We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Camellias go well with wine & weddings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camellia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Inn
Save
You added Camellia Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Camellias go well with wine & weddings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned back East after a glorious wedding in the picture-book town of Healdsburg, CA and a stay in a truly charming B&B called the Camellia Inn. The Inn is aptly named as it sits in the midst of a garden of camellias and the flowers were blooming in a luscious palette of pinks, reds, whites and even orange. The setting could not have been more perfect! Same can be said for the location - an easy two block walk to Healdsburg's main shopping/walking and sipping area (yes, there are tasting rooms for local wineries all over town.) We were there for a wedding & most of the festivities were within walking distance as well. The exception was the rehearsal dinner which was held in the Arista Winery where an outdoor dining area provided spectacular vistas of the surrounding hills and valleys. The groom's family provided buses so all could enjoy the great wines.
Camellia Inn's host and hostess, Archie and Lucy, greeted us warmly on our arrival & quickly acquainted us with the Inn, its locale & what was happening in the area that weekend. We had two rooms as our daughter was traveling with us. Each was unique but both had high, cozy beds- and I I do mean cozy beds as in "I could sleep until noon comfortable"- gas- fireplaces, large Jacuzzi tubs and a good supply of choice amenities and towels. A bouquet of live camellias was in each room and we looked into a sea of camellias from our windows.
Then there were the breakfasts: Lucy referred to them as "holiday breakfasts." The reason for that appellation was abundantly obvious - the food was delicious, and spared no calories if one chose to partake of all the offerings - fresh fruits, cereals, a different smoothie each day, stuffed French toast, bacon, creamy scrambled eggs, sausage, breads, pastries, coffee and juices.
The Inn also offers wine & cheese in the evenings. Alas, we had wedding events so we missed those but I have no doubt that they were similarly tasty.
No doubt about it: this is a great place to stay and well-priced as well.

Room Tip: Get a king-sized bed for a wonderful night of sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    32
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
165
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed one night on Thursday night (3/7/2013). Everything was fabulous. The room was fantastic. Very clean and comfortable. Lucy's recommendation for dinner and the play worked out very well. The bed was great. I really enjoyed the wine and cheese platter. The breakfast the following morning was outstanding as well. All in all, a very memorable evening that I am telling all of my friends about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Camellia Inn. Breakfasts were wonderful - plentiful options, and tasty choices with quality bread from the local bakery. The lovely sitting room was pleasant with warm sunbeams. We enjoyed reading both the local paper and the New York Times both mornings. We stayed in the budget room and although it was smaller than the other rooms and had a double bed rather than a king or queen, it was just the right size for us!

The location was ideal and we barely drove all weekend. It was so nice to be able to walk into town rather than drive. Lucy was away while we were there, but Archie was good company and we appreciated visiting with him and the rest of the staff and guests. Highly recommended and we hope to stay there again someday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a GREAT experience staying with Lucy at Camellia Inn. Firstly, the location in Healdsburg is perfect - it is completely walkable to nearly every tasting room in the city. She also provided us with a voucher for discounted or free tastings for a number of area wineries - we were only able to hit up about 4 of them, but the voucher was for at least 50 different places! There were cookies upon afternoon arrival, a wine and appetizer happy hour at 5:30, she was able to book us reservations for dinner at a local Tapas restaurant and a delicious and extensive breakfast awaited us the next morning. Beds were comfy, bathrooms were clean - I honestly can't say anything but positive things about Camiellia Inn. We had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agirltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The wonderful proximity location of this idyllic Inn, within a close walking distance of Downtown Healdsburg. Made an ideal pit stop for any travelers who want a tranquil rest in a charming historical property. The hospitable hostess-Lucy made our stay! Lucy welcomed us like her own family members and the comfy bed and generous room, were the hi lights of our Dry Creek visit. Oh, we loved Lucy's nightly wine and chocolate treats...A wonderful stay, definitely would come back!
Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

So many B & Bs today are no better than a hotel with breakfast. Lucy and Archie make you feel like you're in a wonderful home. A Victorian mansion but a wonderful home nonetheless. Lol

Made my week in Healdsburg seem too short. I'll definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dochands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

we absolutely loved our stay at camellia inn. staff was immediately friendly and helpful. they immediately upgraded us from one of the budget rooms to a beautiful suite.

the breakfasts were all outstanding! we LOVE breakfast, and the camellia inn did not let us down! i appreciated that there was always healthy fruit in addition to really delicious savory dishes. it was a great start to each day :)

the location is very convenient, just a few blocks from the center of healdsburg.

in the evenings we enjoyed the generous complimentary wine and snacks, which made it easy and fun to get to know the other guests.

i would stay at the camellia inn again in a heartbeat and give it my highest recommendation to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavikingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Haydon Street Inn B & B
#5 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Property: Camellia Inn
Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing