We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Visit Winery”
Review of Dry Creek Vineyard

Dry Creek Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 158 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award Winning Family Owned Winery: beautiful picnic grounds, tasting room, private tastings, free Wi-Fi, a wide selection of wines including rare single-vineyard wines. David Stare founded Dry Creek Vineyard in 1972. Winemaking emphasis is on grapes from select Sonoma County vineyards, chosen for quality and character. Fume Blanc, Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Zinfandel, Dry Chenin Blanc, Reserve Chardonnay and Meritage are produced. Dry Creek has received over 1,000 medals for wines in 40 years.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must Visit Winery”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was not on the list of wineries to visit, but I am so glad I did. This is their 41st anniversary and they are clearly doing something right. I had a wonderful wine tasting that covered the whole spectrum of their reds and discovered some new gems. Their Zinfandels are delicious and the surprise was the Petite Zin Rose. Some people still associate Rose with a syrupy sweet wine and Dry Creek dispelled that completely. The Petite Zin Rose is a crisp approachable wine that shows the character of the zinfandel while still letting hints of strawberry come through. It is perfect for summer months. Dry Creek's Meritage was also a pleasant surprise and lived up to its name completely.
While you are there, enjoy the picnic grounds and the beautiful surroundings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bikemanfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Well we're very glad you dropped by! We're so glad you enjoyed our Zinfandel, Petite Zin Rose, and Meritage. We're very well known for our Zinfandel, Blancs (Fume Blanc, Chenin Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc), Meritage, & Cabernet Sauvignon. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    55
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasting experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The staff here is dedicated, helpful, generous, and service-oriented. They genuinely want to help you discover their wines and find the one(s) that will appeal to you the most. Feel free to ask questions and tell them what you like. They have some nice picnic tables outdoors for enjoying your purchase(s).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Wow - we are dedicated, helpful, generous, AND service-oriented. What a great review - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip to a Great Winery”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our visit was very enjoyable. Beautiful outside area for picnics. The wine tasting was excellent and the crew very helpful. Would certainly visit next time in Healdsburg.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank flpa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Healdsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This winery is a great experience with superior wines! I am a wine club member so there is no fee for tasting but the fee is waived with purchase of wine. I have taken several people to this winery when they are visiting me in Sonoma county and everyone has remarked on how friendly and accommodating the staff are at this tasting room. Their wines are so good that we always buy at least one or two bottles to take home. I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Vmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for bringing so many of your friends to Dry Creek Vineyard! That is one of the best compliments we can receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Napa Valley Love!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If this is your first time traveling through the Napa Valley - you will HAVE to stop by and meet the wonderful team at Dry Creek Vineyard. Joe was our tasting room host and was extremely knowledgeable, hospitable and shared his passion for wine and the Napa valley with my friend who was a first time Napa traveler.

Make sure to pick up a case of the Chenin Blanc! It's fabulous crisp, honey and fruitful finish will dazzle your senses!

Cheers!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael L, Manager at Dry Creek Vineyard, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you Cynthia! The Chenin Blanc is one of our most popular wines here in Dry Creek Valley. We've been making it for over 40 years and it is truly in the Loire valley style. It has nice aromas of white peach, melon, and citrus with pleasant mineral flavors. Summertime in a bottle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Creek Vineyard also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Dry Creek Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing