We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find and great location!!!”
Review of Calderwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calderwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find and great location!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are Wilson Wine Club members and brought 2 guests with us for the Harvest Fest at Wilson Winery. Decided to stay at the Calderwood Inn, and it was the most wonderful experience of over 22 years of visiting the Sonoma/Napa Valleys. The accommodations, personal service, food, and customer service by Julie and staff were outstanding!!! We would recommend this far and above any of the other wonderful properties in the Healdsburg area. We will be back!!! Thank you for a great 4 day weekend.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with shower/baths or just showers. No swimming pool, but you really do not need one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    37
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
187
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and i stayed in the Calderwood Inn for a wine country weekend. This is a great place to stay, short walk from downtown Healdsburg with wine tasting rooms and excellent restaurants. Healdsburg is very centrally located in Sonoma Wine Country. The Inn is quiet, very clean and very comfortable. Great breakfast and free wifi. We enjoyed lounging on the front porch sipping on some (complementary) wine, eating some (also complimentary) cheese and exchanging stories to some other guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s9601694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We took another vacation to the Calderwood Inn during August 2012 and it was just as special as the trip we took Christmas 2011. We were not able to stay in the Wilson room like the previous visit, but we found the Mazzocco room to be equally charming. The house is in beautiful condition and a wonderful place to just relax in. Evenings on the porch and in the gardens were quiet and relaxing. What a nice break from the hectic chaos of normal daily living.

Julie welcomed us and prepared our breakfast for the first two days. She is so friendly and so helpful. Julie suggested visiting Jaxon Keys winery as well as the Armstrong Redwoods nearby. Both were great suggestions that we enjoyed very much. On our last day we had a chance to meet Margaret when she prepared our breakfast and saw us off. Margaret was very nice. We look forward to seeing both Julie and Margaret again during a future stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I didn't know what to expect since this was my first time to stay at a B&B... We loved our room and the house is truly beautiful. Julie, the innkeeper, was so friendly and made you feel at home. The breakfast she served was so yummy and I loved that she served bread from the local bakery.
The inn was located just a short walk from Healdsburg St (the main street) and had a great walk on a beautiful morning.
My only regret is that we were only there for a short time and had other friends to see. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the living room or sit on the porch to just relax. Maybe next time...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Calderwood Inn. Margaret was our host for the weekend and she was fun and very hospitable. We only live a little over an hour away from Healdsburg but the inn was a wonderful respite from the busy hustle and bustle of our daily lives. The house itself was beautiful, air conditioned, very well maintained and had a very inviting front porch. We stayed in the Delorimier room which is facing the back of the property. It was very nicely appointed. The bed was queen size and the room had an en suite shower with EQ organic bath products, which smelled great. The warm breakfast each morning was delicious and was accompanied by a nice mix of seasonal fruits. The Inn also offered wine one evening from one of the wineries which it is associated with. I believe that the Calderwood Inn is associated with the Wilson family of wineries and each of the rooms is named after one of the wineries. As for location, it is within walking distance to the square and many of the surrounding restaurants, wine tasting rooms and wineries. Seghesio winery is perhaps only a 5 min walk away and several of the Inn’s guests were attending a dinner function at Seghesio. So no worries about finding a designated driver when restaurants and wineries can be reached by foot. We went to Scopa Restaurant for dinner one evening and highly recommend it. Food was excellent and prices were very reasonable. Do make reservations as the wait might be long otherwise. Overall, I would highly recommend the Calderwood inn. We were one of the younger couples…and we are not that young. We joined the wine club at Seghesio and if we attend any of the special functions will definitely consider staying at Calderwood again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yojude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful nights at the Calderwood Inn during our daughter's wedding weekend. We stayed in the lower level Vineyard Suite which worked out perfectly because we needed the extra space to spread out. We also liked the private entrance because we did a lot of coming and going. Julie was the perfect host. She knew we were under a lot of stress and was always there to offer specific help and calming thoughts. Breakfasts were bountiful and delicious. Next time maybe we will have time to actually relax on that fabulous front porch. We give the Calderwood an unqualified 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanG135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Calderwood Inn. The house is beautiful, especially the porch, where we sat on evenings to have some wine before heading into town. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Matrix room and very content with our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froogin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.5 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calderwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calderwood Inn

Property: Calderwood Inn
Address: 25 W Grant St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4804
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calderwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known on the California and Sonoma County Landmarks Registry as the John Miller House, this historic Queen Anne Victorian was built in 1902. Miller was a prominent fruit grower, packer and dehydrator in the early 1900s. He was also one of the first to make a commercial business of marketing dehydrated fruit. Among Miller's claims to fame is that he was the first provider to the U.S. Military of dehydrated foods. Known as K-rations during WW I and MREs today, Miller was cited by the military for "feeding the troops during WW I". (1) Miller and his wife were, like many prominent citizens of the community, anxious to furnish their home lavishly. The home is reputed to be the first in Healdsburg with two bathrooms, with indoor plumbing upstairs and downstairs.The noted horticulturist, Luther Burbank, was a good friend and assisted in the design and development of the original landscape at the front of the home, some of which remains today. The large cedar, cypress, and redwood heritage trees were planted by Burbank over 100 years ago. The lush grounds have been accented with rose bushes and numerous flowering shrubs. The same archaeological report from Sonoma State University indicates that some of the first plantings of some of Burbank's new species were planted on the Miller property. Sadly, the location and botanical name of the plants were never recorded. It is unknown if they remain on the property today.The home remained in the Miller family until the late 1930s and was a private residence until the early 1980s when it became a Bed and Breakfast. The inn has undergone extensive restoration over the years. Beautiful hand-silk screened period wall and ceiling papers accent the spacious common areas and some guest rooms. The papers are produced by Bradbury & Bradbury of Benicia, CA and are based on designs of William Morris, a prominent textile designer of the mid- to late 1800s.The formal, yet welcoming rooms include a spacious parlor with fireplace-the perfect place to enjoy the morning paper or a board game on a quiet afternoon. The spacious dining room that seats up to 14 showcases original wainscoting and built-in china cabinet and bench. The large antique table is where guests dine on Calderwood's signature gourmet breakfasts. The covered front porch with its antique wicker furniture and lacquered floor beckons you to enjoy the lush grounds, review the activities of your day or curl up with a good book. The porch is often used by local wineries who frequently co-host our complimentary evening wine hour. All nine guest rooms have private baths. Each room is decorated differently to incorporate an extensive collection of beautiful, yet comfortable period ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Calderwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing