We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calderwood Inn
Nearby Hotels
H2 Hotel(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dry Creek Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$160
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$457
$443
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L & M Motel(Healdsburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Duchamp Healdsburg(Healdsburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
234
41
9
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
41
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilson roomfront porchwilson familypezzi kingother guestsb bglass of winewine club membersresident managerwine hourhouse is beautifulwine countryliving roomseparate entranceshort walkporch swingbike path
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 290 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2010

The Calderwood Inn is a wonderful old Victoria home with beautiful gardens. We stayed in the Wilson room (wife daughter and I). It was spacious and nicely decorated. We were treated warmly by our host (Margaret) who had great suggestions for us - first time visitors to this lovely town. There was wine for us when we arrived and we were sent on our way with a great breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fed58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have just returned from a trip to the US with my husband - starting in San Fran and finishing in Las Vegas. We only had the hotels in San Fran and Vegas planned in advance and Healdsburg was our first "ad hoc" night of the trip, and I must say we lucked out in managing to get a room at the Calderwood Inn! The location is great - a 5 min walk from the shops and restaurants and the house is beautiful. As other reviewers have mentioned, Margaret is the real star - acting as a hostess introducing her guests, serving wine and nibbles on the verandah - at times it felt like we were part of a house party rather than staying at a B&B! We stayed in the basement room which had a kitchen/ diner as well as the bedroom and bathroom and also had a separate entrance from the house. The room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The only slight criticism is that the shower wasn't easy to work, and some guidelines when we were shown the room would have been useful! It is expensive compared to everywhere else we stayed on our trip, but Healdsburg is expensive anyway due to its popularity. The breakfast was great, although we had a bit of a wait as the Inn was full and we turned up for breakfast at the same time as everyone else! All in all a brilliant stay - Nowhere else until Vegas matched up to it on our travels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Great Place. Highly Recommend. The Manager, Margaret, is very warm,welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. A great cook and hostess. Whether chatting in the kitchen or enjoinng the wine tasting on the comfortable veranda or living room you always feel at home. Wonderful experience!!!!! Rich and Nancee San Diego

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We just returned home from our best trip to Sonoma yet. After the past few years of attending barrel tasting and staying at other B&Bs in Healdsburg that lacked personality, we decided to stay at the Calderwood Inn this year. We had heard that the Inn had new ownership and decided to give it a try. We are certainly glad we did.

As mentioned by others, this centrally located Inn is now owned by Ken and Diane Wilson who own the Wilson Winery among many other top wineries in the Sonoma area. It does seem that there are doing a lot of renovation to get the Calderwood back into premiere condition and are also adding more rooms on the ground floor level. Having said that, the rooms and the Inn in general are in great condition and very nicely decorated. You won’t believe the wall paper designs on all the ceilings!

We stayed in the Wilson room which is located on the same level as the kitchen and main seating areas. The room was very nice with a fireplace and a very comfortable bed and with plenty of room. There is a TV in the room that is hidden behind a painting over the fireplace if you decide you must watch TV while on vacation. The fireplace has a remote control and keeps the room as warn as you want.

While the Inn itself is a real treat, it is the Manager that will keep people coming back. Inn Manager, Margaret is a real gem. Being a long-term resident of the area, she is more than willing to help plan your winery visits and dinners and is just a friendly and interesting person to talk to. We can not say enough how she helped make our visit enjoyable and memorable.

The breakfast in the morning is a cut above others in the area and everything is freshly made. Everyday the breakfast is different and she even asks guests what choices they prefer to make your stay even more enjoyable. In the late afternoons Margaret has a wine hour were she pours wines from the various Wilson' wineries with cheese and crackers. The wine selection was impressive enough that we decided to modify our barrel tasting plans to include some of these wineries as well.

If I had to pick one thing about the Calderwood Inn that I didn’t like it would be the steps at the back of the house. They are bit steep to haul your luggage up to your room. However after you do, prepare yourself for a real treat.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pentupfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I agonized over whether to write this review because when you find a property as stellar as Calderwood my general policy is to not let anyone know. We go to Sonoma every year for barrel tasting and this by far is the best B&B. This property is owned by the Wilson's who own the Wilson winery, Mazzoco and others. It's a quiet, charming 100~ year old craftsman that has very comfortable rooms and airy public spaces. If you stay here you can also get discounts from all their wineries. We stayed in the Vineyard suite downstairs which has a full kitchen, private entrance and good size bathroom. What you see on the website is exactly what you'll get. TV's are very small and there is a VCR/DVD player. But the best thing about this property is Margaret. A lovely woman who makes your stay unforgettable. She prepares breakfast every morning and the wine and cheese social in the late afternoon. She knows the area well and is current on all the goings on in and around Healdsburg and Sonoma. She made our stay at Calderwood most unforgettable. A true gem...We'll be back !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdytogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews