We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Healdsburg stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Healdsburg stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed here several times before with very good experiences, so I hesitate to just give it a 3-rating. But this time, we were put in a room so small, that there was no room for a desk or even one straight back chair. The heat seemed to be either full blast or off. AND there was no extra blanket in the room. The bed just had the double sheet (with a thin blanket between the sheets) and a strip of material (like a table runner) across the bottom of the bed. No bedspread and no extra blanket. And with the temperature dropping into the 30s, it got very cold during the night.

Room Tip: Check carefully when you are booking online. They have lots of "tricks" to prevent you fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Teresa,
We apologize for the inconveniences. Due to sanitary reasons, we recently eliminated the use of bedspreads. We do provide extra blankets when our guests requests them but seems like it might be more efficient to simply have them in the rooms for convenience. We thank you for the feedback and we will be looking into this for future improvement.

Sincerely,
Kam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    39
    29
    23
See reviews for
24
49
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The thing to remember here is not to confuse America's Best Value with America's best quality! We stayed here for one night, not our first choice of accommodation but we got to Healdsburg later than expected so our choice was limited. From the outside the Inn looked smart although I didn't like the surrounding area much and wouldn't have felt happy to walk to the shops after dark.
The best aspect of our stay was the very cheap walk-in rate and for what we paid it was reasonable value. It would have been good if the receptionist had apologized for the wait at check-in while she finished her phone call and better still if she'd mentioned that breakfast was included in the room rate (unless of course she thought breakfast wasn't worth mentioning)! The room seemed clean enough although there was a slightly odd smell in the bathroom and a stickiness to the floor I preferred not to think about. The air conditioning was noisy and the bed wasn't very comfortable. We had trouble persuading the TV to change channels and phoned for advice, which didn't help at all.
If you're booking in advance there must be better options for somewhere to stay in Healdsburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiepDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We apologize that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback and will evaluate our procedure to improve service to our guests.

Sincerely,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Healdsburg hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I travel to the Healdsburg area about once or twice a year for work. This past trip my co-workers and I stayed at the America's Best Value Inn & Suites... I stayed in 2 different rooms throughout the week, one had wood-like floors and the other had carpet. The hotel is really cheap during the week and is a pretty good value... the price nearly doubles on fri, sat, & sun so watch out for that. To begin, I will say that the front desk person had a very thick accent and was really hard to understand... it was nearly impossible to converse with him on the phone so I finally said, "I'll just come by and book a room". Not his fault, but a bit of a frustrating start. Next, the room I was given hadn't been cleaned yet when I got there... so after asking to have it cleaned I had to wait in the parking lot in my vehicle for 15 minutes while it was prepared. Once cleaned, I got into the room and it wasn't half bad. The bed was pretty nice and the T.V. was a newer flat screen. I had no problems with the wi-fi durning my stay. The bathroom was pretty nice too with decent pressure in the shower head. The hotel does have a good location right off the highway and close to downtown H-burg. All-in-all, I can't put my finger on why, but the room was just average. I would stay there again, but it certainly isn't my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,
We sincerely appreciate your feedback we do hope you choose our property for your future stay. Our normal check-in time is after 2:00 pm however we do offer early check-in when requested in advance and when possible.
Thank you,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

You get exactly what you'd expect from a hotel with these prices. Cleaner and a little nicer than we expected. A perfect location to visit wineries and the square. Beds were comfortable, pillows a little hard. Good Wi-Fi excellent showers and very quiet. Not too many dog friendly places in Healdsburg and this has a much better location and nicer rooms than the BW in Dry Creek. Don't expect much at breakfast. Swimming pool and flat screen tvs. Everything worked well in the room. Can't ask for more at these prices.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room in the new building (about 6 years old); the older one story building has bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We continaully strive to provide the best overall value to our guests. We sincerely hope you will come stay with us again.
Thank you,
Kam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Inn was quite comfortable and clean. The price is about half of other places I tried to book, so we thought we'd give it a try. It was a bit dated, but perfectly fine. There was an outdoor hot tub and small swimming pool. The breakfast was minimal, but satisfactory. Good value for sure!

Room Tip: One of our rooms had a jacuzzi right in the middle of the sitting room! Interesting!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We understand that you have many choices for your lodging needs and we are delighted you choose to stay with us.
Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

There was hair in the shower. The mini fridge had a weeks-old leftover salad from a previous desk. There was a rotting lime under the bed. Shouldn't I expect more for $200/night?

On the plus side, it's near downtown and they allow dogs for a small fee ($15/night).

Next time I'd rather camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamthewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We regret the room cleanliness issues you encountered and apologize for the inconveniences. We are taking steps to prevent them in the future which will involve better training of our housekeeping staff.
Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We weren't expecting anything from this place. We'd decided to go to Healdsburg last-minute so all the posher places were full. But! This place was great. Large, clean room. Breakfast isn't exactly cordon-bleu, but what do you wnat for this price? Healdsburg Plaza a 10 minute walk away. Great value place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Parker,
Thank you very much for your comments. We sincerely appreciate it and will continue to provide the best value to for our guests.

Sincerely,
Kam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing