We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dining experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyrus Restaurant - CLOSED

Cyrus Restaurant
Price range: $50 - $65
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best dining experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hearing that Cyrus is being forced to close its doors by it's landlord led to to my flying cross country for one last dinner before they close this weekend. I had the best meal I have ever had, and that includes France and Italy. This is for diners looking for an experience, not for the average diner looking for steak or a more usual meal. Chef Keane's creative ability to create complex flavors that mix together into a taste sensation with every bite is a real gift. The service is impeccable, yet not formal or stuffy. This was by far the most expensive dinner I have ever had and worth every penny. I look forward to whatever the next restaurant that Doug opens. I will be there for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    37
    28
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible Service and Sumptuous Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our dinner at Cyrus was amazing. The service was incredible. No request was denied. We asked for a rare Vodka, Beluga. They not only had it but served it properly at subzero temperature in Beluga shot glasses. We were so surprised that they had these shot glasses and asked if we could buy them. They said, "Of course". When we ordered our meal we asked if we could substitute a cheese course for dessert. They said:"No problem". No request was denied. The presentation of food was balanced, between meat, fowl and fish and artfully prepared. We did not leave hungry, and the dessert tray at the end was fantastic. For the money, this Restaurant surpasses Benu, Meadowood, Manresa, etc. We are so sorry that Cyrus is closing and hope that Chef Douglas will open another restaurant soon. Kudos to you and your staff. Babamae

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babamae1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akc1982
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Maybe my expectations were too high, but I did not enjoy this restaurant. I am willing to spend $$$$$ on an excellent meal, but unfortunatley, Cyrus was not excellent, but was very expensive.

The service seemed snooty, but was very attentive. The ambiance is nice, if not a little stiff. But the food was the most disappointing part. Nothing really stood out and overall the meal was very average. We had the 5 course meal.The amouse bouche was bad and the next two courses were just ok. The "entree" or two bites was good, but not enough to save this meal.

On the positive side, the dessert and sweet cart at the end were very good.

Overall, I am disappointed I spend one of my three nights in Healdsburg at this restuarant. I'm also disappointed to have dropped big bucks on this very average meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank akc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Catering for the 1%?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We heard so much about this restaurant and were looking forward to our first visit. The restaurant is very busy: on a Monday night it was practically full.

After we got to our table, a waiter brought a set of menus. They contained only champagne and caviar. We noticed a caviar and champagne trolly being pushed around. Were we expected to order champagne and caviar before dinner? In the end we ordered a glass of sparkling wine and asked for food menus which were brought promptly. The waiter started to explain in some detail the eight course menu. We were interested only in the five course menu. Felt a little bit embarrassed by this introduction and asked ourselves if the restaurant caters for people who are a in a different category (the 1%?).

We have dietary restrictions (no dairy). There are two five course menus, one of them vegetarian, and we were able to select from both in order to avoid dietary issues. However, the kitchen could not find any reasonable non-diary replacement for desserts.

Some of the courses we ordered were really outstanding matching restaurant's reputation. These include the Thai lobster with avocado and a pesto type vinaigrette containing basil, mint, and cilantro; the King salmon with chanterelles; some of the extra amuse-bouches with which the Chef was very generous. However, we did not like much the wagyu beef (slightly smoked and slightly chewy), the sashimi (the fish was overpowered by too many add-ons), and the tofu (rather bland).

Oustanding, attentive service in particular from lower level personnel (it seems each employee knows all the ingredients of each course), though rather stiff from the “higher-ups”.

Overall, a very interesting experience that unfortunately we are not going to repeat: there are many great gourmet restaurants in SF Bay area which are simply “more user friendly”.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 621VladC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beyond food, a celebration of flavors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Before picking Cyrus for our joint birthday treat, we compared tasting menus offered by French Laundry in Napa and Gary Danko in San Francisco. Of the 3, we thought Cyrus had the most interesting menu.
We chose the 8-course menu. We ate so many wonderful things, frankly we're hard put to remember them all.  Following are the memorable standouts: scallops with crusty topping accompanied by creamy sweet corn sauce and lobster froth; fresh bread basket with sweet butter (brioche was delish); tomato water infused with macerated basil; selection of raw sheep's milk cheeses from the French Pyrenees; toasted foccacia studded with pecans and dried apricots; "smashed" ice cream; assorted cookies and hard candy to take home in a gift box; exceptional coffee.
The smashed ice cream deserves special mention. Served on a Japanese ceramic plate, it looks like shredded white cheddar cheese. But the first mouthful tells you this is dessert like nothing you've ever tasted. I'd give a lot to learn the recipe. Another special mention is the Walter Hansel Chardonnay. Primo white wine. Small complaint, the second glass was a very stingy pour given the $20 price per glass.
As one might expect, service was impeccable. We were served by no less than a half dozen people throughout the evening.  Each course arrived promptly, fresh plates and silverware at every turn. The waiter/sommelier who spent the most time with us (the sole Latino server) was warm, cheerful & helpful.
Overall, we were impressed with the quality of the food & service. Beyond food, the evening was a celebration of flavors. Every course was light, perfectly wrought and exquisitely presented. The influence of Japanese cuisine was everywhere apparent.

Helpful?
1 Thank MakiWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyrus Restaurant also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing