We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked a "Deluxe King" for four nights. $400 per night. Our adult son visited beforehand and recommended it. Three adults were to share a King and a day bed. On arrival the room was set up for two. We had to request extra towels, etc. IT was hot weather and the bed was made with a cover sheet and heavy down duvet -- one was too light and the other far too heavy -- we asked to have it remade with a light cotton blanket.. We asked to have it remade. On return that evening, no ice available. They have a miniature icemaker that cannot meet the hotel's needs. Next morning the breakfast buffet was exhausted -- no eggs left, no juice etc. at 9:15 a.m. Had to ask for things.

The room did not even have an armchair to sit in. The bathroom door was glass with a sheer curtain (c'mon guys!) There was no place to hang clothes or a robe in the bathroom. The room had one small window -- but lots of construction noise starting at 7:15 a.m. sharp.

For this price I would expect a bellman (nope!), free parking (nope!) and valet service (nope!) -- and no pool or exercise facility. The last straw was returning back late at night to find some other guest parked in our "reserved" spot that we paid for. Staff had assigned the same place to two guests.

When we complained, the staff responded -- but at this price range we should have been CARED for. The authoritarian wording of the hotel's web site and 7-day advance notice for cancellations says it all. There are far better options in Healdsburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Four Sisters Inns at Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. We strive to ensure that each of our guest's stay is enjoyable, and are most dismayed to learn that was not the case.

Although our beds are made up with a lovely duvet cover, some guests prefer a simple sheet and blanket; we are happy to change them when requested. Our ice maker, though not that of a large hotel, does normally accommodate all of our guests’ needs. We do have extra bags of ice in our freezer, and one of our staff members is always happy to deliver ice to your room. I apologize that this was not made clear to you.

I am also sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your needs. It tends to be very popular and periodically many guests can arrive at once, and the service is somewhat slower. I am just so sorry that this was your experience.

With our smaller historic building, our rooms are designed primarily for double occupancy and when accommodating a third person, the sitting area is diminished. We are always happy to provide extra chairs.

Our neighbors are currently building a new restaurant next door, as well as a small park, which is soon to be completed. We are so glad that you notified our staff of their early start time. We alerted the owner, who has taken necessary measures to ensure that their crew does not start that early again. Unfortunately, since they are a separate organization, we have no direct control over those things, but other they try to be sensitive to our guests’ needs.

We do provide bellman service during check-in time from 3pm-8pm, and I am sorry that somehow you were unaware of that. Free parking is always available on the Plaza surrounding the Inn, which is the closest location for our guests to load and unload their bags and easily access their vehicles. Reserved parking in a shared parking lot is available behind the Inn for an additional cost. It is very unfortunate that another guest decided to park in your reserved space, something which rarely occurs.

We appreciate your comments, as we are always looking for ways to improve our service and I hope you find the letter that we sent to you personally via mail acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    92
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
205
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary in Healdsburg this past weekend and stayed at the lovely Healdsburg Inn. Everything, from check-in to check-out was handled with expertise and in a non-obtrusive manner. They were even kind enough to place 2 "Happy Anniversary" balloons in the room. Our room (overlooking the plaza) was very nicely appointed and roomy (we believe the ceilings are at least 15 ft. high, which helps to make the space feel larger). The bathroom was very nice as well (including a large jacuzzi tub and a separate shower). The tasty buffet breakfast offered us several different options (from homemade granola to 2 different types of fritattas, plenty of fresh fruit, juices, homemade scones, etc.). The only thing I wish could have been different is that we could have spent more nights there! If you're looking for a warm and comfortable place to stay while in Sonoma wine country, we would highly recommend this as an option.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room with a bay window that faced the town plaza. Most stores, etc. close up ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our first time to Healdsburg and staying in a Four Sisters Inn. I wanted to splurg on something special since this was also our first time touring the wine area. We felt welcome immediately entering the INN. Check in was efficient, and even though we were early we were able to get into our room. Our room was small, with a small balcony facing the back of another business. Nothing special to look at but it was quiet. The room was nicely decorated and had all the basic essentials one would need. The mattress could have been a bit more luxurious, such as pillow top. The bathroom products were awesome and found the BeeKind website so I can purchase some for home. The evening beverage hour was small in offerings, but enough since there are so many resturants to try. The breakfast we arrived towards the end and many items they were out of and not replacing, a little disappointing the but chance one takes arriving at the end of the service time. We happened to stay on a Tuesday night, which through the summer months live bands play within the square. Many locals will start holding their favorite spot starting at 12noon. In the evening as the time gets closer to the band starting people bring coolers, tables, chairs etc to set up their space. It was as if everyone couldn't wait to start enjoying themselves. The atmosphere was laid back, people were drinking their wine, snacking and basically totally enjoying themselves and those around them. We would love to visit this town and area again someday and would recommend the Healdsburg Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doubrava1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

First, Sonoma beats Napa hands down for charm, fewer crowds and arguably better wine. The Inn is tucked away in the middle of the Healdsburg plaza and is a real gem. The whole place feels charming and relaxing the minute you walk in. There are less than 15 rooms, and guests are usually there as couples (few to no kids). The sunroom is wonderful to sit in and read/relax rather than stay cooped up in your room. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty (it's a full breakfast, no Costco muffins in sight)
You can't beat the location either. You can walk to dozens of fantastic restaurants, shops and even a local grocery store.
O yeah, and the wineries are all close by as well

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Healdsburg Inn during our recent trip to Sonoma wine country and simply had a marvelous experience. The room was emaculate, tastefully decorated, and provided a wonderful haven after a long day of wine tasting. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful in providing dining options. Furthermore, the hotel is conveniently located right on the plaza, thus providing a casual walk to some outstanding nearby restaurants: Scopa's, Zin, Bistro Ralph's, and Dry Creek Kitchen. Finally, the complimentary breakfast served in a beautiful, sun-drenched room provides a great start to the day. We would, without reservation, recommend the Healdsburg Inn to anyone planning a trip to Russian River, Alexander, or Dry Creek Valleys.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the plaza. It provides great views (especially for the Healdsburg Tuesday night c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicagolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Inn is located right on the town square, with easy access to shopping, restaurants, and almost two dozen tasting rooms for local wineries. We stayed in one of the "Queen" rooms - not exactly spacious but big enough. The Inn offers a breakfast but it isn't particularly noteworthy; a slight upgrade (mainly in presentation) from what you'd get at a Hampton Inn. The breakfast area is nice but too small - we had to wait 10 minutes for a table to clear. No dinner available. Parking is NOT included ($10/night).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms are actually prettier than they appear in the photograph. The inn has a lovely large sunroom in which they serve breakfast and wine and cheese in the late afternoon. It is a nice spot for friends to meet or for guests to linger with morning paper.

Rooms 3,4,5,6 face the square and are more noisy than other rooms. They are also smaller.We stayed in room 4. We noticed the noise but it became quiet by about 10 pm and we did not notice the noise again until around 6:30 in the morning. Friends were staying in rooms 7 & 9. Both of these rooms face the back and are quieter and have balconies with sitting space.

We would definitely stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shongaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 112 Matheson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This California inn has the best location in town, right on the Healdsburg Plaza. As the newest Four Sisters Inn, guests will find a blend of wine country warmth and Umbrian chic. The 12 fully remodeled and spacious rooms feature fireplaces, bay windows or balconies, and many feature a jetted spa tub. The streamlined decor features hues of greens, blues and yellows, and takes advantage of the wealth of natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Healdsburg Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healdsburg Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Healdsburg
Healdsburg Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing