We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Little Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Ranked #9 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Charming Little Inn”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

In a charming little town this is a charming little inn operated by a husband and wife team. The husband was very accommodating and an excellent chef. The place was clean and well- maintained. Located close to the center Healdsburg, I would heartily recommend the Haydon Street Inn.

Room Tip: The cottage is very spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    66
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
266
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just got back from a night at Haydon Street Inn. The Inn is lovely, but I found interactions of one of the Innkeepers, Keren, strained, and I wondered if it was "just us". I've been reading these review, and see we are in no way alone.

1) sitting on porch, waiting to check in. Lady walks up to the porch from the street, we greet her with a friendly hello, not knowing if she's the Innkeeper or a guest. She ignores us. Really - does not say hello, just looks at us strangely and opens the door (this was at about 5 until 4, and check in is at 4). Finally, one of our friends says "are you checking in too? and she replied "What??". Friend repeated the question (trying to be friendly). Innkeeper (Keren) replies in a brusque manner "'I OWN this place". A friendly greeting really wouldn't have been that hard, would it?

2) Met John while we were having wine on the front porch - very friendly and easy to talk to. Wine was nice, but the portions were soo judiciously metered out by Keren it felt a little odd. At the end of the lovely wine hour, I say thank you and put down my glass, when Keren informs all of us we all must take our own glasses to the kitchen. Of course, why didn't I think of that? At nearly $300/night, I wouldn't expect our hosts to clear our dishes, would I?

3) Also, while on the porch, Keren tells us, that despite what she told us on the phone, she would not honor the Bed and Breakfast.com certificate because of a technicality "it's only accepted if you book online". Well, you can't book online, the website says you have to call, which we did, and she said she'd accept it, then changed the story. We didn't want to make a scene over it, and let it go.

4) BEAUTIFUL AND DELICIOUS breakfast made by John, who genuinely kind and happy we are at the Inn. One of our friends nicely asks Keren if there was any decaf coffee and Keren tells him no, we asked you yesterday if you had any special requests and you did not request decaf". John jumped in and said no problem it will take just a second and I'd be happy to make a pot.

5) My friend left the downstairs bathroom, and forgot to turn off the light. Keren virtually stomped over to the bathroom and made a show out of turning off the light. It was pretty surprising.

All that said... the place IS beautiful, the food is delicious, the bedding is comfortable, but Keren just doesn't seem comfortable in her role. I'm thinking she's not a very happy person, and for that I feel sorry for her. It's a very tough job running a bed and breakfast, and I think maybe she got into something she doesn't really enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vickie1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Haydon Street Inn last week. We stayed in the Turret Room (highly recommended) which was spacious, private, and had one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in for a while (great pillows, too). Three rafter windows allowed a cool breeze to circulate all night long -- Heaven! Breakfast the next morning was incredible -- eggs benedict, home fries, fresh fruit smoothie shooters, fruit parfaits. Worth the price for the breakfast alone! The lovely outdoor patio is a perfect spot for the evening wine hour -- cool, green, and shady. Nice quiet neighborhood, and within walking distance of Healdsburg Square. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor32810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at this B&B booked thorugh our cycle touring company, LifeCycle Adventures, on a cycling trip through Sonoma wine country. We stayed in the Rose Room in the front of the inn, which is beautifully furnished (some of the antiques are most unsual and all chosen with a gifted aesthetic eye) and luxuriously comfortable, including a large Jacuzzi tub and a "rain shower" head, plus hand-held shower. As noted in other reviews, John is the former head chef at Churchill Downs and clearly enjoys what he does. He is a master with fruit, in particular, much of which comes from their own garden and trees. Glazed walnuts from their tree were available at all times, as were chocolates. Guests have use of a refrigerator in the kitchen, as well as one in the room (don't know about all rooms). Wine evenings with hors d'oevres were a bonus. One night we met two interesting couples with travel stories to share and two other evenings we took our treats back to our room or sat on the porch in wicker rockers watching the birds in the roses and enjoying the sunset. The patio is also a lovely and peaceful place, so there is plenty of room for different parties to spread out if that is their desire (in addition to two sitting rooms in the main part of the inn.) We got useful advice on cycling routes from both John and Keren, but neither were intrusive in any way. They seemed to respond to different guests and their different styles and desires appropriately, which takes some interpersonal skill. I would encourage guests anticipating stays in B&Bs to remember that they ARE in someone's house and not to treat the inn-keepers as servants or customer service reps; the "colleagueship and cooperation" is the whole point of a B&B. Guests who are looking for 24-7 "anything you want" attention should be staying in a high-end hotel, not an inn, and inconsiderate behavior is wrong in any setting. Healdsburg Square with many restaurants, tasting rooms, boutiques, etc. is a few blocks away and the walk is very pleasant (quiet residential streets.) We could not have been happier with our stay.
NOTE: re breakfast at 9: because this is chef-prepared breakfast, it is served at one time for all guests. However, there is an option for having something put aside for earlier or later, if requested in advance. We found eating with other guests a pleasant experience and the food deliciously prepared. This is not unusual for B&Bs in my experience; guests who want a buffet service should stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Optimysticynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I had an excellent stay at the Haydon Street Inn. It is within walking distance to the Healdsburg Square, but in a residential neighborhood so it is pretty quiet area. The innkeepers were very kind and gave great recommendations of wineries and hiking for day and restaurants for night. The 3 course breakfasts are delicious and they have nightly wine tasting with hors d'oeuvres.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Innkeepers John & Keren draw from the richness of their own life experiences to collaborate and create the ideal B&B atmosphere for Healdsburg visitors.
Breakfasts feel like a 4-star experience - as one would expect from a seasoned chef like John. By contrast, nightly 'wine hour' is reminiscent of a casual gathering among friends including tasty appetizers and a variety of Sonoma County wines.
Accomodations are very clean and beds are comfy. Most rooms have ensuite bathrooms.
Location is in a quiet neighborhood - 4 blocks from the vibrant Healdsburg Square cene but the short walk provides a glimpse into yards lush with aromatic flora and citrus bearing trees. Also a handy 4 blocks from the Wine County Bike tour company which also rent bikes for the day.
It appears that John and Keren have successfully found a way to harness the vibrant energy of Sonoma County and fashion it into an ideal location for guests to enjoy the bounty of the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PashminaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at the Haydon B&B. The inn keepers were great, room was perfect, happy hour was wonderful (best pizza and wine) and the breakfast each morning was amazing. We walked to town everyday. We had several friends that stayed elsewhere but we seemed to be the most pleased with our pick.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Plum Room and it was perfect. No TV which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Ward_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
1.0 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#5 of 15 in Healdsburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haydon Street Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haydon Street Inn B & B

Property: Haydon Street Inn B & B
Address: 321 Haydon St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haydon Street Inn B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast located in the heart of Sonoma County wine country, and walking distance (two blocks south) of the idyllic town square of Healdsburg. We are on tree-shaded street with beautiful gardens. All guest rooms have private baths and AC. All king rooms have whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and small refrigerators. The room rate includes a delicious three-course breakfast, and a wine hour each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haydon Street Inn B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing