We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambiance”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: At Zin, our menu offers a mix of familiar favorites from classic American fare and original creations inspired by regional specialties. Our menu changes often and reflects our commitment to seasonal food. Our food is prepared from local ingredients showcasing the best of what our region has to offer.
ukiah california, usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice ambiance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The restaurant itself is very charming. It's been a while since I ate there. However, if my memory serves me I found it extremely average. I remember thinking with every course that it was going to get better, but it never did. Of course the wine list was good as Healdsburg has become a popular wine country destination. I haven't ever returned, and with good reason.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leia8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We're sorry to hear your experience with us was disappointing. Since it was so long ago, we think you should give us another chance. I can promise you we've grown leaps and bounds since your last visit. Given another opportunity, we'll definitely wow you.

Thanks for sharing your experience. See you soon we hope!

Take care,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    104
    32
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, very pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very enjoyable dinner with very personal staff. It was a quiet night, we received some personal recommendations from the owner. Classy styling and the food was very good. I would recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for this great review, Jack. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere during your dinner with us. Please come and see us again on your next trip out here.

Best,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This resturant is not a chain. It has history with it's local owners / chef. The building is charming country style. The menu is very limited. Although the staff very helpful and friendly, the food was just ok for being pricy. Enjoyed a walk around town afterwards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review, Michelle. I'm glad you enjoyed our atmosphere and service. I just wish our food would've wowed you as well. Do you have any feedback as to what we could do to make our dishes better? I'm sure the kitchen staff would love to know.

Overall, it sounds like you had a great trip to California. We're glad you came by and would love another chance to impress you when you come back.

Until then,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVED THE STEAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Mmmmm, we had a great steak at Zin restaurant with a nice glass of wine! In the center of Healdsburg. Nice venue!
Price/Quality = GREAT

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Laurien, thanks for your 5-star review! We're glad you enjoyed your steak and wine during your visit with us. Please come back and see us again the next time you're in the area.

Best,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service great..food not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Called for reservation and told "if I move things around I can find a table because we are busy". Upon arrival restaurant was half full and remained that way the entire meal. Service was excellent and very knowledgeable. Fried Green Beans are excellent. Chicken and dumplings was bland and difficult to eat. Not easy to cut chicken off the bone while navigating the veggies and dumplings. Was not a "comfort" meal. Husband had pork chop. Good flavor in the smoking but stuffing has dry. Roasted peach sorbet was sad. There were several tables of locals celebrating events which made the place feel warm and friendly. Perhaps we just picked the wrong entrees.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We wish our food was as memorable as our service and atmosphere during your visit, Lisa. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

I'll be sure to pass along your comments on the dishes you ordered to the kitchen staff. If you do decide to give us another chance on your next trip to the area, I can tell you we've gotten great feedback on our Grilled Angus Hanger Steak.

Thanks again,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing