We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Birthday Treat”
Review of Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At Zin, our menu offers a mix of familiar favorites from classic American fare and original creations inspired by regional specialties. Our menu changes often and reflects our commitment to seasonal food. Our food is prepared from local ingredients showcasing the best of what our region has to offer.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Birthday Treat”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't know anything about this restaurant, but it looked interesting from the outside, so we decided to give it a try. The inside is very homey and welcoming. The service is good, and the food is delicious. My husband and I both enjoyed our food -- and I am a vegetarian and my husband has many dietary restrictions. The wine was wonderful and overall I look forward to returning soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank standpood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your birthday—thank you for celebrating with us! We hope you'll join us again next year.

Take care,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    104
    32
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pork chop is awesome!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We ate at Zin on the recommendation of our innkeeper in Healdsburg who assured me that the pork chop was something so special that I'd never regret ordering it. I am not generally enthused about ordering pork chops in restaurants since growing up in Iowa it tended to be a staple at my family's dinner table, but since our innkeeper was spot-on on virtually every other recommendation, I decided to go for it. What an amazing dinner! I have never, in my ENTIRE life, had a pork chop that tasted that fantastic. It was at once smoky and delicate with a delicious suggestion of barbeque. My husband ordered the pasta dish with asparagus that was equally awesome. The service was wonderful as well. This dining experience has stayed with us even after another full week of eating at very special restaurants in the area! Highly, highly recommend Zin for a terrific dinner experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Kimberly, thanks so much for your excellent review. We're glad to hear your innkeeper recommended us, and that you were impressed. It's so wonderful to hear you were blown away by our pork chop—what a great compliment! We appreciate your rave review, and hope you'll both stop back in the next time you're in the area.

Take care,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it used to be.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Food was tasty, but salmon was dry. It was a Sunday night, so the provisions may have been from the day before. Service was great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TxTiebreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review for us. I'm happy to hear everything was good, and that the service was great. I'm disappointed, however, that the salmon was dry, and assure you we prepare our food fresh every evening. That said, I'm sorry for the dry dish, and would love the opportunity to show you how amazing our salmon can be—I know we can impress you!

Cheers,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“fried green beans--yum”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Four of us went to Zin on a Friday night. The place was packed, but service very good and everyone enjoyed what they ordered. Try the fried green beans for a starter. It was a winner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review! I'm glad you were able to have a great time, despite our packed dining room, and that service and dinner were excellent. We appreciate your recommendation of the fried green beans and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“We always return to Zin”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On of our very favorites in Healdsburg. Excellent food with an emphasis on California local meats and produce. Service is excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for your review, John. I'm glad to hear we're one of your favorites! I'll be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon,
Scott Silva
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing