We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but Pricey!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Healdsburg Inn on the Plaza is a unique combination of bed and breakfast and small inn. When you arrive you are given a key to the front door of the hotel because the desk is not manned after 8 PM and the front door is locked. Cookies are on the front counter for guests to sample, sodas are free in the refrigerator on the 2nd floor landing. Books and videos are also available in a mini library section of the landing. Coffee and a variety of teas and hot chocoloate were also free. Wine and hors d'oeuvres are available every late afternoon with a representative of the winery there to answer any questions. Breakfast is included in a bright sun room that has a fireplace for winter days.

Our room had a fireplace with marble surround (it was 100 degrees outside) but the air conditioning and ceiling fan worked great. The ceiling of the room was two stories high with a set of translucent windows on one wall that stretched to the ceiling and were covered in filmy white curtains. This was awesome! The room itself was not large, but it had a small hallway that led to a side porch that ran the width of the building that had chairs and tables set up. This was great for sitting with morning coffee before going to breakfast. The bathroom had French doors with curtains between it and the bedroom. Stall shower in glass and gold trim and claw-foot bathtub took up most of the space. This didn't leave much room for a vanity area and there was not one - just a pedestal sink and some shelves, along with a small (8" square top) table. However - it had atmosphere and felt comfy. Terry bathrobes were also available.

The noise level inside left something to be desired. Because it is an older building, there is virtually no soundproofing. Every door closed and every latch locked could be heard. Also, we could hear the occupants of the room next door speaking and anyone who was in the hallway as well.

The included hot breakfast was not up to par. There was an asparagus quiche that was just egg and asparagus - a lot of asparagus - and lukewarm. The hash browns were white - no color or crispness to them. Fresh watermelon slices, peanut butter and mandarin orange slices from a can, mini rolls and bread, granola and oatmeal finished off the spread. A bananas Foster kind of sauce was the sweet. Orange juice (not freshly squeezed) and great coffee, tea, etc. were also available.

The location - right on the plaza - is excellent for exploring Healdsburg and the surrounding locations. The wine tasting was very nice and the people who staff the Inn were very gracious. However, the breakfast was a disappointment. I'm sure that it was just the luck of the draw for the menu that day. The Inn is part of the Four Sisters Inns and it is elegant and relaxed. We just stayed one night because of our travel plans - and it was a splurge. It would be an expensive proposition to make it a base for traveling in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitanaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 302 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

Just spend 2 nights here at the end of APril in room 8. It had a back door balcony that we shared with 2 other rooms. Not a special view, as it overlooked the parking lot, but they did have some shady trees and it felt nice to have the option to step outside for fresh air. Our friends stayed across the hall in room 5 (also on the 2nd floor, but with a picture window of the plaza). Can't say that I would reccomend that for the extra money. I adored the claw footed tub (I felt like Merly Streep in Bridges of Madison County, but that could have also been due to all the wine tastings!) One afternoon, a rep from Kendall Jackson set up the wine tasting with some very nice bottles (ave price $25-75). That was a bonus. Breakfasts are superb, much better than the sister hotel in Yountville.

The location is ideal, right on the plaza among the boutiques and tasting rooms. Hotel Healdsburg looked very trendy and hip, but carried the attitude that so often accompies hotels of this nature. We had one of the most amazing dinners of my life at Cyrus. Service was impeccable and the food was so perfectly prepared and thoughtfully arranged. incredible experience. We even saw a couple get engaged at the table next to us. How's that for good karma?

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TakeMeAwayNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

This was our fifth or sixth Four Sisters stay, having been in Seattle, Sonoma, Yountville, Dana Point in Four Sisters inns already. They are consistent and excellent inns with generally good service and excellent accommodations. The staff is occasionally a bit clueless or non-English speaking but the inns provide a comfortable stay regardless. This particular inn was especially well-run.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

The Healdsburg Inn on the Plaza is now at the top of my list of "favorite places to stay!" The Inn is located on the plaza in Healdsburg, which overlooks a beautiful and well-maintained park-like area. There are several community-sponsored activities held in the plaza area throughout the year, so be sure and check in with the innkeeper for updated information.
Healdsburg offers quaint, speciality shops, excellent restaurants, and quality wine tasting in smaller, more personal settings than are usually found in Napa Valley or Sonoma.
The Inn itself is absolutely precious! Spacious, tastefully decorated bedrooms, lovely bathrooms (ours had a claw-footed tub) with fireplaces. We stayed in one of the rooms which overlooks the plaza, which provided a lovely view.
The breakfast served each morning was delicious! Fresh fruit, granola, breads, and muffins -- as well as "home-cooked" selections such as a mouthwatering frittata, a warm and delicious potato casserole, and a tasty egg, bacon and sausage medley.
The innkeepers were warm, friendly, and accomodating -- they even provided a map and recommendations regarding wineries and wine tasting which are "favorites" of the local population.
An exquisite inn, excellent food (and wine) and impecable service. I am looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dachshundsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We have stayed here several times. Great location right on the town square. The rooms are very nice and the staff is very friendly. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We were very excited about our stay at Healdsburg Inn, but left very disappointed for the following reasons:
- our reservation was downgraded to an inferior room, without informing us. We had a firm reservation and cannot understand why this should ever happen at any hotel
- all the tables were full at breakfast on both mornings
- several things were not working in our room (light, kettle, and very noisy air-con so that we couldn't use it)
- there was no reception cover, and no out-of-hours contact number to address these issues after 8pm
- when we raised the above issues, we felt the response we got to address them was inadequate (for example, offering the 2nd night half price, when we had already secured this in our initial booking). In the end we were offered $50 off the final bill, but we would have been far happier with small token gestures to show they were sincerely sorry for the inconvenience we were caused.

In summary, this place is marketed as a high-end boutique hotel and as such, our expectations were high. Instead, we felt it was impersonal with poor attention to detail. We understand mistakes can happen, and strongly believe the way they are subsequently handled can fully recover a situation. However, in this instance the hotel failed to do that and left us disappointed time and again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsPSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Because we wanted to visit wine country without doing any driving, we decided a stay in Healdsburg would be perfect: There are numerous winery tasting rooms and plenty of good restaurants in walking distance. We chose the Healdsburg Inn for its central location and were so happy that we did! The sleeping rooms have many luxurious touches--and are very comfortable without being ostentatious. The full breakfasts are delicious, and the home-made cookies irresistable! All the staff are friendly and helpful. A "plus" we weren't expecting: A Scrabble Game available in the sitting/dining room that we enjoyed playing one rainy morning! The complimentary soft drinks and video library are other touches we enjoyed. We definitely recommend the Healdsburg Inn for anyone that wants a "car-free" get-away and luxurious comfort!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanFranFoodie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 112 Matheson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $230 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This California inn has the best location in town, right on the Healdsburg Plaza. As the newest Four Sisters Inn, guests will find a blend of wine country warmth and Umbrian chic. The 12 fully remodeled and spacious rooms feature fireplaces, bay windows or balconies, and many feature a jetted spa tub. The streamlined decor features hues of greens, blues and yellows, and takes advantage of the wealth of natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healdsburg Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Healdsburg
Healdsburg Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing