We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable tasting experience.”

J Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #21 of 160 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Renowned for our inspiring wine tasting experience, we encourage you to join us at the sleek J Visitor Center to experience our Russian River Valley wines. Taste a range of sparkling and varietal selections - from Brut Rose to Pinot Noir - while you enjoy the elegant setting that includes a striking original art installation created by Gordon Huether and inspired by our wines. Enjoy sparkling and varietal wines while you enjoy the atmosphere and discover why Sunset Magazine named J Vineyards & Winery the “Best Winery Tasting Room in the West.” Enjoy the J Signature Tasting with our signature wine flight that includes a selection of 5 of our Russian River Valley sparkling and varietal wines. Join us in one of our Legacy reserve rooms for an exclusive sampling of our award winning Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Sparkling Wines available exclusively through our Tasting Room. The Bubble Room is the ultimate Russian River Valley tasting experience. In a beautifully appointed full-service tasting salon, you and your guests will enjoy an exclusive tasting including rare Russian River Valley library and small-production wines, served with delicious wine country fare.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We are old enough to remember when most tastings were free, but alas that practice has vanished. Luckily, we have a family member in the wine distribution business, so he arranged for us to have a VIP tasting. Had we paid, it would have been an expensive hour as the food and drink combined would have cost $120 for two people.

That's not to say it wasn't worth it. Not being a fan of bubbly, I was very impressed with their sparkling wines. They truly were excellent. In fact, all the wines we tasted ranked very high on our like meter. Michael, our host, was both gracious, funny and informative. The room was filled with light as the floor to ceiling windows provided beautiful views to the outside.

The charcuterie plate had some delicious components, a wonderful creamy and pungent blue cheese from Oregon, and a light on the salt prosciutto that was both delicate and rich. Had we been opening up our wallets, I would have passed on this offering as it did not seem to warrant the price tag. But since it was someone else's treat, we enjoyed the edibles as they paired perfectly with the wine selections.

1  Thank llpupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear 6tareg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very enjoyable review of your experience at J. We appreciate your gracious comments and we are overjoyed that you were impressed with our sparkling wines and that we ranked very high on your “like meter”.

We are delighted that you really enjoyed Michael’s hospitality during you perfectly paired wine and Artisan Cheese and Charcuterie tasting, nice to have family members in the wine business, as they were very thoughtful to provide you with a sparkling tasting at J. Please pass on our regards to your family member as we do appreciate their referral for you to savor in our J wine and food tasting experience.

We genuinely thank you again for your four-star review and we look forward to having the opportunity to entertain you again at J Vineyards & Winery.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm sorry, but the bubbles room was ridiculous. I'm in California! I want to sit outside and enjoy my bubbles in the sunshine! I don't want to sit in a dark "VIP" room!! Wines were fine, ambiance was ridiculous.

1  Thank Bananamoonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Bananamoonpie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at J. We appreciate your feedback regarding the ambiance and wanting to sit outside to enjoy your J bubbles.

We do offer a variety of indoor and outdoor tasting experiences here at J on selected days of the week. Since you prefer the outdoors, we would like you to invite you back so you may enjoy our scenic and relaxing wine country terrace for a special food and wine pairing experience as you savor four of J's award-winning varietal or sparkling wines with four bites, while enjoying the leisurely warmth of the season. The J Terrace is open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday from 11:30-4:00 pm (weather permitting). By the way, this would be complimentary for you and a special guest of your choice.

If you would like to enjoy this complimentary experience, please feel free to reach out to Lindsey Auchter, J Hospitality Manager, at lindsey@jwine.com and she will be more than happy to assist with your reservation.

Thank you sincerely for your review of J and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more bright experience in the future.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a wonderful experience! We had one day to spend in Sonoma while on a business trip from Michigan and we chose 2 wineries that were recommended to us. Even though I was mistaken and thought my reservation was for 1:30 (it was 11:30) they still managed to get my husband and I on this busy afternoon of the Kentucky Derby. We had the 3 course food & wine paring and it was outstanding! The food was just delicious and we loved every wine paired with the food. There was no pressure to buy or join a wine club! I certainly appreciated the fact that they made us feel so welcome and not rushed even though were were late (not intentionally!) Thank you so much J Winery for a just lovely afternoon that we will not forget!

Thank Muirwoodsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Muirwoodsue,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are flattered that J was one of the two wineries you chose to visit during your business trip, all the way from Detroit, we are delighted that we had an opportunity to provide you with a sparkling experience in our Bubble Room.

We look forward to your next visit to J Vineyards & Winery so we may again present you with an unforgettable and delicious wine and food tasting with a warm and inspiring welcome.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived thinking we were at Rodney Strong. They share a driveway and we turned early. It was early in the day and only two other couples were there. We worked with Michael and had a wonderful time learning about their wines. We cannot this wine in our market but will certainly get them to mail to us. Overall a great find

Thank TuesdayWednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear TuesdayWednesday,

Thank you for your wonderful five star review, we are joyful that you found J Vineyards & Winery to be “a great find” and we are delighted your J tasting experience with Michael was a an educational occasion for you. We always love to share the joy of J with all of our guests and we are honored to have inspired you with our Russian River Valley wines and welcoming hospitality.

For more information on finding our wines in your area, please feel free to reach out to us, as we look forward to enhancing more special moments in your life.

Thank you again for visiting J and taking the time to provide your wonderful review with Trip Advisor.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Okay, I'm biased because my girlfriend and I both have J names. But, still, the wine was good and it was a nice winery to visit. I hear the food pairing is excellent and it looked great, but we didn't make a reservation or have time to do it.

Thank svtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWinery, J Marketing Associate at J Vineyards & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Svtex,

Thank you for your sparkling four-star review, and we are inspired that the J’s fancy the J wines. We hope your next visit to J will allow you some time to relish in the J Bubble Room or the J Legacy Lounge; both are delectable tastings paired with delicious wine country fare and rare Russian River Valley library and small-production J wines.

Furthermore, thank you for visiting us all the way from Sherman Oaks; we hope your trip home was enjoyable.

Cheers! Elisa, Team J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to J Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing