We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! An amazing experience!”

J Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #15 of 157 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned for our inspiring wine tasting experience, we encourage you to join us at the sleek J Visitor Center to experience our Russian River Valley wines. Taste a range of sparkling and varietal selections - from Brut Rose to Pinot Noir - while you enjoy the elegant setting that includes a striking original art installation created by Gordon Huether and inspired by our wines. Enjoy sparkling and varietal wines while you enjoy the atmosphere and discover why Sunset Magazine named J Vineyards & Winery the “Best Winery Tasting Room in the West.” Enjoy the J Signature Tasting with our signature wine flight that includes a selection of 5 of our Russian River Valley sparkling and varietal wines. Join us in one of our Legacy reserve rooms for an exclusive sampling of our award winning Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Sparkling Wines available exclusively through our Tasting Room. The Bubble Room is the ultimate Russian River Valley tasting experience. In a beautifully appointed full-service tasting salon, you and your guests will enjoy an exclusive tasting including rare Russian River Valley library and small-production wines, served with delicious wine country fare.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow! An amazing experience!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love J!!! So to visit the Vineyards and Winery was a dream come true. But to say it lived up to my expectations is an understatement. The wines were fabulous and the service amazing! Dana took the time to sit down with us outside on a gorgeous afternoon and explain every detail about the process of making their champagnes. But instead of feeling like a lecture it felt like old friends sitting around talking about wine. What a great time! Thanks Dana!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beehostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Beehostess,

We are enthralled to have rendered your dream to come true beyond your expectations during your recent visit to J Vineyards & Winery. So pleased you loved our varietal and sparkling wines and the great service presented to you by our hospitality host Dana, she has such a sparkling and friendly personality and she loves to share her great wine knowledge and J history, she is quite the amazing J ambassador.

Thank you so much for sharing your love for J by your amazing praises! We wish you a sparkling summertime and look forward to your next visit to J, so we may provide you with another fabulous visit.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    28
    16
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Must Stop”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I thought this would be a quick stop over before heading to downtown Healdsburg. Two hours later we had a full tour, bought three bottles and had a wonderful tasting. Our server (Kevin) was very welcoming, knowledgeable and knew how to pour a taste of wonderful cabs and sparkling wines. I can't recommend this winery for its wine and its staff highly enough.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thsteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear thsteacher,

We are thrilled you and your wife enjoyed your visit to J Vineyards & Winery. We are especially pleased you delighted in your welcoming hospitality from your host, Kevin and appreciated his wine knowledge, as well as our wines.

We truly value your high recommendation for our wines and our hospitality team; we are admiring your praises.

Again, thank you for your wonderful five-star review and we look forward to your next visit to J. We wish you a happy journey home to historical and entertaining St. Louis.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
415 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bubble Room "bubbles"”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

"J" has great sparkling wines. A nice, attractive location. The Bubble Room lunch, pairing wines with gourmet food is a "must experience" visit. Staff are all very nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edmund438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Edmund438,

Thank you for your great five star review, we appreciate you taking the time to write about your J “must experience”. We are bubbling with merriment that you enjoyed our sparkling wines, as well as the attractive ambiance, our gourmet Bubble Room wine and food pairings, and our delightful hospitality staff, as your review warmed our hearts with enthusiasm.

We hope you have an opportunity to grace us with another visit from Miami, as we would be inspired to provide you with another sparkling visit to J Vineyards & Winery.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“too many kids running about”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hostess would not let my husband (designated driver) sit at one of the open tables to use his iPad for 20 minutes, but there were wild pre-school children running around the open tables, bridge and pond which was "OK and cute." We even asked if the tables were reserved, and they were not until later in the day.

Inside we had a host from Guatemala who was excellent. The wines were good, but I'm not a big sparkling wine fan. Some of the other wines were quite good, but based on other reviews on-line, I did not subscribe to the club.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear MulberryCreek,

Thank you for review on your recent visit to J as we take your feedback sincerely. We apologize that your hostess was not able to accommodate your husband at an open table, as we do appreciate responsible tasters by having a designated driver and an accommodation could have been made for him if available.

We are delighted that your host in the Visitor Center provided you an excellent experience and you enjoyed our wines.

In addition, we are sorry that other on-line reviews persuaded you not to enjoy the Club J benefits. We do appreciate all of our reviewers whether they provide us with a one star or a five star, as we see it as a way for us to make an improvement for future guest experiences or to celebrate our great hospitality efforts.

In this case, we would be honored to provide you and a guest with a complimentary Signature tasting so we may have the opportunity to provide you with a much more pleasing hospitality experience. Please feel free to reach out to Katie Herron, J Assistant Hospitality Manager, at katie@jwine.com and she will be more than happy to assist with your reservation.

We look forward to your next visit to J and wish you happy travels.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We purchased a fairly pricey Terrace tasting package. You can see what they cost on the J website. We were former wine club members here a few years ago but the service has gone out the window somehow. There were only two tables of 4 for the two hosts to serve but they just couldn't get food and wine pairing to happen and were very sloth-like.

We mentioned to the hostess that our experience was much different than our prior experiences with J. She was not too concerned and offered nothing to retain us as customers. We wrote to their website requesting a phone call but no response after 4 days. We're not going back.

Try Gloria, Chandon, or Carneros for your bubbles. They're a lot more fun and the wine is as good or better. We belong to two of those wine clubs and are pleased with the service and value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jtcinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear jtcinv,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your J Terrace tasting experience. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the service and staff.

We are pleased that Lindsey Auchter, J Hospitality Manager, and you connected regarding your tasting experience and we are thrilled you will be coming back for another visit the next time you are in town, complimentary of J.

We are pleased to have been able to resolve your unpleasant experience and turn it into a sparkling and successful conclusion. We thank you sincerely for your review of J and we look forward to impressively providing you with a pleasurable experience in the future.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Vineyards & Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to J Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing