We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Madrona Manor Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Madrona Manor Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 96 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: West Dry Creek Road
Description: Guests have all five of their senses enlivened at Healdsburg's most romantic destination. Inventive cuisine, a stunning backdrop and impeccable service create a welcome retreat "worthy of a journey". Madrona Manor captures the rich culture of wine, food and nature inherent to the region. A stellar wine list expresses the varied bounty of the local vintners as well as global sources. Chef Mallgren prepares New Californian cuisine using the finest ingredients available in the county, as well as greens, vegetables, herbs and fruit from our gardens. Visitors can stroll through the beautiful gardens which meander up the hillside just beyond the mansion. One Star Michelin - Michelin Guides San Francisco, Bay Area and Wine Country Restaurants Top 100 Bay Area Restaurants - San Francisco Chronicle
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The $129 tasting menu in this restaurant by far is the best one I have ever had since a long time. The food was exceptionally delicious. The presentation was beautiful and creative in every dish and they all tasted good. You can tell the chef put so much thoughts in to his work to make everything perfect. The service was flawless. If you are thinking about impressing your date or celebrate a special event, I highly recommend this place. Compared with Saison in SF, this place is half the price and the food is twice the quality. I felt completely satisfied and happy after walking out of this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trinh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    33
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, but horrendously bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This restaurant is gorgeous, absolutely breath-taking. My fiance and I ate on the porch and it was beautiful and so romantic. The service was also great. And the chef was so nice. We really wanted to like this place, but we were so disappointed. We live in NYC and have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world (in Italy, Spain, France, Germany, etc.), and so we do have high expectations. But the dinner at Madrona was horrible. The first 2 courses were good, but then they went downhill so fast. One of the courses (it had rabbit, lobster and bacon?!) was so bad that my fiance couldn't finish it. And my vegetarian option was 3 roasted carrots, a pesto glaze and a mini-potato, garnished with 3 dandelions. WHAT? Not acceptable for the level we expected. And the dessert was so disappointed. My fiance couldn't finish his-- the gelatenous blob actually bounced (according to him, it had the texture of an octopus's tentacle). And my goat cheese "macaroon" was really just 2 slices of merangue with goat cheese spread in the middle. Seriously? So disappointing. Maybe we were there on an off-night, but we were annoyed and upset that we wasted an evening of our vacation there. I have a feeling that the restaurant used to be great, but that it has recently declined.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LANYC1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
193 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pretentious and ungenerous”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

From start to finish (which took quite a while - much time between courses), this restaurant is striking for the really tiny portions and annoyingly pretentious service. In addition to many courses, there were a number of particularly tiny (half a spoonful) of precourse items - e.g., squab liver mousse before squab. Cheese course - looked like a decent tray - came with a lengthy, memorized talk delivered like something learned for a high school English class - while the server carved slivers of each cheese without giving any choices. And taking the "cake" was freeze-dried dessert - mixture of cream/flavors with liquid nitrogen in dramatic display leading to a large spoonful of ice cream. (Probably crepes suzette are now so passe that the restaurant needed some other flourish to produce a dessert.) Desserts did taste OK at least.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A staggering experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

As others have pointed out, this really is a special culinary experience.
I booked this as a special meal for our engagement and the staff congratulated us upon arriving and had presented special menus for us to take home - a lovely touch.
The setting is superb - it was a blisteringly hot day so we sat in the patio area and had a lovely view of the grounds. We went for the 10 course tasting menu which though very expensive is worth it for a one off. My girlfriend chose to have the wine pairings (10 separate wines - better take it easy!) and she said they were thoughtful and complimented the meals well.

The food itself was creative and the chefs brought out little treats in-between which was a nice touch. Taste wise there were some heavenly plates although the foie gras should probably be omitted. The staff were very attentive and took time to chat and explain the plates.

We had a most delightful time here and would recommend. Our booking was for 6:30pm and lasted over 3 hours so give yourself plenty of time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

You need to have at least 3 hours to enjoy your dinner. We choose The Chef's "Grande Dame" which is the 12 course meal. It allows you to try very small portion of the Chef's specialties. My favorite was the Goat Cheese Macaroon honey nasturtium. The food was very good but plan on spending a lot of money. The 12 course meal is $155. per person. Drinks are very good and they use fresh items from their garden, but they are $15.00 each. Wine menu is great. You can bring your own, corking fee is $30.00. Very attentive waiters.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnsonLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madrona Manor Restaurant also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Madrona Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing