We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Healdsburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bravas

Bravas
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North
Description: Bravas brings the flair and flavors of Spain to wine country. The menu features tapas and seasonal dishes served a la plancha-all with chef Mark Stark's signature twist. Bravas introduces Sonoma County's first "Ham and Cheese Bar," serving Spanish and local cheeses, Tortilla Espanola, and Iberico ham, sliced paper thin to order by a "Hamboner." Bravas offers a selection of local and Spanish wines, sangria and Spain-inspired cocktails. Dine indoors or out. Happy Hour: Monday to Thursday from 3 pm to 5 pm
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find in Healdsburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great meal. We love trying lots of little dishes and they were happy to accommodate our food weirdnesses. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Clauson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    151
    38
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great restaurant for tapas.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a lovely variation of tapas. i recommend sitting outside in the lovely courtyard. The service and decor is modern and fun. Lots of yummy flavors in the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucierochon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A bit north of the square in a converted historic home is the biggest secret in all of Healdsburg. Bravas is a tapas bar that really stands out from the crowd. The outdoor seating, with full covered bar, is delightful. And as for the food: We went for happy hour (3-6 Sunday through Thursday), when a large selection of hot and cold tapas that normally go for as much as $8 sell for $3.50 or even $1.50! The bocadillos were excellent, as were the bacon-wrapped dates, and the cider-braised chorizo and pardon peppers were outstanding. They made a special gin and tonic for just $3, and sangria (untasted by us) was $5. We spent three hours talking, listening to the excellent Pandora-based music from the 1960s and '70s, and even dancing a little. The service by Hyo was extremely pleasant, knowledgeable and attentive. Do not miss this jewel at 420 Center St.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful night in Sonoma Wine Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

After enjoying a beautiful, bright Autumn day enjoying the Fall colors, wine tasting and picnicking with our Somona County friends we wondered into Brava without reservations on a Friday night and were promptly seated. So maybe the total ambience of the day helped make this meal seem so wonderful but we all agreed the food was absolutely great. Some of the menu items we tried were the Escarole salad, duck meatballs, scallops, quail, crab fideau, anchovies, and potatoes and all were excellently prepared and presented. The service was prompt and friendly and the restaurant was nicely decorated with old rock posters from the Fillmore era in SF (yeah, we're aging baby boomers). That night the desert special was Spanish doughnuts, which were not greasy, not too sweet, crisp on the outside and soft inside with caramel and chocolate dips on the side. Even the Sangria was good and I usually don't like Sangria but tried it on the advice of my friends, who are winemakers themselves. I have had tapas at great places in Seville, Madrid, and Barcelona and this place compares very favorably.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floydbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rude server and overpriced food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This was not a good experience. We sat on the patio on a Saturday night. The server was rude in the way he greeted us. We ordered a few dishes and they were not tasty at all. Just spicy and pretty bad. The pork cheek sliders were recomended to us and they were also awful. We dine out often and the flavors just were not there. Save yourself and go to Bisto Ralph's. Or Chalk Board That's what we will do next trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilyfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravas also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bravas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing