We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 'Red' Tasting Experience”

Seghesio Family Vineyards
Ranked #16 of 155 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in Healdsburg, the winery is in the heart of Sonoma’s wine country. There, we host daily wine tastings and weekend library wine & food pairings around our Family Tables. We also have a seasonal outdoor cafe on our terrace Fri-Sun at which we serve Mediterranean-inspired tapas with wines by the glass. Try your hand at a game of bocce in our shaded grove.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful 'Red' Tasting Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Seghesio makes a wonderful series of red wines in the California style. The tasting room is intimate, but not somewhere to linger for a while. When the weather is nice, having a picnic in their garden with some wonderful reds. Don't forget to try their homemade salamis as well!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DylanCElliott, Public Relations Manager at Seghesio Family Vineyards, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Emily, Thank you for the great review. We hope you can come back and visit soon. Salute! SFV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    49
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Food and Wine Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

If you can make it fit your schedule, and can afford the additional cost, the Chef's Table is the best way to experience this winery. The "chef's tables" are only done on the weekends, so prior planning and scheduling is important. Well worth the cost as you get a great history tour of the original winery cellar with an initial wine tasting and a sampling of the on premise made salamis. The tour then moves to the upstairs chef's tasting table where a great variety of the winery's red wines and chef prepared food samples are enjoyed. Definitely a culinary experience. Seghesio always makes some of the best line of Zinfandels in the State.

Helpful?
Thank Foodwinegoofnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan E, Public Relations Manager at Seghesio Family Vineyards, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Chef Peter's Table is always a treat and we're happy you could join us. Have a happy Thanksgiving and come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Splurge on the Family Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you love zins and want a special highlight for your visit to wine country, I recommend making reservations at the Family Table. It's $60/person, but it's not an ordinary tasting. You'll taste a flight of 4-5 wines in the tasting room when you arrive, then you'll head to the cellar and enjoy a pairing with a fresh salumi sampler (made there onsite). The final stop is the best - you'll be led upstairs to a private room where you - and up to 6 or 7 other people - will be treated to a pairing of five wines/courses prepared by Chef Peter Janiak. The wines were all fabulous, and the pairings were interested and unexpected. It was the best way to kick off a day in Sonoma - definitely a highlight of our trip. Our only regret was not buying more bottles to take with us. But that's what the internet is for, right?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan E, Public Relations Manager at Seghesio Family Vineyards, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Seghesio Family Vineyards. We loved sharing our table with you and look forward to doing it again.

Salute from your friends at SFV!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Zin Out There!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Wonderful family owned winery! Really enjoyed all of the wines but the Old Vine Zin is my favorite along with the Sonoma County Zin! Also enjoyed the new (and old) release of Venom. Beautiful interior and knowledgeable staff made this a wonderful spot to visit. Did not try the food pairings but I will next time! Really enjoyed the time we spent here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockinmominar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan E, Public Relations Manager at Seghesio Family Vineyards, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Shelbee67, Thank you for taking the time to review your Seghesio Family Vineyards experience. Your compliments are important to us and we will continue to share this little slice of Heaven on Earth. We look forward to your return.

Salute from your friends at Seghesio Family Vineyards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The wine and food pairing is so very worthwhile! Heavenly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Make reservations well in advance for the smaller tour with the wine and food paired meal.
We had a wonderful tour guide that has been with the winery for a long time. He was fun and interesting and filled with an amazing amount of information about the winery and the wines.
The tour started downstairs in a room filled with their large oak casks, sipping wine and tasting wonderful charcuterie. After a tour all around the winery we went into a private dining room where their chef prepared a small bite for each wine we tasted. Of all of the wonderful restaurants where we dined while in California, the small bites the chef prepared for this meal were some of the most outstanding.

We enjoyed so much trying some of the wines produced by Seghesio that we were not familiar with. Wonderful!

This is a tour well worth the price. I hope they keep the tour guide and the chef because we would love to return and experience this little slice of Heaven on Earth once again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seghesio Family Vineyards also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Seghesio Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing