We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find with music!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bravas

Bravas
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: North
Description: Bravas brings the flair and flavors of Spain to wine country. The menu features tapas and seasonal dishes served a la plancha-all with chef Mark Stark's signature twist. Bravas introduces Sonoma County's first "Ham and Cheese Bar," serving Spanish and local cheeses, Tortilla Espanola, and Iberico ham, sliced paper thin to order by a "Hamboner." Bravas offers a selection of local and Spanish wines, sangria and Spain-inspired cocktails. Dine indoors or out. Happy Hour: Monday to Thursday from 3 pm to 5 pm
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful find with music!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited Healdsburg in October and found this gem. We had a late start (8:00 PM) on dinner and many of the restaurants were already booked or closing soon. We walked into Bravas and were struck by the wonderful smells and beautiful patio in the back.

We sat down and ordered a bottle of wine, floating along with the mellow atmosphere of the red wood and pine trees surrounding us. After a couple of tapas plates, we ordered the Tomahawk Chop for our dinner, based on a recommendation from our server. It was spectacular. The meat was tender and full of flavor and more than large enough for our party of 5 to split.

Couple that with the "oldies" music being piped in, Bravas' atmosphere, service and wine selection, our evening on a wonderful and flavorful note.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickeyP_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    155
    40
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Authentic Spanish Tapas. Salmorejo was my favorite. Service was excellent but no Spanish deserts. How about Crema Quemada, Home made Flan?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
425 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent and unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The last place we ever expected to have really GREAT Spanish Tapas was in Healdsburg, CA. Bravas did not disappoint. Their patatas were as good as the ones we have had in Spain. They made their tapas unique to the local food and flavors, still keeping with the Spanish authenticity.

Service was EXCELLENT.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trvlchnnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice but now wowed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Three people told us separately that we "had to" go to Bravas so we did. We love small plates, and it has such a reputation so why not? The service was lovely. We ate at the bar and everyone we dealt with was friendly, although the bartender had a bunch of tables outside so he wasn't really there a lot. Another girl picked up his slack though and she was terrific. The food was GOOD or even very good, but from all the hype we had heard, I think we expected the food to be mind-blowing. Enjoyable for sure, and they also play great music, but it's not the amazing experience some folks have made it out to be. That being said, yes I'd go back, and I'd recommend it,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodieMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tapas Taken To Heavenly Heights in Healdsburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

John Muir once wrote of the Happy Isles "If you cannot be happy here, then you cannot be happy anywhere". If Tapas makes you happy, Bravas can be your Happy Isles, especially during their Happy Hour.

I entered Bravas thinking of the Spanish villages where the art of small dishes thrives and one finishes a meal with a spot of Pedro Ximenez on a late warm night in the middle of a busy plaza. But this is America, so I couldn't take my Pedro Ximenez out to the Healdsburg Plaza. Other than that, I thought I was back in Andalucía.

Bravas has one very important advantage over Spain. It's in Healdsburg, so your choices of wine go beyond Tempranillo and Rioja. We had one of the local Chardonnay's - and not from one of the big houses. It was tops.

I'm not quite sure why, but service in Tapas joints tends to be slow. I was surprised to find that the service at Bravas was swift and attentive. Maybe things would have been different if our reservation hadn't been at 5:30.

I'd like to go here when the diners are busting the doors down. You know what - I think they'll do fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C2000Consulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravas also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bravas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing