We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like visiting your (rich) Uncle Jerry!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Villa Messina
Ranked #2 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just like visiting your (rich) Uncle Jerry!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

OMG! What an amazing time I had last week at the Bella Villa Messina! Jerry and Harold are so sweet, accommodating, and generous. The rooms are huge, nicely decorated, and fully stocked. Breakfasts are home-made, even the bread!, from old family recipes. After wine tasting, you come "home" to a nice wine & cheese reception and chit-chat with Jerry. And just mention his name for free wine tastings across the valley! There is no time limit / restriction for breakfast; Jerry has it ready for you, when you get up. Big hugs upon departure, and I miss them already... I will return, for sure! The best experience of my trip! Truly!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyMcGowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    16
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
21
412
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

I read all the good reviews about the place, and honestly I expected a nice Inn with a cool room and friendly people, but I got better. The room was nicely decorated, the bed was super comfy and the view was great. What I didn't expect was the all the extras. I expected a good breakfast, but what I got was a truly amazing one - it was one of the best I had in a hotel/b&b before. And then there was the cocktail hour, where they served good wine and really good cheese.

I also just happened to be there on the 4th of July when they held a bbq, to which all the Inn guests were invited. We were only asked to bring a couple bottles of wine. The food was again great - best I've ever had for a 4th of July bbq - and the wine was equally good (we were in the wine country after all). Harold's carrot cake is seriously to die for, especially if you like carrot cake. On top of it all, since the Villa is on the top of a hill, we had a spectacular view of the fireworks.

Oh, and not to forget all the good advice for what wineries to go to and all the complimentary tasting cards we got from them.

All in all, it was an unforgettable experience. I'm not sure you can possibly do better. I would warmly recommend it to anyone. The only reason I gave 4 starts to the value is because I feel the price is a little high. I realize it's pretty hard to find anything much cheaper, but it would definitely increase the probability of returning if the rates were lower.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L00kingForAdv3nture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

This was our fourth stay, all in the Asti room. Consistent with all other visits, this one was wonderful. Jerry and Harold are outstanding hosts, the villa gets better each year, and other guests were enjoyable companions at cocktail hours and breakfast. The four nights sped by altogether too quickly, and we can't wait to go back. Jerry has encyclopedic knowledge of the local wineries and restaurants, and his recommendations are excellent. You are always greeted warmly in local establishments as one of Bella Villa Messina's guests, i.e., one of "Jerry's kids "

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winelovers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We agree with everyone else who loved this lovely B&B! Bella Villa Messina's setting is absolutely gorgeous, and the view from our private balcony in the Asti Room was spectacular. Jerry and Harold are gracious, entertaining hosts who take it upon themselves to ensure that their guests enjoy every minute they spend in Sonoma. We certainly did!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

I'm not going to waste time reiterating. Jerry and Harold are great, food was great, room was great, location is great. The perfect place to stay if you're interested in finding an instant friend with a great home in Sonoma.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdrsn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We loved our time at Bella Villa Messina. Jerry and Harold were fabulous hosts and Jerry's breakfasts were delicious. Sine this was our first time in Sonoma we took all of their recommendations and were not disappointed. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our children sent us to Bella Villa Messina as a gift. It turned out to be the best gift we ever received from them,other than their love. Jerry and Harold and the pups are wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Asti room for 5 nights. You might confuse it with a temporary stay in heaven. The food was fantastic. Do you like waking up to the smell of bacon? Jerry serves breakfast from 7:30 -9:30,which is so much better than the other B&B s I've stayed at. It was much appreciated because we were on vacation and didn't want to get up early. Listen to Jerry! He absolutely knows the best wineries and restaurants to visit. Daily conversation is lively at breakfast and cocktail hour. Jerry and Harold will help you with anything you need. We are definitely coming back and thinking of bringing our adult children back with us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosiertraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
2.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
2.0 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#4 of 15 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Villa Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Villa Messina

Property: Bella Villa Messina
Address: 316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9608
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Villa Messina Sits atop the Historical Simi Winery Reservoir tank. Minutes from the town of Healdsburg overlooking 400 thousand acres. We offer Southern hospitality with Italian charm. Cheese wines cocktail hour served around sunset. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing