We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Motel. No frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Basic Motel. No frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Basic with no frills. A bed a bathroom and shower. Fairly clean. Park within feet of your room. Prices in this wine area are steep so this is a reasonable alternative. They should reprint the door to the room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We do appreciate the feedback and let us know if there is anything we can do to improve our service or the value we provide.

Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    39
    29
    23
See reviews for
24
49
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

It's a very affordable place to stay in Healdsburg. The rooms are extremely basic, a bed a small desk and a bathroom. The wireless does not work, which was disappointing. The best part about the hotel is its proximity to the central downtown area of Healdsburg, several restaurants and shops are all within walking distance which is great since you will spend most of your time drinking wine. If you're looking for value and convenience of location this is a good place to stay. If you want more upscale this is not it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkv018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments. I do apologize about the wifi issues. We were in the middle of switching internet service to a new compay and therefore the service was down thru the weekend. The work is now complete and I can happily say that internet access is now available at the property with much greater bandwidth than before. We hope to see you once again in the future.

Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed two nights here and while the room was clean and comfortable some of the amenities needed improvement. First off they advertised WIFI, but the signal was so weak in our room that it was unusable. We were given a short cable to plug into a wall outlet so we had internet connection if we sat at the desk in the room. We had wanted to watch a movie on Netflix in bed since there were no premium channels available on the TV service. That leads to the second shortcoming, which was the dish TV system was inoperable when we arrived. The manager was able to get it working but the service dropped out a few times and the system was very cumbersome to use. Lastly the continental breakfast was pathetic, two types of cold cereal and packaged bagels, no fruit at all.
On the plus side the manager was friendly and did upgrade our room at no additional cost when it found out it was our anniversary.
For the price It wasn,t a bad place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brash1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience at our property. I would like to mention that we are in the process of switching our WiFi service to Comcast which will provide much greater bandwidth so all our guests can enjoy a stronger signal strength and download capabilities. We will continue to improve this free amenity. Our TV service was also recently changed over to Dish Network where we now provide over 100 channels including local channels, several ESPN and various news outlets. There are also several movie channels. I have to agree, the remote control is a bit complicated with so many buttons but are always glad to help. Regarding the complimentary continental breakfast, due to lack of space and configuration of our lobby, we are unable to expand the offering. We feel that offering choices of cereals, toasts, bagels, coffee and juices adds value to our guests and will continue offering them. We will however continue to find alternative ways to improve our offering and value.

Thank you once again and we hope you continue your patronage.
Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here on Good Friday night 2012. This property has been gutted and rebuilt from the studs up. It has beautiful and spacious rooms that are more like a suite. My kids and I loved it! We didn't feel crowded at all. The breakfast options were narrow, but the food was fresh and good. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We wished the pool had a hot tub too, but it does not. It was too cold to swim so we didn't try the pool. I loved the desk and minibar and all the little extras. Bonus - In our room with a king bed and sofa bed there are 2 TV's! Awesome!

Room Tip: I would like to try the suite next time. They look like little cottages from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our property has undergone an extensive renovation and we are continuously striving to make sure we offer the best accommodations and the best value for the money. I did want to mention that our property has a hot tub however due to the lack of use during the rainy season, it was not heated. I apologize for this inconvenience. This effort has mainly allowed us to conserve energy during the winter months. We are very consious about being a green business and are doing everythign we can to conserve our natural resources. The hot tub can be heated within 20 minutes upon request. However, with spring upon us, it is now heated and operational continuously.

Thank you and we hope to see you again real soon.
Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was the last affordable room in the town , becasue it was the Art Festival weekend.

The room was clean and had plenty of towels.

We had two double beds, not real comfortable! The bathroom did not have a light over the sink.

It did have a small fridge and microwave.

We were within walking distance to the town square as well as fast food and a market.

The draw back is the had to walk about 1/3 block in a very busy road, becasue the hotel thinks it is more important to have flowers in front of their hotel instead of a safe place for the customers to walk. I would want this changed right away!!

I would not stay here again if I could find a hotel in the same price range and with a side walk. We paid $200.00 for one night with the tax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments. I would like to inform you that the city of Healdsburg has been working on revitalizing the central Healdsburg corridor which we hope will include new sidewalks and bicycle lanes so guests can safely walk or bike from our property to downtown. From a property level standpoint, unfortunately we cannot make these changes. We are hoping and urging the city to start this project soon. We do have access to Healdsburg avenue thru the rear of our property onto Exchange avenue where generally there is very little traffic and guests can get to the part of Healdsburg Avenue with sidewalks.
We will be sure to inform future guests about this alternate access.
Thank you very much for your business and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

These guys totally screwed us. We booked on Hotwire and when we asked for two double beds, they said "that'll cost you the difference between your Hotwire price and our rack rate." Since we didn't want to sleep in the same bed (two guys working in the area), they knew they had us over a barrel... they said "we'll give you a great rate the NEXT time you come." thanks but no thanks.. there won't be a next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear guest,
We sincerely regret this incident and apologize for the inconvenience. This is one of the down sides when booking at sites like Hotwire or Priceline. These online booking companies, who we contract with, have very strict rules for us. They do not allow us to make any changes to reservations. They also charge very large commissions for every booking we receive through them so if we were to further discount the rooms or change rooms types to ones that are typically higher rates, small properties like ours don't actually make any money at all. My recommendation for all our guests is to book directly with any property and also feel free to request the rate you see on line so that way we have the most amount of flexibility in terms of making changes and in the process provide some decent margin for the property. It provides incentive to both parties when booking direct.
We which we could have done better for you and regret that were unable to.
Sincerely,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Healdsburg hotels

Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

it's right off the Central Healdsburg exit and is a 2 block walk from the Plaza and downtown. the location is amazing!

the room was funny. there was a red stain on the carpet (surprisingly not wine) and some random smears on the bathroom and bedroom walls. the lamps all had the plastic covering on them. they had dispensers for shampoo and soap. still though, the bed was comfortable and clean as were the towels. can't ask for more given the location and the price.

the pool and hot tub are open from 9am to 9:30pm. this was perfect for a post dinner soak and midafternoon swim on a hot day. i'd stay here again just for the pool!

the breakfast was laughable. don't bother. the room has two tables and little room for all the guests to maneuver around each other. they had whole milk for the stale cereal. one half of the toaster wasn't working and the apple juice was so watered down it looked like water. go and frequent the Downtown Bakery instead. you will be much happier.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvishealdsburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our property's proximity to Downtown Healdsburg Plaza and the Russian River Memorial Beach are two of the reasons why many people choose to stay with us. We also strive to provide the best accommodation at the best price compared to any other property in the area.
Regarding our rooms, we have implemented several green initiatives to reduce our carbon footprint. One of them is through the use of soap, shampoo and lotion dispensers. Many properties use individually packaged soap and individual plastic shampoo and lotion bottles. These create large amounts of waste that end up in landfills. By using dispensers, we are eliminating a large quantity of plastics going into our landfill. This is just one of the ways we are trying to reduce waste and be a responsible business. For guests who prefer individual packaged items, we do have a small stock of these items on hand but would prefer them to use dispensers. If you have other suggestions to help reduce waste and conserve energy, please let us know. We would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you,
Kam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 74 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites just completed a major expansion and renovation project. We now have a total of 36 units consisting standard Queen beds, Standard King beds, Two room King bed suites and Two room King bed suites with in room Jacuzzi. Please see the accommodations page for additional information and pictures of our rooms. We are centrally located in Healdsburg, right off the Central Healdsburg Exit traveling north bound on Hwy 101. The Famous Healdsburg Town Square is a short walk of only two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value Hotel Healdsburg
America`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Americas Best Value Inn Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing