We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and fabulous small plate dining”
Review of Chalkboard

Chalkboard
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Healdsburg Avenue
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun and fabulous small plate dining”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went with a group of 14 friends to Chalkboard and we had a fabulous time. We ordered a lot of food and got to taste a wide variety of culinary delights. The wine list has a lot of good wines at all price points so you can have a wonderful meal dining on small plates with lovely wines. This is a great place to go with a group since the menu has a lot of variety and it's fun to share and try new things.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    133
    46
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, lovely time!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a party of 8 (plus a baby) in our group. We had run a half marathon earlier in the day, so we were all ready to eat.

Our table was ready when we arrived for our reservation, and they were even so thoughtful as to pick a space that would work well for an infant carrier. The server explained the specials to us and gave us a chance to talk it over.

We quickly came up with our order of about 15+ items (hey, there were a lot of us!), and she arranged them to come out lightest to heavier. One of the members of our party has a dairy allergy, and she not only went back to the kitchen to ask the cooks about cooking some of our dishes dairy-free, she made careful suggestions and pointed out to us as each dish arrived which ones our friend needed to avoid. We were impressed by her attention to detail.

While I'd love to see a more robust wine menu (being so close to Sonoma and all!), we were pleased with the drinks. Three members of our groups had cocktails that they all enjoyed, and we had two other bottles of wine at the table as well.

Don't miss the honey pork belly sliders, scallops, tagliatelle, and gelato. Maybe okay to skip: the beef tartare.

Fun atmosphere, great servers, stellar food. Bravo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coloradoamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Interesting Tapas menu”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited in August 2013 based on good recommendations. This is a tapas (small plates) restaurant with some interesting and unusual items on the menu. We had two servers wait on us and one was more knowledgeable than the other about the menu. We ordered six items in all but one was lost in translation and so only five were delivered and it was enough.

Service though was pretty good. We ordered a trio of Blue Cheese Sliders and asked for one to eliminate the blue cheese - which my wife does not like. They accommodated that request and even remade the slider when it arrive "too rare" for her liking.

Overall quality of food was very good. We ordered the decadent Candy Bar dessert and one or two bites were about all you can eat of this rich dessert.

I do think this type of restaurant is more fun for three or four people where you can order more choices and try just a bite or two of more items.

This is well worth your time and dining dollar as long as you are willing to try a few new things.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Kal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small is beautiful”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Chalkboard is a pretty new restaurant and there are a few kinks to work out, but the early experience was very good. There is a wide choice of small plates at reasonable prices, so that ir can work well for groups from two and up. The wine choices were good in a town saturated with wine. Service was also good, though as the restaurant filled up, service waffled a bit and the restaurant became quite noisy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good if you're into small plates”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Small plates and tapas are very trendy, but if dividing up very small plates of food among your group doesn't sound appealing, you might want to think twice. We ordered several small plates, some we just loved (beet salad), others, not so much. If you're more than a couple, you really need to double up on the small plates, if this is dinner. Ambiance was nice, albeit a bit crowded. Service was very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalkboard also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Chalkboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing