We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for gluten-free”
Review of Chalkboard

Chalkboard
Ranked #8 of 98 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Healdsburg Avenue
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
498 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great for gluten-free”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great gluten-free options, not just the usual stuff. Very good cocktails, nice atmosphere, really good food. They have small plates.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    133
    46
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't forget the doughnuts”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The food is delicious and creative. Sonoma County locally grown produce with a nice variety of choices for foodies. Share the small plates with your friends, bring a bottle of your favorite Sonoma County wine and don't forget to save room for the doughnut of the day special. A friendly staff and nice atmosphere makes it easy to get caught up on the daily grind or just have some laughs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crabbieontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“With so many great restaurants in the area, you should pass on this one”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Chalkboard could be a great restaurant with a nice bar, indoor and out door areas but it is not.
There were three of us. We all had salads were way over dressed. My wife had a tuna crudo which was just pain awful. The fish had been cut wrong and it looked like part of the heart was included. They had a special cocktail which I ordered only to find out that they did not have the ingredients and they sent some to fetch them. I eventually got my cocktail towards the end of the meal. They did not charge me for it but I was not looking for a free cocktail but one that I could start my meal.
The staff was nice if somewhat untrained.
I certainly hope this restaurant gets its act together.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Nice Evening”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Nice atmosphere, great service, and excellent food. Two of us shared the chopped salad (delicious), a pasta dish (outstanding flavor) and the sliders (perfectly cooked). Our waitress was exceptional...very very nice with gentle attentive service. Three dishes were plenty and with their cheapest bottle of wine, we walked away thinking the $75 was worth it. We live locally and will definitely bring company or family back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere...strange size servings”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The vaulted ceilings are very attractive and Mediterranean. The acoustics were great even though it was packed and there were many people talking. We could hear each other with no problem.

The servings were for four people...salads were very tiny and barely served one person. Scallops were very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank russianhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalkboard also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Chalkboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing