We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk to Healdsburg Square” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camellia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camellia Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond Va
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Walk to Healdsburg Square”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are not huge B&B lovers (the whole communal living thing is not necessarily our cup of tea), but we would definitely stay here again... 1 block walk to Healdsburg town center (shops, restaurants, tasting rooms). Lovely breakfasts. Pool with wine tastings in the evening. Very knowledgeable innkeeper (Lucy) who has been doing this for 20+ years, so she really knows the area. And very, very reasonable vs. other area lodgings. Large communal breakfast table; if you like that type of thing, great. If not, time your arrival a bit later to miss the crowd.

Room Tip: Call Lucy to discuss room details/prices. The place is surprisingly large. We were on 2nd floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAis4luvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    34
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
171
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

My family loves to come up to Sonoma County, specifically Healdsburg and the Camellia Inn--we have stayed here six times over the past five years and are already looking at our calenders to see when we can return to our Sonoma County home away from home. Our daughter is now 12 and this is her favorite place to visit--many things to do in addition to wine tasting--swimming in their pool, canoeing down the Russian River, horse back riding in the Armstrong Woods. And yes, Lucy and Archie are fabulous innkeepers, the breakfasts are amazing, the evening wine gatherings are fun and you can walk to "downtown" Healdsburg in approx 2 1/2 minutes--shops, galleries,, great book stores.
All in all, one of our absolutely favorite places to stay and spend some time.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful--there is not a bad room in the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojaSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Lucy Lewand is an incredible and gracious hostess. She goes above and beyond to be sure that you get the personal and cozy feel of a B&B. She is great to talk to because she knows so much about the area and has wonderful ideas. She can also help you make dinner reservations and her breakfast is the BEST breakfast I've ever had away from home.
The rooms are beautiful and super clean. Our room had a queen bed and a whirlpool tub, which is great after a long day of wine tasting. We absolutely loved this place, and we miss it so much we are already planning a trip back!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Inn was "beautiful", both inside and out. Also, the food and wine was "bountiful"...and delicious. And if all this wasn't enough, Lucy, the owner/ manager, was extremely cordial and helpful. She was a wealth of good ideas as to where to go and what to see in the area. And the Inn is located within easy walking distance to downtown Healdsburg. Just park your car in their parking lot and explore. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at this Inn and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynBob94404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I didn't actually stay here yet but we had to cancel our booking outside the cancelation window because a wedding we were flying in for got canceled. I can count on one hand the kinds of hotels that would go out of their way to rebook the rooms and not just take our deposit. Camellia really re-instilled a modicum of faith that I had lost in the hotel world. They worked overtime to help me mitigate a situation that was not their fault in the least and got the rooms rebooked and gave me my deposit back without any attitude or carelessness. That's the kind of hotel I am talking about and if the wedding ever happens I will 1000% be staying at Camellia Inn no matter what. That's what good business is about. No idea if the property is as nice as the pics online but if their way of doing business is any indication its probably ten times better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

It was the perfect day for a drive across the Golden Gate Bridge--sunny, blue sky with big fluffy white clouds. Ahhhhhh....Merlot & brownies in the parlor of the Camellia Inn in Healdsburg, CA. This authentic Victorian home ia a gem of a B & B. After a 2 hour drive from San Francisco, the town of Healdsburg is a wonderful peaceful run-away-from-the crazy legislative session just completed.
Lucy and her family spoiled us with sumptuous breakfasts and "Chocolate covered Wednesday". At night the sideboard is always stocked with her homemade cookies, coffee and teas. The weather was perfect and it was just before the summer crowds arrived. This must be heaven!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musubimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This B&B was excellent in every way. The decor was lovely, beds were comfy, breakfast was delicious, and location perfect--quiet, but a short stroll away from town. There's a big pool and a hot tub as well. Prices were lower than at other comparable B&B's in Healdsburg, and that makes the Camellia a real value.

We stayed there on the beginning of our CA trip and loved it, and later in the trip we wanted to stay in Healdsburg again for one additional night--kind of spur of the moment decision. It was last minute, and The Camellia had no availability, but the Innkeeper was able to offer us an apartment in the heart of town. It was a gorgeous, roomy two-bedroom place that I would definitely return to, especially if we end up traveling with a larger group.

Beautiful place, helpful people--such a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcal3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Haydon Street Inn B & B
Haydon Street Inn B & B
#8 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Inn

Property: Camellia Inn
Address: 211 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 50 varieties of its signature camellias, the inn blends an authentic vintage environment with modern luxury amenities. Our professional staff works to think of everything you might need during your stay. The inn is located just steps from the historic Healdsburg Plaza, affording guests the opportunity to easily explore on foot the many specialty shops, antique stores, wine tasting rooms and trendy Zagat-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing