We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly, helpful, and a great location!”
Review of Camellia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camellia Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at The Camellia Inn. Everyone was very helpful with information on wineries, tours, day trip to the coast, dinner reservations - anything. The room was lovely, breakfast wonderful and the location perfect for walking to restaurants and in town tasting rooms. We had reservations for two nights and extended to three after the first night. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RandJofSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Camellia Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 265 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2009

there are not enough wonderful things to say about our stay here. we were going to stay a few days, but then extended our stay to a week because the bed and breakfast so nice, the food was wonderful, and the owner lucy and managers ann and others were so kind and helpful each day helping us make plans for our activities. we had never been to healdsburg and enjoyed the town which is just a few blocks from the camellia inn. we visited wineries, a redwood forest, drove up the coast to mendocino, and drove to napa one day. we stayed at the camellia inn after we read other reviews in trip advisor. we were not disappointed. our stay was better that we even could have imagined. i travel frequently and always consult tripadvisor, but have never before been so impressed by someplace that i have written a review until now. i would definitely recommend the camellia inn, and will look forward to staying there again as soon as i can.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We stayed at the Camellia Inn for three nights just before Thanksgiving 2008. The room was very well appointed with a comfortable queen size four poster bed, tiled shower and ample storage for our clothes. The room also had a gas fireplace which we used to heat up the room since it was about 50 degrees at night! It worked very well and added ambience. The rest of the house was elegantly decorated but not overdone as many Victorian B&Bs can tend to be. The living/front rooms were open for guests and were used in the evening wine and cheese tastings. There was a TV room downstairs but no TVs in the rooms (which we prefer). We were able to park our rented tandem bike in the garage and there was plenty of off-street parking for guests' cars. The pool looked lovely although it was closed for the season in November. The service was outstanding. Lucy asked every guest what their plans were for the evening and the next day and promptly suggested and arranged dining reservations, tasting reservations, etc. She even knew which restaurants had the best hamburgers in town and who was open on a Monday night for dinner. We had many questions and concerns about driving directions, hours of operation, and practical matters and Lucy always had an answer or a solution. The service, in a word, was outstanding. The morning breakfast buffet was very well balanced. There was fresh bread for toast, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, cereals, coffee, and tea. Every day there was a new smoothie and a freshly made and delicious breakfast entree. We enjoyed almond croissants with huevos rancheros one morning. There was something to satisfy every taste and appetite and lighter healthier options as well.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingboobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Wonderful atmosphere, great inn keepers, enjoyed the wine! A refreshing change from hotel rooms. Try to get there for a Wednesday night and experience being "covered in chocolate". Good company around the breakfast table and good food too!

Stayed: November 2008
Thank threefold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed at the Camellia Inn last week and enjoyed it thoroughly. It is not located between two restaurants as Mandarina indicated. The breakfasts were wonderful and the innkeepers were very accommodating. Our room was very nice and included a separate bath, unlike other B&Bs that fit the bath, sink, and shower into the room in the strangest ways.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lanne625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We don't usually write reviews but the people there were so nice. As a special act when we got back home we realized we had left a hat and phone charger. I emailed Lucy at the Inn and she promptly replied that they had already mailed the items to us. Thanks. We will echo the other good reviews as to the nice breakfast (served until a civilized 10:00am) and the 5:00pm wine and cheese gathering by the pool where you meet some nice people. Also while we are not wine experts the small wineries in northern Sonoma County were very nice without the high pressure of some Nappa wineries.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gregIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We recently stayed at the Camellia Inn in the town of Healdsburg. It is centrally located within walking distance of great shops and wonderful restaurants. The best was we did not have to do any driving when going to dinner.
The Inn itself is quaint not a four star but clean and comfortable and the staff is wonderful. We met an interesting group of people around the pool during the evening wine hour so breakfast the next morning was a lively affair as we shared where we ate dinner and what wineries to visit that day. Breakfast was good homecooked fare that everyone enjoyed, nothing gourmet but tasty.
The neighborhood is dotted with abandoned homes so it is a bit eclectic, but a wonderful restaurant, Zin, is just up the street that worked for us.
All in all a good place to stay,

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msbgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $287 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camellia Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO BOOK DIRECTLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camellia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing