We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello Healdsburg”
Review of Camellia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camellia Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were last minute guests and were most warmly accommodated. Wonderful house, fantastically located blocks from the center of town. Our room was very comfortable without being overdone. My wife returned to the Camelia Inn several weeks later for a solo weekend and Lucy graciously helped with the transport to and from the airport. The breakfasts are an abundant feast and the snacks and wine in the afternoon are such a generous offering. We recommend this Inn to anyone looking for more than just a room in a hotel.

Room Tip: On My wife's solo return she requested a room with a tub and said it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stowlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This gem puts you in the heart of wine country. The town of Healdsburg is wonderful, with tasting rooms, foodie fanatic restaurants, and very welcoming people. This is the second time we've stayed at the Camellia and it has exceeded our expectations again. Lucy, the innkeeper, is knowledgeable, friendly and fun. The rooms are neat and clean, and the breakfast is very tasty. We especially like the smoothie of the day. While you're close to the 'action' of town, we also enjoy the serene evening quiet that the Camellia offers by way of several outside seating areas, designed to tuck you away in peace to read and sip from the days best wine find.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brei577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My mother, husband and I recently stayed in the family suite, and we loved the inn!

Lucy Lewand and the entire staff were friendly and thoroughly accommodating. We really appreciated how conscientious they were to provide vegan food options.

The building itself is cozy and filled with old-time charm.

It's located just a 5 minute walk or so to downtown, in a very sweet neighborhood.

I have to highlight how fantastic the outer sink area of the bathroom in our room was--so light and spacious, and allows access to the 2 sinks even if someone is showering or using the toilet.

The 2 bedroom set up of the family suite also does allow for complete privacy between the two bedrooms (although you do have to walk through one of the bedrooms to exit--but luckily this is not the case when using the bathroom!).

There was no fridge in the suite, but they do have a communal fridge downstairs.

Also, we didn't bring our dog, but we spoke with another lady staying at the inn who had brought her little dog and commented how dog-friendly Healdsburg is, which is a definitely plus!

Really, the only changes that would be nice to see is if they were able to upgrade their lovely pool to a non-chlorinated, saline pool, as well as offer an alternative to wireless internet since many people are concerned about the possible negative health affects they impose.

On our next trip canoeing the Russian River, we'd certainly love to stay at the Camellia Inn again.

Thanks, Lucy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Online_Ms_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Camellia Inn is one of the best B and Bs we've ever stayed at...from the moment we walked in we felt comfortable and at home. Beautiful Victorian house has everything needed for a pleasant night's stay. Our room was big, comfortable, and well stocked. The location is perfect for walking to town for shopping or restaurants...don't miss the wine/cheese hour and delicious breakfast by Lucy, the owner. iPads come with the rooms, the softest sheets you'll ever sleep on...just loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davismamawolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived after check-in on a Sunday for two nights. Nice to have parking behind the Inn and a lit staircase to come into the house. We stayed in the budget/demitasse room. While it was very cozy for two, it was lovely and since we only had 2 small bags they fit in the closet on luggage rack. There's little to no floor room for bags. The stuffed reading chair is a nice touch. Also appreciated the ipad! The private bath across the hall is spacious with a good shower. Looks to be a lot of original fixtures. (This is a beautiful, old house!) The double bed was very comfortable with luxurious sheets and bedding.

Breakfast was delicious. I'd forgotten to tell Lucy ahead of time that I don't eat dairy. She had many dairy free and even some gluten free options already out and she whipped me up my own eggs. The nest morning she made a dairy free vegetable frittata that was out of this world good. All the other foods were yummy...cereals, breads, granola, yogurt, fruit salad, and smoothies. The entrees came with homemade scones and sticky buns.

Lucy and her husband were friendly, helpful and attentive. Lucy went out of her way to accommodate us with food, tips and directions. We didn't attend the nightly wine and cheese but it looked like a great spread. In better weather we would have enjoyed the porch, garden and patio by the koi pond. The pool looked nice too. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and can recommend a stay here. Then get back out into the hills!

Tips...walk almost 2 miles through the neighborhood to Wine Country Bikes so you can bike out of town on country roads (e.g., West Dry Creek Road) and into the vineyards and wineries. Bring a picnic for the cargo bags on the bike. Visit Rebecca at Hudson Street Wineries behind the bike rental for a tasting and to pick up a bottle for your picnic.

Room Tip: Cozy, lovely budget room has some morning noise from the street and neighboring houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while touring surrounding wineries. Lucy was a fantastic host and served a fantastic breakfast. Each room was unique with a complimentary ipad a great wi if connections. The house was very clean and the pool very refreshing with wine and cheese offered in the evening. Our first bed and breakfast stay and much better than any hotel. The inn is close to town for an easy walk to great restaurants in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batman3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I don't generally frequent B&Bs, but I really loved this place. Our room (Caprice) was nicely appointed, and included a whirlpool tub (which was great after days of walking!). The iPad was a nice touch, even though we had our own. The inn is within walking distance to the main plaza of shops, restaurants and tasting rooms. Lucy, the innkeeper, does a fantastic job of assisting you while also giving you space. I enjoyed both breakfasts very much: eggs with a variety of toppings, vegetable frittata, smoothies, scones, plus the usual fare of cereals, yogurt, granola, etc. There were gluten free choices and I got the sense that they could accommodate a variety of dietary needs. We also enjoyed wine & cheese in the parlor, and cookies in the afternoon. Lucy booked a restaurant reservation for us, and gave us winery suggestions (along with a map and passes for tastings at a host of wineries). The bed was quite comfortable and the night quiet. The main house is really neat, full of old treasures to look at. We enjoyed chatting with a couple from back east during one visit. Unfortunately weather is out of the innkeeper's control and it rained during our entire 3 days in Healdsburg. I loved the inn and the area so much that I can't wait to return under sunnier conditions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madrona Manor Wine Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $286 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camellia Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO BOOK DIRECTLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camellia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing