We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate hospitality and quality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Villa Messina
Ranked #2 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate hospitality and quality”
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My wife and I decided to take our first wine tour during the holiday weekend while on a business trip to San Francisco. What a lucky day it was when we found the advertisement for Bella Villa Messina. The high quality furnishings and warm ambience created by owners Harold and Jerry made us feel instantly welcome. We enjoyed every aspect:- the wonderful themed 'French Room’, the fabulous breakfasts and treats at cocktail hour. The hosts provided great guidance, ensuring we had the best of times. They are known throughout the region and have contacts in all the right restaurants and wineries. We will certainly be calling in again.

  • Liked — Every effort made for our comfort and enjoyment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    16
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
21
415
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our sixth visit to the Villa Messina (we've been going every July) and once again we've come away wondering why we only spend three nights at a time.
The location is on the crest of a hill in the heart of the Sonoma wine country, less than a mile from downtown Healdsburg.

Each room is unique, beautifully furnished and immaculately maintained. I love crawling into the perfect white bed linens each evening. Harold and Jerry run the day to day operation with the kindly warmth of Oprah and attention to lovely details that would meet Martha Stewarts standard. No kidding.

Breakfast there is not a meal--its a happening. Jerry's french toast has overtaken Russell Crowe in my pre-sleep fantasies.
(alright, maybe that's just age, but still...).

Calling this place a (very) small luxury hotel is more accurate than saying it is a B&B.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, kind hosts
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidntTravelLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the French room in mid-June to celebrate our 14th anniversary. This was our first stay at a B&B and being relatively young compared to the other guests we were slightly apprehensive. To say our stay was memorable would be an understatement. We arrived with a plan of just having fun and Jerry ensured that we did. As for the tangible things: the house is set magnificently on top of the hill with a view of all 3 valleys, the room is beautiful, bed extremely comfortable, and the bathroom with Jacuzzi tub particularly enjoyable (we loved the candles around the tub which gave the room the perfect ambience). Breakfast is served whenever you happen to get up and is delicious. If you want to be left alone for some private time together you are not bothered at all. As for the intangibles: Jerry and Harold are what all hosts should be – they make you instantly welcome and comfortable. We spent more time with Jerry and the best description I can give of him is that he is a catalyst. If you know what you want to do he helps you plan it, if you don’t know what you want to do he helps you find something you’ll love, and if you’re already having fun he makes it better. It was like having a personal guide who you didn’t have to take along with you. He obviously loves hosting and meeting new people. Most places we went knew Jerry and Harold and tastings were often free or service a step above because of it. Both winery and dining recommendations were fantastic and Jerry made our reservations the second we asked. There are small touches to numerous to list which make this place and its hosts special. We look forward to returning as often as we can.

  • Liked — The hosts and the comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gdc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Great hospitality, conversation, location and views. This place has a great feel to it. It is not the place for someone who does not want to engage with the Inn-keeper (check into a hotel). Jerry makes sure you feel welcome and cared for and well-informed about the area. Harold is engaging and a great conversationalist.

The home is very nice and the views are great. The location for touring the Alexander and Dry Creek Valley vineyards and dining or shopping in Healdsburg is perfect. It is out of town, but just.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is a B&B type.

  • Liked — The Setting
  • Disliked — Some renovations in progress
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozarks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We had a great experience at the Messina. We were upgraded to the French room and really enjoyed the spacious room and comfortable bed. We picked this spot off of reviews here on tripadvisor and were not let down! Jerry and Harold were great hosts and Jerry's not a bad cook either. Jerry was very knowledgeable about local vineyards and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nola_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Not only was this B&B fabulous but the hosts made our first wine country experience unforgettable. Jerry and Harold were wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome from our first step through the door. Breakfast each morning was always delicious and the afternoon cocktail hour was a good time spend chatting with all the guests. My husband and I were fortunate enough to reserve the Asti room. With the jacuzzi tub, balcony views, and comfortable furnishings, we could not ask for more. Jerry was so knowledgeable about restaurants and wineries, we took each of his suggestions and were very happy with entire experience.

  • Liked — Room with a great view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2008

What a wonderful experience! My wife and I stayed in the Asti room and had incredible panoramic views. Jerry and Harold were very accommodating. We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank drnate647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
1.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
2.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
2.0 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
558 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Villa Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Villa Messina

Property: Bella Villa Messina
Address: 316 Burgundy Rd, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Villa Messina Sits atop the Historical Simi Winery Reservoir tank. Minutes from the town of Healdsburg overlooking 400 thousand acres. We offer Southern hospitality with Italian charm. Cheese wines cocktail hour served around sunset. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing