We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best winery tour and tasting of our trip”

J Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #20 of 163 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned for our inspiring wine tasting experience, we encourage you to join us at the sleek J Visitor Center to experience our Russian River Valley wines. Taste a range of sparkling and varietal selections - from Brut Rose to Pinot Noir - while you enjoy the elegant setting that includes a striking original art installation created by Gordon Huether and inspired by our wines. Enjoy sparkling and varietal wines while you enjoy the atmosphere and discover why Sunset Magazine named J Vineyards & Winery the “Best Winery Tasting Room in the West.” Enjoy the J Signature Tasting with our signature wine flight that includes a selection of 5 of our Russian River Valley sparkling and varietal wines. Join us in one of our Legacy reserve rooms for an exclusive sampling of our award winning Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Sparkling Wines available exclusively through our Tasting Room. The Bubble Room is the ultimate Russian River Valley tasting experience. In a beautifully appointed full-service tasting salon, you and your guests will enjoy an exclusive tasting including rare Russian River Valley library and small-production wines, served with delicious wine country fare.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited several wineries on our latest wine country trip. All of the tours were different and enjoyable but J Vineyards stands out. We were the only two at this particular time so our guide devoted his entire attention to us and his proud description of the wineries history and operation. Our tour guide was extremely personable and pointed out key people like the winemaker as well as the equipment used to crush and produce the wine. We also thought the J wines, starting with their sparkling varieties, were the best of our trip. You should seek out J Vineyards if you are in the area. One tip to finding it is to head for the larger Rodney Strong winery and turn left just before you get to it.

Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear CarpeNox,

We are so delighted that your wine country trip to J exemplified much personable and devoted attention as you had the opportunity to learn about our sparkling Winemaker, Melissa Stackhouse, as well as the J Winery operations relating to how winemaking and winegrowing come together thus producing our J signature sparkling and varietal wines.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our wines, especially our sparkling varieties as Judy Jordan followed her dream in 1986 of starting a winery specializing in sparkling wines and today she continues to hold that vision near and dear to her heart.

We truly appreciate your recommendation to seek us out so other guests may also experience our elegant and personable hospitality. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to J Vineyards & Winery and wish you safe and happy travels back home to Massachusetts.

Cheers!

Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bubble room"
in 42 reviews
"sparkling wines"
in 25 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 19 reviews
"paired beautifully"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 29 reviews
"plan ahead and make a reservation"
in 2 reviews
"food and wine"
in 11 reviews
"cheese plate"
in 6 reviews
"flavor profile"
in 2 reviews
"really enjoyed our visit"
in 2 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 9 reviews
"delightful wine"
in 2 reviews
"tasting area"
in 5 reviews
"tasting options"
in 2 reviews
"staff was very friendly"
in 3 reviews
"new friends"
in 2 reviews
"great tasting"
in 4 reviews
Filter

129 - 133 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a fabulous tasting experience yesterday at J Vineyards. It was our last (and 4th!) tasting of the day, so we were pretty fatigued and mainly stopped at J because we had an appt. Michael, our host, was cordial, knowledgeable, and super easy going. Just what we needed at that point! He served us one homerun wine after another, without ever being pushy. This was the only winery out of the 12 we visited that my husband and I loved every single wine. Don't miss this winery!

Thank OvertheHill-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear OvertheHill-7,

Thank you so much for your “homerun” review of you and your husband’s recent visit to J. We loved reading your praises about your fabulous tasting experience and Michael’s cordial and knowledge hospitality as you and your husband cherished the varietal and sparkling wines that you tasted.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback, Michael is quite honored to have had a chance to entertain and educate you about J and our wines, and looks forward to providing you another pleasurable J experience in the future. Wishing you a sparkling and safe trip home.

Cheers!
Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a nice time at this vineyard. I think, though, what made it special was our guide, Kevin. We really enjoyed talking to him and learning about all the different types of grapes and wines. I am not a wine drinker (hubby is) but enjoyed leaning the process of making the wines. Beautiful vineyard and got to taste the grapes. Wow, they were good.

Thank Terrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Terrell,

We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit to J Vineyards & Winery, and that Kevin made your visit exceptional and special, he is quite the hospitality specialist and takes great pride in presenting an educational and entertaining experience. During the harvest season it is always a pleasure for us to share the grapes right from the vine, so we are thrilled you had the opportunity to enjoy them so much.

Thank you for your beautiful five-star review and we look forward to providing you another educational and entertaining J experience in the future.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a lovely tour at J Vineyards that cost $30/person, lasted a little less than 2 hrs, and included 5 tastings of wine along the way. Our guide took us through the vineyards, back to the machine that presses the grapes, up into the fermentation room, into the barrel room, and back to the bottling room. We got to pluck grapes right off the vines to taste and compare and the wines were very good (we ended up buying 2 of the 5). It was a small group (just another couple and me and my husband), which made it feel less like a tourist attraction. The setting inside and out is so beautiful. All in all, I'd definitely recommend paying a visit, either for the tour or just a tasting.

Thank SRinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear SRinNYC,

We are excited that you had the great opportunity of enjoying our tour and tasting experience at J, we are thrilled that you loved the ambiance, our wines and were able to pluck the grapes off the vines in the vineyard during our harvest season.

Thank you so much for your lovely five-star review and your sparkling recommendation to visit J! We wish you safe travels back to New York and look forward to the sparkling occasion to provide you another great tour and tasting at J.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love J!!! So to visit the Vineyards and Winery was a dream come true. But to say it lived up to my expectations is an understatement. The wines were fabulous and the service amazing! Dana took the time to sit down with us outside on a gorgeous afternoon and explain every detail about the process of making their champagnes. But instead of feeling like a lecture it felt like old friends sitting around talking about wine. What a great time! Thanks Dana!

Thank beehostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Beehostess,

We are enthralled to have rendered your dream to come true beyond your expectations during your recent visit to J Vineyards & Winery. So pleased you loved our varietal and sparkling wines and the great service presented to you by our hospitality host Dana, she has such a sparkling and friendly personality and she loves to share her great wine knowledge and J history, she is quite the amazing J ambassador.

Thank you so much for sharing your love for J by your amazing praises! We wish you a sparkling summertime and look forward to your next visit to J, so we may provide you with another fabulous visit.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Vineyards & Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to J Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing