We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”

Costeaux French Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A Healdsburg establishment since 1923, Costeaux French Bakery serves as a destination for residents, wine country enthusiasts & international visitors. Visit the open-air cafe for breakfast, lunch, or stop in for world class fresh-baked breads. Over the years, Costeaux has been honored with Sonoma County Harvest Fair Best of Show Professional French & Specialty Bread awards. Come visit our French-inspired cafe bakery & consider us for your next event. Inquire about special event catering, check out our breakfast & lunch menus. We also have a private meeting room for up to six guests. Be sure to eye our famous dessert case or browse our wedding cake book.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Superb and fresh brunch food. A couple orders of omelets -- one with the potatoes it normally comes with and one with substituted greens. Each omelet order came with a large basket of fresh made sweet and savory breads. The quiche came with fresh fruit. Exactly what we were looking for and were not disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boodleheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    178
    32
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great breakfast spot with award winning breads. Had one of the best cappuccinos ever here. Service was very good would recommend to anyone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ronnie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Sweet, buttery Goodness”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fresh breads and baked treats with people who know how to make a real cappuccino ... not to mention a fabulous breakfast menu if you want to wait for a table to open up??!! I'm staying.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF bay area
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE, UNEVEN BAKERY, FATTY FOOD, NOISY FACILITY”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went twice to try out a couple of items on the menu to give a better review. Should start by saying that my constitution is a pretty good judge of wholesome, reasonably low fat, fresh food and Costeaux does not pass this test. Tried the duck salad sandwich the first time and the bread crust was so hard that the filling just squeezed out on the plate. Taste, was average. Cost high at $13. Mixed coffee's are very small and expensive at $3.50. Wait time was long even though the place was 1/4 full. Pastry was hit and miss but all are very expensive. Eclairs, which I love if done well are to be AVOIDED but they charge $5 each. They are better in the freezer case of your local grocer at 1/10 the price. Second time I had the Quiche. Waitress told me they do not make the quiche at the restaurant but farm that out basically admitting that my dish was not fresh but warmed over from who knows when. This dish sat like a gut bomb-I'm guessing chocked full of heavy cream. No doubt exceeded my dose of 4 eggs for the week. Poor choice. The physical building is really the only plus-has high ceiling with skylights and exposed wood and distressed concrete walls which is why I gave it a second try. Will not be back.

Summary: Nice building though somewhat noisy
Average food but watch the fat!!!!!!!!!!
High prices
You choose

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00justthefacts00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here and had lunch between our wine tasting tour stops and the sandwiches were delicious! Very fresh ingredients which you could taste! The chicken and mozzarella sandwich was devine! My husband had the French dip which was also wonderful! We of course had to end our meal with desserts from their bakery! What a wonderful treat! Be sure to stop for lunch or dessert, you won't regret it. The service was not too fast and the server took a while to greet us at our table (we sat outside and he also had tables inside, so maybe that was the problem??) but the food was worth the wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costeaux French Bakery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Costeaux French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing