We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Madrona Manor for two nights for my birthday celebration and ate at the restaurant on the second night. We had one of the front master bedrooms in the Mansion. The balcony had a beautiful view overlooking Dry Creek Valley and was outfitted with comfortable chairs and an umbrella.

The room was large and worked better for us than B&B/inn rooms often do -- we had room for all our luggage and there was a small desk for working on a laptop. The bed was very comfortable. The day we arrived it was cold and raining (very strange for the end of June!) and the fireplace gave the room a cosy feel.

Breakfast was good, and dinner in the restaurant was excellent. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed strolling in them. Overall, this was one of our more successful stays at a B&B/inn.

One negative -- there is no refrigerator in the room or for guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octeckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    57
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
25
188
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Already gave Madrona Manor a glowing review two years ago when we first stayed there, but felt it was time to update our initial impressions. Since that first visit, we've stayed at Madrona Manor about three times and eaten there about five times, and it's always been an incredible experience. So much so that when we decided to get married this July at a local winery, we chose Madrona Manor for our wedding dinner, hoping to treat our family and friends to a truly memorable event. And thanks to their wonderful staff and terrific chef, I think we did. We started with cocktails and appetizers in the garden and then moved on to the beautiful Amber Room for the rest of the meal, which we topped off with their special ice-cream sundaes in lieu of wedding cake. Service was flawless, the food even better than we had remembered, and the atmosphere was magical. About 10 of us stayed there overnight and we all loved our rooms (my husband and I had a second-floor room in the mansion with a sweeping view of the valley--just perfect). I highly recommend Madrona Manor for a special event--their extremely helpful staff will make it very easy for you and I am sure that your guests will be as pleased as ours were.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belllemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Absolutely incredible customer touch with Champagne in our room on my birthday along with a birthday greeting! How special is that and who takes the time to add that warm touch? That was a wonderful and almost certain to guarantee return trips....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marelise22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I had very high expectations for this hotel. It was among the most expensive in the area. When I walked in, the bathroom was dated and looked more like a Holiday Inn Express. I stayed at a Hampton Inn and it had more amenities than this place at a fraction of the price. There was no coffee maker nor refrigerator in the room. The place seemed dated and I couldn't understand why they would charge $300+ for a stay here. I was completely underwhelmed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morsel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starsparkles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

The third inn of our visit to the area and hit the right notes, although not my taste in decor. This is a private location-- in the winery area, not downtown, so you will need a car (or a bike). What we liked was the feel of being in a small hotel, not having to hear traffic, and just enjoying the sounds of nature by the pool (unexpected warm spell).

Most important to us was that there was someone around if you needed someone. It was not a pretend corporate "inn" run by anonymous "management" several hundred miles away, but rather a special place that clearly there is pride of ownership in.

I would recommend this as the perfect compromise between a hotel and a B&B. It is private and professional. Probably better for a warm weather stay or a cozy weekend. So convenient to the best of this part of the wine country- you are on the wine road, but tucked all the way back on an estate...Geyserville is a short, pretty drive away, but downtown is not far if you want to pop in for lunch or coffee.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starsparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

My boyfriend and friends had the greatest and most relaxing experience at The Madrona Manor.
First of all, everyone could not be more happy with their rooms.
We stayed at The School House. Very romantic and a sure way to feel like you are in your own fantasy country house!
The other couple had a room in the Carriage house and our friend stayed in the mansion. Each unique, and fit to all of our standards.

The beds and linens were also very impressive, so impressive I called when I got back to get the information to buy them! (and was told I wasn't the first one)

The garden was picturesque and loved the fact that the restaurant uses it for their menu. Which, by the way, is a Michelin star. So you know that heirloom tomato that you saw that afternoon might be on your plate that evening.

The pool was definitely a plus for afternoon relaxing...and pool side service for wine and cocktails is a plus.

The breakfast was lovely, but being the early risers that we are, just having coffee (that's available before service), and sitting on the front porch, with the east sun coming in over the vineyards was just breathtaking.

We had dinner at the restaurant and I will have to say, it was the best meal of my life. No exaggeration.
I have experienced many top restaurants in my life, but this takes the prize!

We had the 7 course dinner and it was a true gastronomical experience.
From the around the world cheese plate, to the ice cream made table side (with liquid nitrogen), to the coffee presentation, it was all very impressive and presented by an incredibly passionate, knowledgeable staff. We were all very impressed with the service.
It was just PERFECT. I would not have changed a thing!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geegeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

This is a true Pride of Ownership property-grounds are beautiful and front desk extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick402016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.9 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
10.3 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: 1001 Westside Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world-class destination for guests seeking gracious service and luxurious accommodations in the heart of wine country. Nestled in the hills above the Dry Creek Valley of Sonoma County, Madrona Manor is an exceptionally lovely Victorian estate surrounded by eight acres of wooded and landscaped grounds. The Mansion, built in 1881, has been a destination for discerning guests seeking a holiday in the gracious wine country of northern California since 1981. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing