We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious with Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gracious with Attention to Detail”
Reviewed July 30, 2006

What a beautiful and gracious hotel. It was well appointed and the service was wonderful. Formal yet welcoming. Central to the charming town and surrounding wineries. Would definitely consider Les Mars for another stay. We were thrilled to be among the first guests!

  • Liked — Actually, it was both the room and the service.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    19
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
183
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2006

I had a most enjoyable stay at Les Mars Hotel—the next best thing to a weekend in the Loire Valley in France. I arrived in the afternoon—and while the hotel does not have its own parking lot, there was plenty of parking within 50 feet of the front door. The Lobby and public rooms are in the grand chateaux style and after a speedy check in—I was escorted to my room on the 3rd floor. The accommodations exceeded my high expectations. Decorated like a grand private residence, the room had two double beds, overflowing with crisp white Italian linen and crowned with an elegant drapery, pulled back by silk tassels. It was dramatic to say the least. The fireplace and antique armoire gave the room the feeling of the French countryside—albeit a home of a member of the French aristocracy!

The bathroom was enormous and filled with white marble with a hydro-tub, glass shower, bidet and full size Bulgari toiletries. Little touches like heavy lead crystal glass and Irish linen lining the bathroom drawers made me think of other Grand Hotels like the Hotel de Crillon and the Dorchester. I was delighted that Healdsburg could boast a hotel of the same caliber.

The small pool in the back of the hotel was a great way to spend an hour in the afternoon.

Breakfast in the morning was just as elegant as the room—starting with a cup of coffee and fresh juice—locally grown fruit and a croissant and then a flavorful quiche all served on bone china with fine linens and silver. I was very satisfied with the meal and the friendly service.

Les Mars in not inexpensive—but the quality is there for certain. It was easy to imagine that I had slipped away to the French countryside—within 90’s minutes drive of San Francisco, and without a passport.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clefsdorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

The rooms at Les Mars were nicely decorated with nice toiletries/ bedding etc however our room was very noisy ( they switched the kitchen fans on at 5.30am and the whole room started to rattle ( even though we had a top floor room). We called to reception who knew exactly what the problemn was & turned off the fans 20 mins later. We booked about a month in advance and were unable to get a dinner reservation before 9.30pm so unfortunately did not get to experience the restaurant Cyrus, which was very disappointing. It would be good if they kept some of their tables for hotel guests to dine in house. The bath had a jet system which we were excited to try (not all rooms have baths - check when you make the reservation becuase many only have a shower). The bath whirlpool was not a pleasant experienec for us - too powerful & no way to turn it down. Pool was small & too cold to use.

The service we experienced at check in and breakfast was formal and not very warm & friendly. The breakfast was very good although there was no choice - set menu - we had salmon frittata which I loved but my husband did not care for fish for breakfast. As with other comments there were no refills etc. Presentation. china etc was beautiful. Wine & cheese reception in the evening was a nice touch. For the money we would choose to stay elsewhere when we return to Healdsburg

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 1, 2006

The Les Mars Hotel bills itself as fine hotel in the European tradition. Having stayed at some truly fine hotels in Europe, both small and large, I can say that the Les Mars is severely lacking in many areas. Service was indifferent and for the price charged, there were very few amenities. When we arrived, there was no space to leave the car, nor did there seem to be anyone at the door. We circled around twice before parking a block away and dragging our luggage down the street ourselves. When we mentioned the parking situation at check-in to the woman at the front, we were met with a shrug. The room itself was fine, if a little noisy from street traffic. The bed was above average and very comfortable. Unfortunately, the room is about all you get. There is no room service, no fitness room, no spa, no grounds to wander, no nice public areas to relax. There is a small library and pool, but not very inviting.
The food at breakfast was very good, but again, the service indifferent. No refills on coffee and perfunctory service. Most, if not all, the negatives would be acceptable if we were staying at a tourist class hotel, but for the prices the Les Mars charges, we found the hotel to be severly lacking. You will get the experience of paying for a fine, first class hotel, but you will not get the experience of staying at a fine first class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

The Les Mars Hotel has been open for just a few months, but the service is already top-notch and the rooms are stunning. The second floor features "Parisian" style decor and the third floor is "Country French", which means canopy beds with toile curtains and antiques. The room had a fireplace, CD player, DVD player and soft carpet. The bathroom had marble walls, Waterworks fixtures, a hydrotherapy tub, and Bulgari bath amenities. The counter was stocked with a shaving kit, dental kit and sewing kit. The writing desk was supplied with several bestsellers and a new pack of playing cards.
There was a chilled bottle of wine waiting in our room upon arrival, and four Belgian chocolates in a beautiful botx at turndown.
The hotel offers wine and cheese every night in the library and breakfast is included in the room rate. This morning, the breakfast menu was a bowl of strawberries, assorted pastries and a ham and cheese crepe, plus juice and coffee.
The restraurant Cyrus downstairs is fabulous, but you'll need to book ahead to get a reservation at a good time. The food was exceptionally good, as was the wine knowledge of the staff. (If you can't get in, there are several other good restaurant choices within a one block walk.)
The pool is not finished yet, but it is supposed to be completed in three weeks.
The hotel includes a note in the confirmation that the property is not suitable for children under sixteen.
We found the parking situation slightly confusing, as there isn't a hotel lot, but there is actually plenty of nearby street parking.

Helpful?
33 Thank paloaltomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
8.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Address: 27 North St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2005 and created by the Mars family, Hotel Les Mars brings the elegance and unobtrusive service of the finest European family hotels to Northern California. Hotel Les Mars follows the philosophy that patrons should be treated more like visiting friends than guests, and upon entering the lobby, visitors are welcomed to the warm smiles of the hotel staff, unique 17th and 18th century antiques, and a comfort found only at the home of a very good friend. Hotel Les Mars represents an intimate location, a labor of love, and a new dimension of sophisticated, luxury lodging in wine country. Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report, the definitive guide to luxury travel, commented that "Les Mars now sets the standard for luxury accommodations in Sonoma." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Mars, Relais And Chateaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing