We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never wanted to leave”
Review of Camellia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camellia Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Davis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Never wanted to leave”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Camellia Inn is one of the best B and Bs we've ever stayed at...from the moment we walked in we felt comfortable and at home. Beautiful Victorian house has everything needed for a pleasant night's stay. Our room was big, comfortable, and well stocked. The location is perfect for walking to town for shopping or restaurants...don't miss the wine/cheese hour and delicious breakfast by Lucy, the owner. iPads come with the rooms, the softest sheets you'll ever sleep on...just loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davismamawolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
176
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived after check-in on a Sunday for two nights. Nice to have parking behind the Inn and a lit staircase to come into the house. We stayed in the budget/demitasse room. While it was very cozy for two, it was lovely and since we only had 2 small bags they fit in the closet on luggage rack. There's little to no floor room for bags. The stuffed reading chair is a nice touch. Also appreciated the ipad! The private bath across the hall is spacious with a good shower. Looks to be a lot of original fixtures. (This is a beautiful, old house!) The double bed was very comfortable with luxurious sheets and bedding.

Breakfast was delicious. I'd forgotten to tell Lucy ahead of time that I don't eat dairy. She had many dairy free and even some gluten free options already out and she whipped me up my own eggs. The nest morning she made a dairy free vegetable frittata that was out of this world good. All the other foods were yummy...cereals, breads, granola, yogurt, fruit salad, and smoothies. The entrees came with homemade scones and sticky buns.

Lucy and her husband were friendly, helpful and attentive. Lucy went out of her way to accommodate us with food, tips and directions. We didn't attend the nightly wine and cheese but it looked like a great spread. In better weather we would have enjoyed the porch, garden and patio by the koi pond. The pool looked nice too. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and can recommend a stay here. Then get back out into the hills!

Tips...walk almost 2 miles through the neighborhood to Wine Country Bikes so you can bike out of town on country roads (e.g., West Dry Creek Road) and into the vineyards and wineries. Bring a picnic for the cargo bags on the bike. Visit Rebecca at Hudson Street Wineries behind the bike rental for a tasting and to pick up a bottle for your picnic.

Room Tip: Cozy, lovely budget room has some morning noise from the street and neighboring houses.
See more room tips
Green Features: Thanks for taking our recycling. Are there receptacles in the rooms?
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while touring surrounding wineries. Lucy was a fantastic host and served a fantastic breakfast. Each room was unique with a complimentary ipad a great wi if connections. The house was very clean and the pool very refreshing with wine and cheese offered in the evening. Our first bed and breakfast stay and much better than any hotel. The inn is close to town for an easy walk to great restaurants in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I don't generally frequent B&Bs, but I really loved this place. Our room (Caprice) was nicely appointed, and included a whirlpool tub (which was great after days of walking!). The iPad was a nice touch, even though we had our own. The inn is within walking distance to the main plaza of shops, restaurants and tasting rooms. Lucy, the innkeeper, does a fantastic job of assisting you while also giving you space. I enjoyed both breakfasts very much: eggs with a variety of toppings, vegetable frittata, smoothies, scones, plus the usual fare of cereals, yogurt, granola, etc. There were gluten free choices and I got the sense that they could accommodate a variety of dietary needs. We also enjoyed wine & cheese in the parlor, and cookies in the afternoon. Lucy booked a restaurant reservation for us, and gave us winery suggestions (along with a map and passes for tastings at a host of wineries). The bed was quite comfortable and the night quiet. The main house is really neat, full of old treasures to look at. We enjoyed chatting with a couple from back east during one visit. Unfortunately weather is out of the innkeeper's control and it rained during our entire 3 days in Healdsburg. I loved the inn and the area so much that I can't wait to return under sunnier conditions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

THis is a very well run b and b. Our room was a bit small but fine. eveyrthing was comfortable.
it is an old house so it has alot of charm but the room and bathroom are small. No biggie--just what you woudl expect in a b and b like this. Great internet connection. in fact, each room had an ipad loaded with info on the area. great place to walk every where. we never moved the car. they set out a nice happy hour with wine and snacks by the pool whihc is nice. we were alson given a wine pass which saved us money--ALOT!!! it got us in to most of the wineries with no charge. we walked to a place to rent bikes and biked around which was great. breakfast could have been better. lots of good tea and coffe and the bread was wonderful. The casseroles were average and they both had meat in them --so they really need to have 2 options and one with no meat. maybe a cheese plate or pastry woudl be nice also. it was more like breakfast at grandmas--ok but not great. overall i would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We travel extensively and always stay in B and B's, which I research before reserving. The inn sounded delightful, with good reviews of the rooms, owner and breakfasts. As a result, I hesitate to write a negative review, but our experience was less than positive. We were very disappointed in our accommodations at the Roost, so much so that my husband actually took his suitcase and left during the night! The Roost is across the street from the main house and appears to have been created in the extension of a porch area. We knew the room would be small, but the photos on the website look charming and we liked the idea of having a private porch and entrance. Yes, the room is small, as was to be expected. But, it was not charming and did not contain the cute / quaint/ delightful touches that we typically find in B & B's. The room was very stark. There were no pictures on the walls, knick-knacks etc on the ledges along the ceilings (typically containing plants, pictures, knick knacks). It was impossible to unpack and feel settled in. There was a portable clothing rack (a metal bar on 2 metal posts) that contained 2 hangers. Worthless with 2 hangers. There were no shelves mounted on the wall, table top etc. on which to even unpack clothing and lay them. Since there were no closets, dressers or end tables, at least have more hangers or a shelf mounted on the wall! There was no clock in the room. Our cell phone batteries were out and needed charged, so we had no way of knowing the time. I commented "well, at least it is clean" but there was certainly nothing charming or special. The porch was nice and but again, there were no special touches....no flowers or plants or pottery...there were 2 small candle holders but the candles were burnt and nonexistent. Since this room is a "porch room", the large wall and end wall are all windows. It grew warm and stuffy in the room since it was a warm sunny day. That evening, we discovered that the window air conditioner did not work. It only blew air through the fan and the "cool setting" never produced any AC. Had we known, we would have left windows open, but it was too late when we discovered this and the room was uncomfortable. The owner met us when we arrived but gave us no information about the area. She said "I will give you some other information later". She did tell us there were beverages at the pool (I can't remember if she said lemonade or ice tea) and that she would be bringing "other things out in an hour". She also told us the time for breakfast. In our room, my husband and I wondered if the "other things" meant wine and cheese. We decided it did not sound like it, so we ended up going uptown instead (we were staying at several B & B's this trip and I couldn't remember from their websites who had "happy hour"). We left the next morning and did not have breakfast. There was nothing quaint, charming or romantic about this experience and the Roost was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brendainoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lucy is very friendly and helpful, and a great innkeeper. She kindly upgraded us to a lovely room as we were on honeymoon. She also gave us some excellent recommendations for a local winery and restaurant, and good directions to both. There was an ipad in the room which was a nice touch. Very comfortable room. Many thanks, Lucy, for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Haydon Street Inn B & B
#10 of 15 in Healdsburg
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Property: Camellia Inn
Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL TO BOOK DIRECTLY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Camellia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing