We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Locally Sourced Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barndiva

Barndiva
Ranked #10 of 95 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Matheson
Transit: County Transit Bus 60, Healdsburg Plaza
Description: It's hard to describe the Barndiva experience. And a web site is no substitution for being able to sit back and enjoy the beauty of an extraordinary space, the taste of a perfect cocktail, or the satisfaction that comes from a meal that hits all the right notes in you. Barndiva is a celebration of all things local. Our food is sourced from farmers, ranchers and small batch purveyors who live and work in the magnificent food shed surrounding us. Food is our passion. In everything we do, it all starts there. Thanks for visiting.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Locally Sourced Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a very nice meal at Barndiva--a real localvore place. A bit of a funny place though--I had made reservations well in advance and was only able to get a fairly late time (9:30 pm), but we had arrived early (9:00 pm) and the place was pretty empty (?), so we were able to get seated. For as empty as it was (on a Sat. night), the service was pretty spotty--looked like lots of flustered servers running around (going where, I haven't the faintest). Took awhile to order drinks, longer to get drinks. That said, cool interior with funky art work around. Sort of limited menu, but what we did order was delicious. I had the sashimi starter and the roast chicken, my husband had the soup and scallop dish. All was really very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sillygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    129
    50
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradox-Worst Service with Great Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We returned to Barndiva having had a great meal two years earlier... from the haughty greeting upon arrival, to being ignored by the bartender when we sat down to a slight wait (as he chatted with another staff member), to the wait staff who wouldn't wait on us once we got seated - it was simply bizarre. Our server rushed past us several times without so much as a glance to the point where we starting making fun of it. The only thing that was positive was the food-tuna appetizer and pork tenderloin dish was simply fabulous. Finally got a manager's attention who comped the bill, and apologized profusely but didn't appear to want to hear that the problem was with the wait staff and not the kitchen. Kept blaming issue on the kitchen and a large order but we would have patiently waited and not been nearly as irritated had the several wait staff whom we encountered been, quite simply, pleasant to us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NortheastJSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad attitude does not ruin great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had 7pm reservation Sunday evening but just arriving from the east coast and hungry we walked in at 530 to an almost empty restaurant. The rather terse hostess said we could not be seated . that the seating was very important to the efficiency of the kitchen, etc and what an unpleasant woman as she admonished us for wanting to eat earlier..There were only 2tables occupied. She then offered a table on the patio(it had been raining all day) which we took as we were tired. Our waiter was good tho no one delivered our desert and we had to go in and ask for it.
The food was outstanding. We had the beet salad, lobster risotto, cheese plate, salmon, filet,.
All was wonderful.
At 7:20 as we stood up to leave...still at least 2 tables were empty.
Did we love the food? Yes
Did we love the place? Yes
Will we ever go there again? Nope

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
Level Contributor
361 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food with a bistro atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were there while on business. Sat outside for a cocktail before our table was ready (it would have been great to sit outdoors, but wasn't available). The restaurant is fairly noisy when it fills up, so be prepared for that. And it's busy, prepare for that also. All of our food was excellent, and the staff was very friendly. The only downside was that a lot of our food took forever to come out. They must have had some kind of problem which they recognized, as the apologized and brought us several free dishes which were fantastic. The lobster risotto was spectacular (and we're from Maine!) They source all their food locally, and it all tastes fresh and fantastic. They have an extensive and varied, if somewhat expensive, wine and spirits list. We recommend it highly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Meal...wish we would have had seating outside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great meal. Loved the food and had excellent service. The only negative was I found the hostess to be a bit snotty. When making the reservation I thought I had requested outdoor seating, but she said I had not and didn't even make any attempt to accommodate. But our meal was wonderful and our server was top of the line, really nice and very welcoming. I would go back (and eat as much lobster rissotto as could). Only next time I will make sure I get the table on the back patio in writing before I arrive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmth308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barndiva also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Barndiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing