of their age. Our Carriage House suite had a fireplace, and a spacious deck with a vineyard view, and was well-appointed and very clean. The hotel staff is friendly, helpful and unobtrusive.

The restaurant at Madrona Manor deserves a special mention, as it continues to offer a very high level of cuisine with impeccable service. The menu is seasonal and offers prix fixe choices of three, four or five courses. This is not an inexpensive dining option, but very fair value for the quality, presentation, service and exceptional ambience, and a perfect choice for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Suite 503 in the Carriage House has a lovely vineyard view from the deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai-Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We took advantage of a "second night free" special and thoroughly enjoyed our three day stay. Very comfortable bedding and a tastefully appointed room combined with a tasty breakfast made for a relaxing time in the food & wine heaven of Healdsburg, California. I was allowed to pick a couple of oranges from their own grove on the beautifully landscaped grounds and enjoyed the high view across nearby vineyards recently opened up by some judicious tree removal on their hillside property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MylesStandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.9 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
10.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: 1001 Westside Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class destination for guests seeking gracious service and luxurious accommodations in the heart of wine country. Nestled in the hills above the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County, Madrona Manor is an exceptionally lovely Victorian estate surrounded by eight acres of wooded and landscaped grounds. The Mansion, built in 1881, has been a destination for discerning guests seeking a holiday in the gracious wine country of northern California since 1981. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing